峡谷家庭中心

峡谷家庭中心

家庭很重要

联系我们

  • 位于山。约旦中学
  • 9351 South Mountaineer Lane 
    桑迪(UT 84070)
  • 801-826-8190
Canyons 家庭中心课程现已开放 2021-2022 学年!在上面注册以加入我们的课程之一!

欢迎来到峡谷家庭中心,提供合作,创意和合作课程以及其他咨询服务,帮助各种家庭(面临各种挑战)发现温和而真诚的渠道,互相帮助,相互联系并相互学习其他。

峡谷家庭中心提供各种服务,包括个人咨询,学生支持小组和家长教育班。咨询服务将包括一个初步的录取过程,以帮助我们经验丰富的学校心理学家和社会工作者确定可能需要哪些服务来满足家庭的特定需求,无论是否因情感危机而向峡谷地区的家庭免费提供学区。

这个悲伤支持小组提供了不同质量的支持和联系,这来自与最近也经历过失落的同龄人在一起。悲伤支持小组提供有关悲伤的情感支持、验证和教育。支持团体 使悲伤过程正常化.在极度悲痛的时期,人们通常认为他们是孤独的或身体不适,但感受各种各样的情绪是可以的。去支持小组通常会使悲伤过程正常化,并帮助人们觉得他们正在经历的事情是可以预料的——很难,但可以预料。

本课程将教授决策的一般技能。本课程将与参与者一起完成 ADAPT(促进青少年决策和解决问题)课程。这是针对有滥用药物、攻击性、逃学、学习成绩差和抑郁情绪风险的中学生的小组干预。

该小组将帮助孩子更好地理解和应对经历或离婚后生活的变化。通过动手活动,角色扮演和支持性小组讨论,他们将发展和练习快乐和成功所需的重要技能。

女孩将了解自尊及其影响因素。他们将学习与自卑感相关的症状和行为,并培养技巧以重建和维持良好的自尊。

为期 4 周的药物滥用预防课程专为可能在药物和酒精方面做出错误决定并且可能面临进一步药物滥用相关问题的学生而设计。该课程包括有关解决问题、决策的具体课程、沟通技巧、情绪管理、青少年药物/酒精依赖的阶段以及基本的药物/酒精信息。家长/监护人必须与学生一起上课。 

这是仅针对父母和照顾者的课程。该课程的重点是为父母提供积极的育儿策略,这些策略已被证明对家庭环境中的孩子很成功。父母将有机会解决自己作为父母经历的问题和困难。家长将被要求在家中尝试这些策略,并每周向小组报告该策略的工作原理。

本课程专为青少年设计,涵盖各种主题,包括愤怒触发因素、情绪自我管理、同伴压力、沟通技巧、解决问题、应对和放松技巧。

 

仅注册以清除纪律记录事件和罚款。如果您的主管部门同意在完成课程后清除事件,则本课程可用于清除您学校的纪律记录事件和清除纪律罚款。

 

家长/监护人必须与学生一起出席。 

这是仅针对父母和照顾者的课程。该课程的重点是向父母提供积极的育儿策略,这些策略已被证明对家庭环境中的孩子成功。父母将有机会解决自己作为父母所遇到的问题和困难。家长将被要求在家中尝试这些策略,并每周向小组报告该策略的工作原理。 (请不要带学生或孩子上课)

您是否正在应对任何形式的焦虑,包括长期忧虑,社交焦虑,强迫症和惊恐发作?这个结构化的技能小组使用活动和基于接受的策略来帮助打破焦虑循环。

您是否正在应对任何形式的焦虑,包括长期忧虑,社交焦虑,强迫症和惊恐发作?这个结构化的技能小组使用活动和基于接受的策略来帮助打破焦虑循环。

这门课对于那些在理解和养育多动症儿童方面挣扎的家庭来说是必须的。这是仅父母或照顾者的课程。该课程将涵盖多动症的症状,困难的育儿问题,多动症儿童在家庭和学校的干预,学校的交流以及社区中可用的资源。本课程适用于已被诊断患有多动症的孩子的父母以及有家族史或怀疑其孩子患有多动症的父母。

这个为期三周的课程旨在帮助年龄较小的学生(3 -5年级)学习他们的情绪和行为。特定课程将帮助学生识别他们的情绪触发因素, 并制定改善自我管理,应对技能,解决问题和放松身心的策略。家长/监护人必须与学生一起上课。该课程在每个月的前三周进行,参与者必须在第一周开始。

本课程专为青少年设计,涵盖各种主题,包括愤怒触发、情绪自我管理、同伴压力、沟通技巧、解决问题、应对和放松技巧。

药物滥用预防课程专为可能在药物和酒精方面做出错误决定并且可能面临进一步药物滥用相关问题的学生(6 至 12 年级)而设计。该课程包括有关解决问题、决策、沟通技巧、情绪管理、青少年药物/酒精依赖阶段和基本药物/酒精信息的具体课程。

 

仅注册以清除纪律记录事件和罚款。如果您的主管部门同意在完成课程后清除事件,则本课程可用于清除您学校的纪律记录事件和清除纪律罚款。

 

家长/监护人必须与学生一起出席。 

有时生活会很沉重。此课程为期六周,由盐湖县青年服务中心教授,将教授处理困难情绪的技巧,以帮助您重拾自我。  (该课程将以Google Meet形式在线授课,直至12月。)

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Canyons Family Center

Canyons Family Center

It’s Where Families Matter

Contact Us

  • Located at Mt. Jordan Middle School
  • 9351 South Mountaineer Lane 
    Sandy, UT 84070
  • 801-826-8190
Canyons Family Center courses are now open for the 2021-2022 school year! Register above to join one of our courses!

Welcome to the Canyons Family Center, providing collaborative, creative and cooperative courses and other counseling services that help families of all kinds — and with all kinds of challenges — discover gentle and genuine avenues to assist each other, connect with each other and learn from each other.

The Canyons Family Center provides a spectrum of services including individual counseling, student-support groups and parent-education classes. Counseling services will include a preliminary intake process to help our experienced school psychologists and social workers determine what services may be needed to meet a family’s specific needs, whether as a result of an emotional crisis or not, are provided at no cost to families in Canyons School District.

This grief support group offers a different quality of support and connection that comes from being with peers who have also recently experienced a loss. Grief support groups provide emotional support, validation, and education about grief. Support groups normalize the grief process. During periods of intense grief, people often think they’re alone or unwell, but it’s okay to feel a wide array of emotions. Going to a support group often normalizes the grief process and helps people feel that what they’re experiencing is to be expected—hard, but expected.

This course will teach the general skills of decision making. This course will go through the ADAPT (Advancing Decision Making and Problem Solving for Teens) curriculum with participants. This is a small-group intervention for middle and high school students who are at risk for substance use, aggression, truancy, poor school performance, and depressive moods.

This group will help children better understand and cope with the changes in their lives while going through, or following divorce. Through hands on activities, role-play, and supportive group discussions, they will develop and practice important skills they will need to be happy and successful.

Girls will learn about self-esteem and the factors that affect it.  They will learn the symptoms and behaviors related to a low self-esteem and develop skills to re-build and maintain a good self-esteem.

The four week long Substance Abuse Prevention class is designed for students who may have made poor decisions regarding drugs and alcohol, and may be at-risk for further substance-abuse related issues.The class includes specific lessons on problem-solving, decision-making, communication skills, mood management, the stages of adolescent drug/alcohol dependency, and basic drug/alcohol information. A parent/guardian is required to attend the class with the student. 

This is a class for parents and caregivers only. The focus of the class is to provide parents with positive parenting strategies that have proven successful with children in the home environment. Parents will be given the opportunity to problem solve issues and struggles that they experience as parents. Parents will be asked to try the strategies at home and to report back to the group each week on how the strategies worked.

This course is designed for adolescents and covers a variety of topics including, anger triggers, emotional self-management, peer pressure, communication skills, problem solving, coping, and relaxation techniques.

 

ONLY ENROLL TO CLEAR DISCIPLINE RECORD INCIDENT & FINE. This course can be used to clear an incident on discipline records and clear discipline fines at your school if your Administration has agreed to clear an incident after completion of the course.

 

A parent/guardian is required to attend with the student. 

This is a class for parents and caregivers only. The focus of the class is to provide parents with positive parenting strategies that have proven successful with children in the home environment. Parents will be given the opportunity to problem solve issues and struggles that they experience as parents. Parents will be asked to try the strategies at home and to report back to the group each week on how the strategies worked.  (Please do not bring students or children to class)

Are you coping with any form of anxiety including chronic worry, social anxiety, obsessive thoughts, and panic attacks? This structured skills group uses activities and acceptance-based strategies to be help break the cycle of anxiety.

Are you coping with any form of anxiety including chronic worry, social anxiety, obsessive thoughts, and panic attacks? This structured skills group uses activities and acceptance-based strategies to be help break the cycle of anxiety.

This class is a MUST for families struggling with understanding and parenting children with ADHD. This is a parent or caregiver only class. This class will cover symptoms of ADHD, difficult parenting issues, interventions in the home and school for ADHD children, school communication, and resources available in the community. This class is appropriate for parents with children already diagnosed with ADHD as well as those who have a family history or suspect their child has ADHD.

This three week course is designed to assist the younger student (grades 3 -5) in learning about their emotions and behaviors. Specific lessons will help students identify their emotional triggers, and develop strategies for improved self-management, coping skills, problem-solving, and relaxation. A parent/guardian is required to attend the class with the student. This class runs the first three weeks of each month, and participants must begin the first week.

This course is designed for adolescent and covers a variety of topics including, anger triggers, emotional self-management, peer pressure, communication skills, problem solving, coping, and relaxation techniques.

The Substance Abuse Prevention class is designed for students (6th through 12th grade) who may have made poor decisions regarding drugs and alcohol, and may be at-risk for further substance-abuse related issues. The class includes specific lessons on problem-solving, decision-making, communication skills, mood management, the stages of adolescent drug/alcohol dependency, and basic drug/alcohol information.

 

ONLY ENROLL TO CLEAR DISCIPLINE RECORD INCIDENT & FINE. This course can be used to clear an incident on discipline records and clear discipline fines at your school if your Administration has agreed to clear an incident after completion of the course.

 

A parent/guardian is required to attend with the student. 

Sometimes life feels heavy. This six-week course, taught by Salt Lake County Youth Services, will teach skills in managing difficult emotions to help you feel like yourself again.  (This class will be taught online in a google meet format through December.)

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org