经常问的问题

公开报名将于2020年10月26日至2020年11月6日。  注册窗口将于2020年11月6日下午5:00关闭。  所有希望在2021计划年度进行健康,牙科,视力,弹性支出或HSA选举的员工都需要经过注册流程。福利,尤其是FSA和HSA福利,不能转移到新的一年。不变的自愿计划也将要求参与者确认其选举。

有时会发生一些重大的人生事件,这些事件可能会影响您的福利需求,并可能为您创造机会,在年中改变您的承保范围。  

生活事件包括:

  • 婚姻
  • 离婚
  • 出生/领养/监护权
  • 死亡
  • 非自愿丧失承保
  • 报名参加其他保险

如果您发生了这些事件之一,请尽快与保险部门联系。保险人员将需要在注册系统中输入状态更改,然后才能登录系统以进行必要的更改。    

状态更改事件仅允许您更改为适应更改所必需的权益。例如,在分娩后将婴儿添加到承保范围内,或者在离婚后放弃前配偶的承保范围。它不允许您更改已注册的健康计划或更改所选的承运人。如果要更改承运人或计划,则需要等到下一个打开的注册窗口,更改将在下一个计划年度生效。      

你有 30天 从状态更改事件进行更改。需要证明身份改变的文件,例如出生证明,死亡证明,离婚令,收养文书等。  

状态更改通常从更改日期开始生效。例如,如果您有一个婴儿,则更改的生效日期为出生日期。请注意,如果在当月10日之后输入更改,则该更改可能不会反映在当月的工资扣除额中,因此需要在下个月增加。

注册系统要求您首先在网站上注册,以设置自己的用户名和密码。此安全功能可确保只有您才能访问自己的帐户。要注册,只需点击“新用户注册”链接显示在“密码”字段下方。该注册过程是一个简单直接的过程;只需按照指示填写字段。公司编号为“峡谷”。补充福利材料中包含的注册指南中提供了更详细的步骤。

是。与往年一样,“ 2021计划年度”的“公开招生”为 强制性的。这是为了您的利益。如果您没有完成公开招生,则会冒在2021年福利年度中没有进行首选福利选举的风险。所有希望在2021年获得保险资格的员工都必须登录并确认其选举,即使他们想要拒绝福利。 此在线注册必须在2020年11月6日下午5点之前完成。  如果您想向HSA或FSA帐户捐款,则必须在开放注册期间进行此次选择。如果您在公开招生期间没有选择HSA,则将没有资格获得HSA雇主供款。如果没有资格赛,则不允许进行HSA或FSA的年中选举。

选择健康计划是个人决定,很大程度上取决于您的个人情况。需求和情况不时变化。我们鼓励员工每年检查他们的福利需求,以确定是否需要进行任何更改。这是您在没有资格预审的情况下进行更改的唯一机会,我们建议您考虑选择并验证承保范围。此外,IRS指南要求希望向FSA或HSA捐款的参与者每年选择一笔金额。如果员工没有选择向这些帐户供款的金额,那么他们将没有机会在不进行合格活动的情况下进行选择。

请参阅“选择福利”信息页面中的有用提示,可指导您完成决策过程。

由于HSA受IRS的管辖,因此HSA法规遵循税法进行依赖。这意味着这些资金只能用于您或您的纳税人的医疗费用。简而言之,如果您声称自己依赖税款,则可以使用您的HSA美元来支付其批准的医疗费用。如果您不声称他们是纳税人,则您 不能 使用您的HSA支付他们的医疗费用。这可能会造成混淆,因为《平价医疗法案》(Affordable Care Act)允许孩子继续父母的健康计划,直到他们年满26岁,而20岁左右的受抚养人则可能会或可能不会在税务上受抚养。让我举一个例子。我有两个孩子,一个22岁,一个24岁。22岁是一名学生,住在家里,我声称他是纳税人的家属。 24岁,大学毕业,已婚,并已开始职业。我不要求她纳税。但是,我正在为两个孩子都投保我的健康保险。我可以使用我的HSA来支付22岁的医疗费用,因为它们仍然是我的税款;但是,我 不能 使用我的HSA来支付24岁的费用,因为我不再声称她是我的纳税人。

当涉及多个承运人时,社会保险号是保险公司用来核对理赔数据的唯一标识符。从2015年1月开始,《平价医疗法案》要求药房索赔和健康保险索赔均计入年度最高自付费用。尽管这是对计划设计的微小更改,但它需要对管理流程进行重大更改。为了累积年度最高自付费用的理赔数据,承运人必须在药房和卫生管理员之间沟通和协调理赔。如果相关的社会保险号未记录在注册系统中,则所产生的索赔可能无法正确累积到您的自付费用最大值上。如果您没有供其抚养人使用的社会保险号,请尽快通过801-826-5428与保险部门联系,或发送电子邮件至 insurance@canyonsdistrict.org 我们将评估您的情况以确定您的选择。

1095C表格是学区必须发给所有符合福利条件的雇员的文件。这些表格是税务文件,应与您的年度W2和其他税务文件一起保存。对于2019日历年,这些表格将于2020年1月31日发布,并将通过Skyward Employee Access提供。对于选择通过邮件接收这些表格的个人。他们将在2020年1月31日之前寄出,并应在7到10个工作日内收到。   

如果您对1095C表格有任何疑问或问题,请致电801-826-5428与地区保险局联系。

当一对已婚夫妇的配偶都在峡谷学区工作并符合福利条件时,他们可以参加双重保险。双重保险比单个家庭保险提供了更丰富的利益。一位配偶将为夫妇或家庭支付全额保险费,而另一位则将支付一笔保险费。如果您有资格并选择参加双重保险,则两名员工都需要参加 传统计划 公开招生期间处于相同覆盖率(夫妇或家庭)和相同网络(优势或峰会)。注册过程完成后,我们将需要 这对夫妻的声明 以书面形式表明您想参加双重保险,并指出这对夫妇中的哪个成员将支付单率,而哪个将扮演夫妇或家庭率。请联系保险部门以获取更多详细信息。    

当配偶为单独的雇主工作并选择通过各自的雇主健康计划互相承保时,他们将享有双重保险。虽然这是允许的,但它并不总是有益的。他们将支付两笔全额保费,并且索赔需要在两名计划管理员之间进行协调,并且某些计划彼此不兼容。许多人发现增加的复杂性和成本超过了收益。 

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Open enrollment will be October 26, 2020 – November 6, 2020.  The Enrollment window will close at 5:00 PM on November 6, 2020.  All employees who want to have health, dental, vision, flexible spending or HSA elections in the 2021 plan year will need to go through the enrollment process.  Benefits, particularly FSA and HSA benefits, cannot transfer to the new year.  Voluntary plans that are not changing will also require participants to confirm their elections.

Occasionally there are major life events that can affect your benefit needs and may create a opportunity for you to make limited changes to your coverage mid –year.  

Life events Include:

  • Marriage
  • Divorce
  • Birth/Adoption/Guardianship
  • Death
  • Involuntary loss of coverage
  • Enrollment in other coverage

If you’ve had one of these events occur, please contact the insurance department as soon as possible. The Insurance staff will need to enter the status change into the enrollment system before you will be able to Log into the system to make the necessary changes.    

Status changing events only allow you to make changes to your benefits that are necessary to accommodate the change. For instance, adding a baby to coverage following a birth, or dropping coverage on an ex-spouse following a divorce. It doesn’t allow you to change what health plan you are enrolled in or change the carriers you have elected. If you want to change carriers or plans you will need to wait until the next open enrollment window, then the changes will take effect in the following plan year.      

You have 30 days from the status changing event to make the change. Documentation that substantiates the status change, i.e. Birth Certificate, Death Certificate, Divorce Decree, adoption paperwork etc., will be required.  

Status changes typically take effect as of the date of the change. For instance, if you have a baby the effective date of the change would be the date of the birth. Be aware that if changes are entered after the 10th of the month it may not be reflected on that month’s payroll deduction and would require and increased deduction in the subsequent month.

The enrollment system requires you to set your own Username and Password by first registering on the website.  This security feature ensures that only you have access to your account.   To register, just click on the “new user registration” link that appears under the Password field.  This registration process is an easy straight forward process; just fill in the fields as indicated.  The Company Identifier is “Canyons“.  More detailed steps are available in the enrollment guide included in the supplemental benefit materials.

Yes. As has been the case with previous years, Open Enrollment for the 2021 plan year is mandatory.  This is for your benefit. If you don’t complete the open enrollment, you run the risk of not having your preferred benefit elections in the 2021 benefit year.  All employees who are eligible for insurance in 2021 must log in and confirm their elections, even if they want to decline benefits. This online enrollment must be completed by 5 pm on Nov 6, 2020.  If you would like to contribute to an HSA or FSA account you must make this election during the open enrollment period.  If you do not elect for the HSA during open enrollment, you will not be eligible to receive the HSA Employer Contributions.  Midyear elections to the HSA or FSA will not be allowed without a qualifying event.

The selection of a health plan is a personal decision and depends largely on your personal circumstances. Needs and circumstances change from time to time. We encourage employees to examine their benefit needs annually to determine if any changes need to be made. This is your only opportunity to make changes without a qualifing event, and we suggest that you consider your options and verify your coverages.  In addition, IRS guidelines require particpants who wish to contribute to an FSA or an HSA to elect an amount each year.   If an employee doesn’t elect an amount to contribute to these accounts, they will not have an opportunity elect later without a qualifying event.

Please refer to the “Choosing Benefits” information page for helpful tips to guide you through the decision process.

Because the HSA is governed by the IRS, the HSA regulations follow tax law for dependency. This means that the funds can only be used for medical expenses for either you or your tax dependents. In short, if you claim a dependent on your taxes, you can use your HSA dollars for their approved medical expenses.  If you don’t claim them as a tax dependent, you can’t use your HSA to pay for their medical expenses. This can be confusing because the Affordable Care Act allows children to stay on a parent’s health plan until they reach age 26, but dependents who are in their 20’s may, or may not be a tax dependent. Let me give you an example. I have two children, one age 22 and one age 24. The 22 year old is a student and living at home and I claim him as a dependent for taxes. The 24 year old has graduated from college, is married and has started a career. I don’t claim her on my taxes. I am however, covering both children on my health insurance. I can use my HSA to cover the medical expenses of the 22 year old because they are still my tax dependent; however, I can’t use my HSA to cover the expenses of the 24 year old because I no longer claim her as a dependent on my taxes.

The Social Security Number is the unique identifier used by insurance companies to reconcile claims data when more than one carrier is involved. Starting January 2015, the Affordable Care Act requires that pharmacy claims and health insurance claims both count toward the annual out-of-pocket maximum. While this is a small change to the plan design, it requires a major change to the administrative process. In order to accumulate claims data toward the annual out-of-pocket maximum, the carriers must communicate and reconcile claims between the pharmacy and health administrators. If dependent Social Security Numbers are not recorded in the enrollment system, then the claims incurred may not accumulate toward your out-of-pocket maximum correctly. If you do not have Social Security Numbers for your dependents, please contact the Insurance Department as soon as possible at 801-826-5428 or send an email to insurance@canyonsdistrict.org and we will assess your situation to determine your options.

The 1095C forms are documents that the District is required to issue to all employees who are benefit eligible.   These forms are tax documents and should be retained along with your annual W2 and other tax documents.     For the 2019 calendar year these forms will be issued by January 31, 2020 and will be available through Skyward Employee Access.   For individuals who have elected to receive these forms by mail.  They will be mailed by January 31, 2020 and should be received within 7 to 10 business days.   

If you have any questions or issues in regard to the 1095C forms, please contact the District Insurance Department at 801-826-5428

When both spouses in a married couple work for Canyons School District and are benefit eligible they can enroll in Dual Coverage.  Dual coverage provides a richer benefit then individual couple of family coverage.  One spouse would pay the full premium for a couple or family and the other would pay a single premium. If you qualify and choose to enroll in Dual Coverage both employees would need to enroll in a traditional plan on the same level of coverage (couple or family), and the same network (Advantage or Summit) during Open Enrollment.  Once the enrollment process is complete we will need a statement from the couple in writing indicating that you would like to enroll in Dual Coverage and indicate which member of the couple will pay the single rate and which will play the couple or family rate. Contact the insurance department for more details.    

When spouses work for separate employers and opt to cover each other through their respective employers health plans, they have dual coverage.   While this is allowed, it is not always beneficial; they would pay two full premiums and claims would need to be coordinated between two plan administrators, and some plans are not compatible with each other. Many find that the added complexity and cost outweigh the benefits. 

Close Menu