峡谷区的COVID-19行动计划,更新|阅读更多>

认识教育委员会

峡谷教育委员会由七名当选社区领导人组成,负责为犹他州最新学区上学的孩子制定教育政策。教育委员会致力于建立并实施公共教育愿景,重点在于学生的成就,创新做法,社区参与,客户服务和财政责任制。为此,董事会致力于支持一种能够响应顾客的学校系统,并确保每位学生从高中毕业后都能为大学和职业做好准备。 

我们所做的

教育委员会与总监和业务管理者合作,以确保明智地使用纳税人的资金,同时提供领导能力,以促进各级学生的学习成绩的提高。董事会批准行政任命,决定政策和程序,在公开会议上定期开会以审议和决定公众的业务,举行市政厅选区会议以维持与赞助人的关系,并倡导继续支持公众教育。

董事会愿景和使命宣言

愿景声明
峡谷学区是一个公共教育系统,致力于为学生提供高质量的教育,重视和奖励员工的重要贡献,并帮助各个年龄段的学习者为有意义的生活机会做好准备。我们重视治理中的透明度和协作。我们与家庭,员工和社区合作伙伴一起建立并保持安全,支持性和学术性挑战性的学校环境,从而加强社区和社区。

使命宣言
参加Canyons学区的每个学生都将毕业于大学和职业生涯。

峡谷学区宗旨

学生成绩

通过基于证据的改进策略,为所有Canyons学生做好职业和大学准备的准备。

社区参与

通过志愿者的努力,负责的SCC领导,发展业务关系以及沟通董事会行动来有所作为。

客户服务

为纳税人,利益相关者和选民提供非凡的服务,以最好的方式在我们的公共互动中代表峡谷。

革新

利用技术提供更好的学习机会,并发现促进学生和员工学习的新方法。

财政责任

坚守峡谷区始终承担财务责任和遵守法律的承诺。

核心价值观和信念 
•我们渴望不断改进 
•我们相信每个人都可以学习
•我们通过透明度建立公众信任和信心
•我们追求卓越
•我们以证据为指导,同时鼓励创新和创造力
•我们合作提供最佳结果
•我们以诚信行事,并通过相互尊重建立关系
•我们深切关注我们的工作和做事方式

董事会成员

南希·廷吉

第三区总裁

琥珀色希尔

第2区,副总裁

史蒂夫·箭牌

五区,副总统

蒙特·米勒伯格

1区

克莱伦·阿诺德(Clareen Arnold)

4区

阿曼达·奥克斯(Amanda Oaks)

6区

乍得艾弗森

七区

关闭菜单

南希·廷吉

第三区|董事长

南希·廷吉(Nancy Tingey)是峡谷教育委员会的两届成员,于2012年当选,并于2016年再次当选,代表卡顿伍德高地和桑迪以及阿尔塔镇。她是第一位担任可持续发展委员会主席的女性。 2017年,廷吉夫人担任犹他州学校董事会协会主席。她于2018年担任该协会的立法联络员。她获得了杨百翰大学的理学学士学位,并在公立学校中积极担任家长志愿者达30多年。除了课堂,PTA和区委员会的经验外,Tingey女士还曾在Quail Hollow小学,Albion中学和Brighton高中的学校社区理事会任职19年,其中有8年担任主席。

联系: nancy.tingey@canyonsdistrict.org

琥珀色希尔

第2区|副总统

琥珀·希尔(Amber Shill)于2014年11月首次当选为峡谷教育委员会成员,并于2018年11月再次当选。她代表第2区,涵盖了卡顿伍德高地的大部分地区。

这位犹他州人在公民参与方面有着深厚的渊源。 20年来,她一直在学校工作,并在多个地区委员会中任职,并在Bella Vista小学,巴特勒中学和布莱顿高中的学校社区委员会和PTA中担任领导职务。她曾在全州的董事会中代表Canyons,包括犹他州高中活动协会和盐湖县公园与娱乐顾问委员会。她目前是犹他州学校董事会协会的当选主席,并在联合立法委员会,执行委员会和宣传委员会中任职。

Shill女士以优异的成绩毕业于杨百翰大学并获得了金融学学士学位。她的公民参与包括在童子军中担任志愿人员,领导青年团体,以及担任盐湖县区代表。 

希尔女士和她的丈夫有四个孩子,他们从布莱顿接驳系统中毕业或毕业。

联系: amber.shill@canyonsdistrict.org

史蒂夫·箭牌

5区|副总统

史蒂夫·瑞格利(Steve Wrigley)于2010年11月首次当选峡谷教育委员会的代表,代表桑迪(Sandy)的第5区。他于2018年11月再次当选第三届学期。他拥有康复咨询硕士学位和犯罪学科学学士学位,加州州立大学弗雷斯诺分校。认证公共经理Wrigley先生在人类服务领域拥有37年的职业生涯,最近,他在犹他州人类服务部担任服务于残疾人服务部的残疾人服务部,为发展中的残疾人和个人提供服务,颅脑外伤和身体残疾。瑞格利先生目前是董事会认证的生活/退休教练,残障人士支持协调员,以及两个地区学区的初中和高中的代课老师。他是犹他州人类服务部终身成就奖和犹他州州长人道主义杰出奖的获得者。 

箭牌先生坚信社区和教堂服务。除了担任教育委员会成员外,他还担任桑迪市调整委员会和桑迪警察局警察服务志愿者计划的成员。箭牌先生和他的妻子凯莉·麦克斯韦·箭牌是五个成年子女的父母,他们全部都在峡谷学区的学校上学。

联系: steve.wrigley@canyonsdistrict.org

蒙特·米勒伯格

1区

Mont Millerberg于2016年11月当选为Canyons教育委员会的代表第1区。Millerberg是Canyons教育委员会的熟悉面孔,他于2008年至2012年担任就职的Canyons管理机构。在董事会任职的第一个任期内,Mont协助创建了该地区的筹款机构Canyons Education Foundation。 Millerberg是Hillcrest学校社区理事会(SCC)的前主席,也是联合中间SCC的前成员。在退休享受与家人的时光和继续他的公共服务传统之前,他曾担任企业主和注册会计师。他和他的妻子教育家克里斯(Kris)在中谷地区抚养了六个孩子。 

联系: mont.millerberg@canyonsdistrict.org

克莱伦·阿诺德(Clareen Arnold)

4区

克莱伦·阿诺德(Clareen Arnold)坚定地致力于教育和对学生的同情之心来到教育委员会。阿诺德女士于2014年首次当选,然后于2018年11月再次当选,已经担任班主任,初级助理校长,初级校长和西班牙讲师近30年。她还曾担任过教育人才搜寻顾问,为11所中学和11所中学提供服务,并与低收入的第一代大学入学学生一起工作。

阿诺德女士撰写并出版了14本中小学课程工作手册,并曾在科学和数学教育研讨会上担任演讲人。她拥有Azusa Pacific University的行政管理和课程开发教育硕士学位。她拥有两个理学学士学位:一个是犹他州立大学的体育中学中等教育;南犹他州立大学的基础教育第二名。她还获得了盐湖社区学院的会计学副学士学位。  

阿诺德女士有9个孩子和19个孙子。她喜欢露营,远足,骑自行车,滑雪和游泳,并且坚信社区和教堂服务。

联系: clareen.arnold@canyonsdistrict.org

阿曼达·奥克斯(Amanda Oaks)

6区

阿曼达·奥克斯(Amanda Oaks)于2019年1月加入峡谷教育委员会。奥克斯夫人(Mrs. Oaks)受过古典音乐训练,获得杨百翰大学(BYU)的全额学术和音乐奖学金,并获得了中提琴表演艺术学士学位。渴望成为更有效的社区倡导者,她于2004年获得BYU的法学学位,然后从事房地产规划。

奥克斯夫人是犹他州人,有五个孩子,母亲在峡谷地区的学校就读。奥克斯夫人认为,父母,教育者和管理者之间的合作伙伴关系可以建立更强大的学校和社区。她曾担任过中文双重语言沉浸和音乐教室的代课老师,是德雷珀小学学校社区理事会的成员,并曾在犹他州教育委员会的州科学标准审查委员会任职。她是艺术教育的倡导者,在将诸如Springville Art Museum和Timpanogos讲故事节之类的组织带到社区学校方面发挥了作用。

奥克斯夫人和她的丈夫斯特林(Sterling)坚信本地和国外人道主义服务的重要性。她很少坐着,但喜欢普拉提,为孩子们的读书,教育旅行研究经典书籍,并制作甚至她的孩子都会吃的美味沙拉。 

联系: amanda.oaks@canyonsdistrict.org

乍得艾弗森

七区

乍得艾弗森(Chad Iverson)于2012年11月当选为峡谷教育委员会成员,代表德雷珀(Draper)的第7区。艾弗森先生曾在AAPC,eXperticity,Extend Health,Ancestry.com和AutoTrader.com等由风险投资支持的初创公司担任过各种财务,产品和运营职务。 

艾弗森先生拥有芝加哥大学的工商管理硕士学位,并以优异的成绩从杨百翰大学获得了政治学文学学士学位。艾弗森先生的爱好包括家庭,马拉松,铁人三项,滑雪,初创企业和政治传记。他和他的妻子雪莉(Sherry)是四个孩子的父母。 

联系: chad.iverson@canyonsdistrict.org

Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Meet the Board of Education

The Canyons Board of Education is comprised of seven elected community leaders who are responsible for establishing education policy for the children who attend school in Utah’s newest school district. The Board of Education works to create and implement a vision for public education that is focused on student achievement, innovative practices, community engagement, customer service and fiscal accountability. To that end, the Board strives to support a school system that is responsive to patrons and ensures every student is prepared for college and careers when they graduate from high school. 

What We Do

The Board of Education works with the Superintendent and Business Administrator to guarantee the judicious use of taxpayer funds while providing leadership that promotes increased student achievement at all grade levels. The Board approves administrative appointments, decides policies and procedures, meets regularly in open session to deliberate and decide the public’s business, conducts Town Hall constituency meetings to maintain relationships with patrons, and advocates for the continued support of public education.

Board Vision and Mission Statement

Vision Statement
Canyons School District is a public education system dedicated to delivering a high-quality education to students, valuing and rewarding the vital contributions of employees, and helping learners of all ages to be prepared for meaningful life opportunities. We value transparency and collaboration in governance. We work together with families, employees and community partners to establish and maintain safe, supportive, and academically challenging school environments which strengthen neighborhoods and communities.

Mission Statement
Every student who attends Canyons School District will graduate college- and career-ready.

Canyons School District Tenets

Student Achievement

Preparing all Canyons students to be career and college ready through evidence-based strategies for improvement.

Community Engagement

Making a difference through volunteer efforts, responsible SCC leadership, developing business relationships, and communicating Board actions.

Customer Service

Providing phenomenal service to taxpayers, stakeholders and constituents, representing Canyons in the best possible way in our public interactions.

Innovation

Utilizing technology to provide better learning opportunities and discovering new ways to promote student and employee learning.

Fiscal Accountability

Holding strong to Canyons District's commitment to always be fiscally responsible and legally compliant.

Core Value and Belief Statements 
• We aspire to continuously improve 
• We believe everyone can learn
• We build public trust and confidence through transparency
• We strive for excellence
• We are guided by evidence while encouraging innovation and creativity
• We collaborate to deliver the best outcomes
• We act with integrity and build relationships through mutual respect
• We care deeply about what we do and how we do it

Board Members

Nancy Tingey

District 3, President

Amber Shill

District 2, Vice President

Steve Wrigley

District 5, Vice President

Mont L. Millerberg

District 1

Clareen Arnold

District 4

Amanda Oaks

District 6

Chad Iverson

District 7

Close Menu

Nancy Tingey

District 3 | Board President

Nancy Tingey is a two-term member of the Canyons Board of Education, first elected in 2012 and again in 2016, representing areas of Cottonwood Heights and Sandy, and the Town of Alta. She is the first woman to serve as CSD Board President. In 2017, Mrs. Tingey served as President of the Utah School Boards Association. In 2018, she served as the association’s legislative liaison. She earned a Bachelor of Science from Brigham Young University, and has been an active parent volunteer in public schools for more than 30 years. In addition to classroom, PTA, and District committee experience, Mrs. Tingey has served on School Community Councils at Quail Hollow Elementary School, Albion Middle School, and Brighton High School for a combined 19 years, and as Chairwoman for eight of those years.

Contact: nancy.tingey@canyonsdistrict.org

Amber Shill

District 2 | Vice President

Amber Shill was first elected to the Canyons Board of Education in November 2014 and won re-election in November 2018. She represents District 2, which covers most of Cottonwood Heights.

The Utah native has deep roots in civic engagement. For 20 years, she has been involved in schools, serving on multiple district committees and in leadership capacities on the School Community Councils and PTA’s at Bella Vista Elementary, Butler Middle and Brighton High. She has represented Canyons on statewide boards, including the Utah High School Activities Association and the Salt Lake County Parks & Recreation Advisory Board. She currently is President-Elect of the Utah School Boards Association where she also serves on the Joint Legislative Committee, Executive Committee and Advocacy Committee.

Ms. Shill graduated cum laude from Brigham Young University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Finance. Her civic involvement includes volunteering in Cub Scouts, leading youth groups, and serving as a Salt Lake County Precinct Delegate. 

Ms. Shill and her husband have four children who attend or have graduated from the Brighton feeder system.

Contact: amber.shill@canyonsdistrict.org

Steve Wrigley

District 5 | Vice President

Steve Wrigley was first elected to the Canyons Board of Education in November 2010 to represent District 5 in Sandy, and re-elected for his third term in November 2018.  He has a Master’s degree in Rehabilitation Counseling and a Bachelor of Science in Criminology Counseling from California State University, Fresno. A Certified Public Manager Mr. Wrigley enjoyed a 37-year career in the human services field, most recently, as an administrator with the Utah Department of Human Services, in the Division of Services for People with Disabilities serving individuals and families with developmental disabilities, traumatic brain injuries and physical disabilities. Mr. Wrigley is currently a Board-Certified Life/Retirement Coach, Support Coordinator for individuals with disabilities, and substitute teacher at the middle school and high school level at two area school districts. He is a winner of the Utah Department of Human Services’ Lifetime Achievement Award and the Utah Governor’s Award for Excellence for Humanitarianism. 

Mr. Wrigley believes strongly in community and church service. In addition to serving as a member of the Board of Education, he serves on the Sandy City Board of Adjustment and the Sandy Police Department Volunteers in Police Service program. Mr. Wrigley and his wife, Carrie Maxwell Wrigley, are the parents of five adult children, all whom have attended schools in the Canyons School District.

Contact: steve.wrigley@canyonsdistrict.org

Mont L. Millerberg

District 1

Mont Millerberg was elected to the Canyons Board of Education in November 2016 to represent District 1. Millerberg is a familiar face to the Canyons school board, having served from 2008 to 2012 on the inaugural Canyons governing body. During his first term on the Board, Mont was instrumental in the creation of the Canyons Education Foundation, the fundraising arm of the District. Millerberg is a former chairman of the Hillcrest School Community Council (SCC) and former member of the Union Middle SCC. Before retiring to enjoy time with his family and continue his tradition of public service, he worked as a business owner and a Certified Public Accountant. He and his wife, Kris, an educator, raised their six children in the Midvale area. 

Contact: mont.millerberg@canyonsdistrict.org

Clareen Arnold

District 4

Clareen Arnold comes to the Board of Education with a strong commitment to education and genuine compassion for students. First elected in 2014, and again in November 2018, Ms. Arnold has served nearly 30 years as a classroom teacher, elementary assistant principal, elementary principal, and a Spanish instructor. She also has worked as an Educational Talent Search Counselor serving 11 middle schools and 11 high schools and working with low-income, first-generation college-bound students.

Ms. Arnold has written and published 14 elementary and middle school curriculum workbooks, and worked as a presenter at science and math education workshops. She has Master’s Degree in Education in Administration and Curriculum Development from Azusa Pacific University. She has two Bachelor of Science Degrees: one, in Secondary Education in Physical Education from Utah State University; and a second in Elementary Education at Southern Utah State University. She also earned an Associate’s Degree in Accounting from Salt Lake Community College.  

Ms. Arnold has nine children and 19 grandchildren.  She enjoys camping, hiking, biking, skiing, and swimming, and believes strongly in community and church service.

Contact: clareen.arnold@canyonsdistrict.org

Amanda Oaks

District 6

Amanda Oaks joined the Canyons Board of Education in January 2019. A classically-trained musician, Mrs. Oaks attended Brigham Young University (BYU) on full academic and music scholarships and received a Bachelor of Arts in Viola Performance. Desiring to become a more effective community advocate, she went on to earn a law degree from BYU in 2004 and thereafter practiced estate planning.

A Utah native and mother of five children attending Canyons District schools, Mrs. Oaks believes collaborative partnerships between parents, educators, and administrators create stronger schools and communities. She has been a substitute teacher in Chinese Dual Language Immersion and music classrooms, a member of Draper Elementary’s School Community Council, and has served on the Utah Board of Education’s State Science Standards Review Committee. An advocate for arts education, she has been instrumental in bringing organizations like the Springville Art Museum and Timpanogos Storytelling Festival to neighborhood schools.

Mrs. Oaks and her husband, Sterling believe passionately in the importance of humanitarian service both locally and abroad. She rarely sits still, but enjoys pilates, researching classic books for her children’s reading, educational travel, and making delicious salads that even her kids will eat. 

Contact: amanda.oaks@canyonsdistrict.org

Chad Iverson

District 7

Chad Iverson was elected to the Canyons Board of Education in November 2012 to represent District 7 in Draper.  Mr. Iverson has held various finance, product and operational roles at venture-backed start-ups such as AAPC, eXperticity, Extend Health, Ancestry.com and AutoTrader.com. 

Mr. Iverson earned an MBA from the University of Chicago, and graduated summa cum laude from Brigham Young University with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Political Science. Mr. Iverson’s passions include family, marathons, triathlons, skiing, start-ups and political biographies. He and his wife, Sherry, are the parents of four children. 

Contact: chad.iverson@canyonsdistrict.org

  • Select a Language
Afrikaans Afsoomaali Azərbaycan dili Bahasa Indonesia Bahasa Melayu Basa Jawa Basa Sunda Bosanski Català Cebuano Čeština‎ Chichewa Corsu Cymraeg Dansk Deutsch Eesti English Español Esperanto Euskara Filipino Français Frysk Gaelige Galego Gàidhlig Harshen Hausa Hmong Igbo isiXhosa Italiano Íslenska Kiswahili Kreyol ayisyen Latin Latviešu valoda Lëtzebuergesch Lietuvių kalba Magyar Malagasy Maltese Nederlands Norsk bokmål Ōlelo Hawaiʻi Polski Português Română Samoan Sesotho Shona Shqip Slovenčina Slovenščina Suomi Svenska Te Reo Māori Türkçe Yorùbá Zulu አማርኛ Հայերեն العربية Беларуская мова বাংলা Български 简体中文 繁體中文 ქართული Ελληνικά ગુજરાતી עִבְרִית हिन्दी 日本語 ಕನ್ನಡ Қазақ тілі ភាសាខ្មែរ 한국어 كوردی‎ Кыргызча ພາສາລາວ Македонски јазик മലയാളം मराठी Монгол ဗမာစာ नेपाली پښتو فارسی ਪੰਜਾਬੀ Русский Српски језик سنڌي සිංහල Тоҷикӣ தமிழ் తెలుగు ไทย Українська اردو O‘zbekcha Tiếng Việt יידיש