resources

Family Connections

Getting Involved

Tools

Resources

Leadership

About

Getting Involved

Career and Technical Education

Turn Your Dream Into a Career

Follow Us on Facebook!

The mission of Career and Technical Education is to provide all students a seamless education system through competency-based instruction.  The structured training each student receives gives him or her the tools needed to be successful in post high school employment and post secondary education including technical school and two and four year college.

CTE prepares students for the future by developing academic and technical skills in high demand, providing career exploration and work-based learning opportunities, and creating pathways leading to future education training or employment.

Utah CTE At-A-Glance

Canyons School District CTE At-A-Glance

Click here for Senior Survey

Funding

State funding for Career and Technical Education (CTE) is based on the regular Weighted Pupil Unit (WPU), including incentives to provide CTE in all forty districts. Funding is used to pay for the added costs of instruction for CTE programs. This legislative funding is often referred to as “CTE Add-on.” In addition, local funding in the school districts is also used to support CTE programs.

CTE funding is also supplemented with Carl D. Perkins funding, a federal appropriation. The federal government is highly interested in CTE to prepare the workforce with the academic and technical skills to succeed in a global economy. The additional funding is used to develop new CTE programs and update existing programs for in-demand and emerging careers.

Career and Technical Education Staff

District Office

825 E. 9085 S., Bldg. 2, Sandy, UT 84094

Janet Goble

Director of Career and Technical Education

Email: janet.goble@canyonsdistrict.org

801-826-5510

Patricia Larkin

CTE District Coordinator

Email: patricia.larkin@canyonsdistrict.org

801-826-5512

Linda Quinn

Admin Assistant

Email: linda.quinn@canyonsdistrict.org

801-826-5511

CTEC

825 E. 9085 S., Sandy, UT 84094

Name Title Email Phone
Doug Hallenbeck Principal doug.hallenbeck@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6601
Emalee Brown CTE Coordinator emalee.brown@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6621
Carla Matagi Registrar carla.matagi@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6610
Alison Sepulveda Admin Assistant alison.sepulveda@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6602

Alta High CTE

11055 S. Hawk Hwy., Sandy, UT 84094

Name Title Email Phone
Brooke Smith CTE Coordinator brooke.smith1@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-5641
Chelsey Neilson Career Center Assistant chelsey.neilson@canyonsdistrict.org
Janet Jefferson WBL Facilitator janet.jefferson@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-5666
Samantha Aguilar Support Assistant samantha.aguilar@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-5777

Brighton High CTE

2220 E. Bengal Blvd., Cottonwood Hts, UT 84121

Name Title Email Phone
Lisa Prudden CTE Coordinator lisa.prudden@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-5841
Bradley Liljenquist Career Center Assistant bradley.liljenquist@canyonsdistrict.org
Penelope Staten Career Center Assistant penelope.staten@canyonsdistrict.org
Eileen Kasteler WBL Facilitator eileen.kasteler@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-5842

Corner Canyon High CTE

12943 S. 700 E., Draper, UT 84020

Name Title Email Phone
Benjamin Poulsen CTE Coordinator benjamin.poulsen@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6441
Becky Moore Career Center Assistant becky.moore@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6438
Natalie Thorell WBL Facilitator natalie.thorell@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6543

Diamond Ridge High

9800 S 800 E., Sandy, UT 84094

Name Title Email Phone
Jared Vincent WBL Facilitator jared.vincent@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-9962

Hillcrest High CTE

7350 S. 900 E., Midvale, UT 84047

Name Title Email Phone
Kevin Wood CTE Coordinator kevin.wood@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6041
Cher Burbank WBL Facilitator cher.burbank@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6047
Marcee Quirk Career Center Assistant marcee.quirk@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6040

Jordan High CTE

95 E. Beetdigger Blvd., Sandy, UT 84070

Name Title Email Phone
Heather Starley CTE Coordinator heather.starley@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6241
Melissa Colson Career Center Assistant melissa.colson@canyonsdistrict.org
Jennifer Boyd WBL Facilitator jennifer.boyd@canyonsdistrict.org 801-826-6255
Jill Jacobs Instructional Assistant 2 jill.jacobs@canyonsdistrict.org
City Journals - June 2, 2023

Read how Hillcrest High School made its presence known at the state FBLA competition as nine students won state titles, one as a double winner and another as a triple state champion.

Read the Article >

City Journals - June 6, 2023

Read how Jordan High students demonstrate their knowledge, skills, and abilities to actively identify an issue concerning families, careers, or communities, research the topic, and develop and implement a project to advocate for positive change.

Read the Article >

City Journals - June 6, 2023

Read how twelve Alta High students recently returned from Orlando where they met up with about 20,000 students, teachers and professionals at the International Career Development Conference to demonstrate their career knowledge and leadership skills through their DECA presentations and competitive events.

Read the Article >

City Journals - June 6, 2023

Read how Canyons School Districts’ five comprehensive high schools and Canyons Technical Education Center, help students check out  jobs and further educational opportunities at each school’s job fair, held in April and May before the end of the school year.

Read the Article >

City Journals - June 6, 2023

FCCLA chapters prepares members for careers through its four career pathways: human services, hospitality and tourism, education and training, and visual arts and design.  Read how five Alta High students captured silver and gold medals. 

Read the Article >

City Journals - June 6, 2023

Since 1993 at Jordan High, the school store has fondly been known as The Spot, which has recently received international acclaim, its second time in six years.

Read the Article >

City Journals - June 2, 2023

Read how Hillcrest High had 60 students competed at the  state HOSA contest in more than 60 different events that tested their ability in teamwork, health science knowledge, presentation skills, reading comprehension and practical skills.

Read the Article >

Career and Technical Education

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org