学校氛围,社会情感支持

家庭资源

每个孩子都应该在学校感到受欢迎和安全。这就是为什么 Canyons 不仅专注于配备具有现代安全功能的设施,而且还专注于加强儿童的情感需求。通过学区的学生响应服务部,所有 CSD 学校都分配了一名学校心理学家和/或一名辅导员和社会工作者——所有训练有素的专业人员都可以帮助引导学生克服具有挑战性的情绪。营造积极的氛围,让所有孩子都觉得自己是学校社区中重要和受重视的成员,这是校长和教师的首要任务。

惩教署秉承教授适当和积极的行为而不是惩罚不当行为的理念,组建了专责小组来处理自杀等重要话题,为从小学到中学,从初中到高中的学生举行了充满乐趣的情况介绍会,以及大量课外活动的赞助商。在CSD中,我们的目标是维持一个让孩子感到安全的环境,以发展兴趣,举手,接触新朋友并知道他们被有爱心的成年人包围着。

对于寻求其他社交和情感支持的家庭,请联系您的学校辅导员。

辅导支持

这个概念确实非常简单:如果学生感到不安全感,沮丧或恐惧,或任何其他与行为有关的情绪,那么他们可能没有在高水平上学习。为了帮助所有学生在学校中获得平衡感和成就感,峡谷区增加了在学校工作的心理学家,社会工作者,辅导员和护士的数量。它们在自杀预防,帮派预防,欺凌预防以及毒品和酒精预防领域为家庭提供资源。他们还使用积极行为干预和支持来教授关系技能,自我意识,自我管理,社会意识和负责任的决策。这些咨询专家还为学校提供紧急情况下的危机支持服务。峡谷区还与当地的精神卫生机构和专业人员签约,作为家庭的补充资源。

蒸发和物质滥用

Canyons 非常重视药物滥用问题。无论学生是在校园里喝酒、抽烟还是抽电子烟,CSD 都对这些行为采取零容忍政策。随着其中一些物质(例如电子烟或电子烟设备)的使用变得更加隐秘,Canyons 正在寻找新的方法来对抗
趋势。如果学生被发现吸电子烟,根据新法规,该设备将被销毁,并且学生必须参加峡谷家庭中心的预防课程。如果这种行为再次发生,学生会与治疗师会面,以确定物质使用的根本原因并制定应对计划。第三次之后,学生将被转介到学生响应服务部以获得进一步的支持。峡谷也有 加入了一场大规模的联邦诉讼 针对 Juul Labs,指控这家电子烟制造商在针对未成年人的营销活动中淡化了其产品的健康风险,这导致学校校园里的电子烟增加。如果成功,参加诉讼的地区可以从 Juul 获得价值 $100 亿的资金,用于支付教育计划、学生监督人员、戒烟顾问和电子烟探测器,以及其他预防电子烟工作的工具和计划。

恢复性做法和安全的学校听证会

每个学生都有受教育的权利。峡谷采取了恢复性行为模式,以加强行为标准并应对叛国,行为不检或吸毒或酗酒。违反安全规定的学生,例如带武器上学或贩毒的学生,将转交给地区案例管理团队以建立安全性,并审查学生和学校都需要采取哪些干预措施和支持。根据违规情况,可能要处以罚款,参加干预计划或被停学或开除学籍。只要学生因停学或开除等纪律处分而被剥夺了受教育的权利,则该学生有权获得正当程序。这项正当程序权包括在进行长期停学之前进行通知和公平听证的权利,其中可能包括10天或更长时间的停学,或被Canyons School District学校开除。

同行法院

峡谷陪同法庭的设立,使陪审团的陪审团享有公正审判的权利具有新的意义。现在,志愿大二,大三和大四学生(代替法官)坐在一个小组中,聆听涉及违反学校或学区政策的案件,并有权决定其同龄人的命运。峡谷对等法院是犹他州第二所由学区赞助的青年法院。法院采用恢复性司法模式,要求学生对轻微罪行(例如打架,故意破坏或入店行窃)负责。同行法院小组的学生必须完成20个小时的培训,通过犯罪背景调查,并承诺每月进行2天的培训。与停职学生或将他们驱逐出学校相比,同行法院被认为是通往正义的更有效途径。事实证明,成功的模式可以减少累犯,并在对法律的欣赏中逐渐灌输。

学校出勤率

我们知道,要让孩子在学业上步入正轨,每一天的教学都很重要。学生缺课的原因有很多,Canyons 有可用的人员和资源来支持学生的学习。这包括为因健康问题预计将长时间缺课的学生提供家庭和医院指导支持。可以在 CSD 的主页上找到学区出勤政策和家长向学校报告缺勤的流程的链接。

峡谷家庭中心

峡谷家庭中心,提供协作、创意和合作课程和其他咨询服务,帮助各种家庭——以及各种挑战——发现温和而真实的途径来帮助彼此、相互联系、相互学习。家庭中心提供一系列个人和家庭咨询、学生支持小组和家长教育课程。这些服务包括初步咨询会议,帮助我们经验丰富的学校辅导员、社会工作者和心理学家确定可能需要哪些服务来满足家庭的特定需求,无论是否由于情绪危机,都是免费提供给家庭的在峡谷学区。由于打架或吸毒和酗酒而被要求上课的学生将被处以罚款,并在完成课程后予以报销。

即时和持续的支持

不仅训练有素的工作人员可以为处于困境中的学生提供帮助,而且Canyons是犹他州首批推出访问名为SafeUT的移动应用程序文本和提示的学区之一。如果学生和家长需要立即报告问题,无论是关于学生的心理,社会还是身体健康,都可以使用此功能。所有Canyons学校社区均可使用该应用程序,该应用程序可为犹他大学神经精神病学研究所的持牌临床医生提供全天和整夜的访问。 SafeUT应用程序和网站是犹他大学与犹他州教育办公室之间合作的一部分,由犹他州立法机构分配资金。提供多种语言。用户可以提交带有图片和/或视频的提示,并且用户可以在线交流或通过电话通话。但是,如果您遇到紧急情况,请致电911。您也可以拨打1-800-273-TALK与防自杀生命线联系,与受过训练的危机工作者进行交谈。

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

School Climate, Social-Emotional Supports

Resources for Families

Every child deserves to feel welcome and secure at school. That’s why Canyons is focusing not just on outfitting facilities with modern security features but also on fortifying the emotional needs of children. Through the District’s Student Responsive Services Department, all CSD schools have been assigned a school psychologist and/or a counselor and social worker — all highly trained professionals who can help guide students through challenging emotions. Building a positive climate, where all children feel like they are vital and valued members of the school community, is a top priority of principals and teachers.

CSD embraces a philosophy of teaching appropriate and positive behaviors instead of punishing misbehaviors, has formed task forces to address such important topics as suicide, holds fun-filled orientation meetings for students as they move from elementary to middle school and from middle to high school, and sponsors of robust roster of extracurricular activities. In CSD, our aim is to maintain environments where children feel safe to develop interests, raise their hands, reach out to new friends, and know they are surrounded by caring adults.

For families who are seeking additional social and emotional support, please contact your school counselor.

Counseling Supports

The concept is really quite simple: If students are feeling insecure, depressed or fearful, or any other emotion that is at the root of concerning behaviors, chances are they aren’t learning at high levels. To the end of helping all students feel a sense of balance and achieve at school, Canyons District has increased the number of psychologists, social workers, counselors and nurses working in schools. They serve as a resource for families in the areas of suicide prevention, gang prevention, bullying prevention and drug and alcohol prevention. They also use Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports to teach relationship skills, self awareness, self-management, social awareness and responsible decision making. These counseling experts also provide schools with crisis support assistance in the event of emergencies. Canyons District also contracts with local mental health agencies and professionals as an added resource for families.

Vaping and Substance Abuse

Canyons takes substance abuse seriously. Whether students are drinking alcohol, smoking, or vaping on campus, CSD has a zero-tolerance policy for any of these behaviors. As the use of some of these substances — such as e-cigarettes or vaping devices — become more surreptitious, Canyons is looking at new ways to combat
the trend. If students are caught vaping, the device is destroyed, according to new legislation, and students are required to attend a prevention class at the Canyons Family Center. If the action happens again, students meet with a therapist to determine the underlying cause of the substance use and develop a plan of response. After a third time, the student will be referred to the Student Responsive Services Department for further support. Canyons also has joined a mass-action federal lawsuit against Juul Labs, alleging the e-cigarette maker has downplayed the health risks of its products in marketing campaigns to minors, which has led to an increase in vaping on school campuses. If successful, the districts that join the suit could receive money from Juul, valued at $10 billion, to pay for education initiatives, student-supervision personnel, cessation counselors, and vaping detectors, among other tools and programs for vaping-prevention efforts.

Restorative Practices and Safe School Hearings

Every student has the right to an education. Canyons has adopted a restorative practices model for reinforcing behavioral standards and responding to truancies, disorderly conduct or drug or alcohol violations. Students with safe school violations, such as bringing a weapon to school or dealing drugs, are referred to the District Case Management Team to establish safety and review what interventions and supports are needed for both the student and school. Depending on the violation, this may entail imposing fines, enrollment in an intervention program, or suspension or expulsion from school. Whenever a student is deprived of his right to education through disciplinary proceedings such as suspension or expulsion, the student is entitled to due process. This right to due process includes the right to notice and a fair hearing prior to the administration of long-term suspension, which may include 10 or more days, or expulsion from Canyons School District schools.

Peer Court

The right to a fair trial by a jury of one’s peers has taken on new meaning with the creation of the Canyons District Peer Court. Volunteer sophomores, juniors and seniors — in lieu of a judge — now sit on a panel to hear cases involving violations of school or District policy, and are authorized to decide the fate of their peers. The Canyons Peer Court is the second youth court in Utah to be sponsored by a school district. The court practices the restorative justice model for holding students accountable for minor offenses, such as, fighting, vandalism, or shoplifting. The students on the Peer Court panel are required to complete 20 hours of training, pass a criminal background check, and commit to two days per month. Peer Court is viewed as a more effective path to justice than suspending students or expelling them from school. Successful models have been shown to reduce recidivism and instill within an appreciation for the law.

School Attendance

We know that when it comes to keeping kids on track academically, every day of instruction counts. There are a lot of reasons that students miss school, and Canyons has staff and resources available to support students in their learning. This includes Home and Hospital Instruction supports for students who, due to health problems, anticipate having to miss school for a prolonged period of time. A link to the District’s attendance policy and process for parents to report absences to their school can be found on CSD’s homepage.

The Canyons Family Center

The Canyons Family Center, provides collaborative, creative and cooperative courses and other counseling services to help families of all kinds — and with all kinds of challenges — discover gentle and genuine avenues to assist each other, connect with each other and learn from each other. The Family Center provides a spectrum of individual and family-based counseling, student-support groups and parent-education classes. The services, which include preliminary counseling sessions that help our experienced school counselors, social workers and psychologists determine what services may be needed to meet a family’s specific needs, whether as a result of an emotional crisis or not, are provided at no cost to families in Canyons School District. Students who are required to attend a class due to fighting or a drug and alcohol offense will be issued a fine and upon completion of the course reimbursed.

Instant and Constant Support

Not only are trained staff members available to aid students who are struggling, but Canyons was among the first school districts in Utah to roll out access to a mobile app text-and-tipline called SafeUT. This is available for students and parents to use if they need to immediately report a concern, be it about a student’s mental, social or physical well-being. Access to this app, which provides all-day and all-night access to licensed clinicians at the University of Utah’s Neuropsychiatric Institute, is available to all Canyons school communities. The SafeUT app and website were developed as part of a partnership between the University of Utah and the Utah State Office of Education with funds allocated by the Utah Legislature. Multiple languages are available. Users can submit a tip with a picture and/or video, and a user can communicate online or call by phone. However, if you are experiencing an emergency, please call 911. You can also contact the suicide-prevention lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK to speak to a trained crisis worker.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org