Communications

What We Do

Canyons District’s Office of Communications supports and promotes the District by providing accurate and timely information to employees and the public.

The Office of Public Communications is the marketing and communications arm of the District. We assist schools and departments in publicizing their events and programs and in crafting clear, timely and professional internal and external communications. 

The communications team is the primary source of news about Canyons District and its schools. We cover and publish web stories about District events, pitch news stories to local and national media, manage crisis communications during school emergencies, manage the District’s social media accounts, and handle media inquiries and public records requests under Utah’s Government Records Access Management Act (GRAMA).

Creative Requests

Our Creative Team manages the Canyons District brand and its family of 60 websites. We are a service-oriented department that fields thousands of requests each year for assistance with marketing campaigns, re-branding, and print and electronic graphic design needs. If you have a story to tell, we can help you tell it through any imaginable medium, from the creation of videos and purchase of ads to the design of websites, banners, brochures, flyers and postcards.

Stay Connected!

Know of an event, program or accomplishment that has broad public interest?
Email us at: communications@canyonsdistrict.org.

Two Public Information Officers are authorized to speak on behalf of the District and Board of Education: Jeff Haney and Kirsten Stewart.

Name Position Phone Email
Jeff Haney Director 801-826-5084 (office) 801-372-7665 (cell) jeff.haney@canyonsdistrict.org
Kirsten Stewart Assoc. Director 801-826-5050 (office) 801-641-6238 (cell) kirsten.stewart@canyonsdistrict.org
Jody Genessy Communications & Community Relations Specialist 801-826-5350 jody.genessy@canyonsdistrict.org
Janell Myrick Web Manager 801-826-5162 janell.myrick@canyonsdistrict.org
Jeff Olson Graphic Designer 801-826-5093 jeff.olson@canyonsdistrict.org
Stephanie Christensen Videographer 801-826-5336 stephanie.christensen2@canyonsdistrict.org
Justin Andersen Video & Digital Broadcast Specialist 801-826-5336 justin.andersen@canyonsdistrict.org
Questions? communications@canyonsdistrict.org
Design Requests creative@canyonsdistrict.org
Video Assistance/ Requests video@canyonsdistrict.org
Website webmaster@canyonsdistrict.org

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org