第三类直接服务

初始位置:英语能力筛选工具

行政管理 世界一流的教学设计和评估 (WIDA)-语言筛选器是在收到“替代语言分类”表格后安排的。对通过PHLOTE调查确定的学生进行语言能力筛选评估。替代语言分类表被发送到ALS部门,在该部门生成文件,并计划进行筛查评估。

学校可以选择自己管理筛查工具,也可以让地区测试员为学生管理筛查工具。 培训适用于选择管理筛查工具的学校。

在所有四个语言领域对学生进行筛选:口语,听力,阅读和写作。所有四个域的综合得分将提供初始的水平放置水平。可以指定一名学生为 1)英语学习者,或2)英语流利。 这些名称决定了所需的服务。如果学生在 WIDA 筛选器上的分数流利,则该学生不被视为英语学习者,并且通知将发送到学校以保存在学生的累积文件夹中。

家长通知

在识别并安置为英语作为第二语言服务后,必须告知英语学习者家长此类安置。此通知必须描述该计划以及对学生的预期收益。法律规定,LEA从学生注册到学校开始,有30天的时间进行适当识别,投入服务并向家长提供此类服务的通知。在学年开始后,LEA有14天的时间来完成该过程[第1112(g)(1)(A)节;第3302(a)条]。

家长必须每年通过提供世界一流的教学设计和评估 (WIDA) 熟练程度进度报告来了解学生的进步情况。必须通知家长下一学年的英语水平和位置。当学生达到流利的英语水平时,必须通知家长学生成功完成课程。学生达到 5 级(流利)、5.0 或更高的语言能力状态将被连续四年监测,如果学生没有保持语言能力,将通知家长。

父母要求拒绝ESL直接服务

家长有权拒绝将英语作为第二语言直接服务。但是,学生必须每年继续参加 WIDA(州语言能力评估)。 LEA 必须与家长会面,讨论该计划和对学生的好处。父母必须签署协议, 必须每年更新一次。然后,将学生安排在“个人语言发展计划(ILDP)”中,以监控英语水平的进步。

个体语言发展计划

ILDP适用于具有以下条件的学校: 10名或更少的英语学习者被确定为语言能力水平1.0-4.9。 ALS促进者和/或建筑物ALS管理员与教师合作制定特定的英语语言开发目标,每年对其进行监控和审查3次。

此外,ILD 用于监控父母拒绝直接服务的学生的语言能力进步。 ILDP 的学生还必须参加 WIDA。

要求:ALS 协调员和/或 ALS 管理员支持通识教育教师编写 ILDP

学生语言能力:1.0-4.9级

出口和监控程序

退出标准

一旦学生达到 WIDA: ACCESS 衡量的流利状态 5 级(5.0 或更高),英语学习者就会退出 ESL 服务。必须将学生成功完成课程的通知通知家长。一种 退出信的副本必须保存在学生的ALS蓝色文件中,并发送给ALS部门。 教师继续通过形成性和总结性评估来监控进度。

  • 1年级:父母离开后,会收到退出信和监护人通知信
  • 2-4 年级:家长只收到监控通知信
  • 成功完成第 4 年的学业后,家长将收到通知,他们的学生 ALS 档案将被关闭

监控程序

四年内通过形成性和总结性评估对达到流利状态的英语学习者进行监督。教师通力合作,通过持续差异化的课程、教学和材料,确保所有英语学习者达到流利的状态,并在主流普通课堂中取得成功。 每年必须进行一次ALS监控和服务变更表。每年必须通知父母监护状态。表格和通知信的副本必须保存在学生的ALS蓝色文件中,并发送给ALS部门。

成功监测四年后,请将 ALS 学生的蓝色文件夹归还。在将蓝色文件夹发送给 ALS 部门之前,请填写退出监测状态 - 正在关闭 ALS 记录表。应在学生的累积文件夹中放置一份退出监控状态-关闭 ALS 记录表,并在学生的 ALS 蓝色文件中放置另一份副本。

在极少数情况下,英语学习者可能会返回ESL计划。如果英语学习者未能在主流课堂上取得成功,则可能会发生这种情况。这些更改已在Canyons的ALS监控和服务更改表中注明。在这种情况下,将制定新的目标来帮助英语学习者在普通课堂上取得学术成就。

关闭ALS记录/退出监视状态

在成功进行四年监测后,完成关闭 ALS 记录/退出监测状态表。意思是,学习英语作为第二语言的学生可以访问年级内容并在学业上取得成就。通知家长。

完成表格后,请复印一份。在学生的 CUM 文件中保留一份副本,并将原件放在学生的 [蓝色] ALS 文件中。然后,关闭蓝色文件并发送到联邦和州计划中的 Dawn Moon 进行归档。

ALS表格:直接服务链接

教学服务

家长通知服务信函

家长拒绝 ESL 直接服务信函的请求

ILDP个人语言发展计划

退出与监控流程

家长通知信

 关闭ALS记录/退出监视状态 

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Title III Direct Services

Initial Placement: English Language Proficiency Screening Tool

Administration of the World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA)- language screener is scheduled upon receipt of the Alternative Language Classification form. The language proficiency screening assessment is given to students that have been identified through the PHLOTE survey. Alternative language classification forms are sent to the ALS department, where a file is generated, and a screening assessment is scheduled.

Schools have the option to administer the screening tool themselves or have a District Tester administer the screening tool to students. Training is available to schools who choose to administer the screening tool.

Students are screened in all four-language domains: speaking, listening, reading and writing. The composite score of all four domains will provide an initial placement proficiency level. A student may be designated as either 1) English Learner, or 2) Fluent English Proficient. These designations determine the services required. In the event that a student scores fluent on the WIDA screener, then the student is not considered an English Learner, and notification will be sent to the school to be kept in the students’ cumulative folder.

Parent Notifications

Upon identification and placement into English as a Second Language services, parents of English learners must be informed of such placement. This notification must describe the program and the anticipated benefits to the student. The law stipulates that LEA’s have 30 days from the time a student registers into a school to be appropriately identified, placed into services and to provide parents with notification of such services. After the start of the school year, then LEA’s have 14 days to complete the process [Section 1112(g)(1)(A); Section 3302(a)].

Parents must be informed annually of a student’s progress by providing the World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA) Progress Report towards proficiency. Parents must be informed of English Proficiency level and placement for the following academic year. When a student reaches Fluent English proficient level, then parents must be notified of student’s successful completion of the program. Students reaching a level 5 (Fluent), a 5.0 or higher language proficiency status will be monitored for four consecutive years, and parents will be notified if students do not maintain language proficiency.

Parents request for refusal of ESL direct services

Parents have the right to refuse English as second language direct services. However, students must continue to participate in the WIDA (State’s language proficiency assessment) annually. LEA’s must meet with parents to discuss the program and benefits to students. Parents must sign the agreement, which must be renewed annually. Student is then placed on an Individual Language Development Plan (ILDP) to be monitored on English language proficiency progress.

Individual Language Development Plans

ILDP’s are intended for schools with 10 or less English Language Learners identified as language proficiency levels 1.0-4.9. ALS Facilitator and/or building ALS Administrator collaborate with teachers to develop specific English language development goals that are monitored and reviewed three times per year.

In addition, the ILDP is used to monitor language proficiency progress for students whose parents have refused direct services. Students on ILDP’s must also take the WIDA.

Requirement: ALS Facilitator and/or ALS Administrator supports general education teachers to write ILDP

Student Language Proficiency:  Levels 1.0-4.9

Exit and Monitoring Procedures

Exit Criteria

English Learners are exited from ESL services once students have reached a fluent status Level 5 (5.0 or above) measured by the WIDA: ACCESS. Parents must be notified of their student’s successful completion of the program. A copy of the exit letter must be kept in the student’s ALS blue file and sent to the ALS Department. Teachers continue to monitor progress through formative and summative assessments.

  • Year 1: Upon exiting parents receive exit letter and monitor notification letter
  • Years 2-4: Parents receive monitoring notification letter only
  • After successful completion of year 4, parents will be notified that their student ALS file will be closed

Monitoring Process

English Learners reaching a fluent status are monitored through formative and summative assessments for four years. Teachers collaborate to ensure that all English learners reach a fluent status, through continuous differentiated curriculum, instruction, and materials, and are successful in the mainstream general classroom. The ALS Monitoring and Change of Services Form must be completed each year of monitoring. Parents must be notified of monitoring status annually. Copies of both the form and notification letter must be kept in the student’s ALS blue file and sent to the ALS Department.

Please return the ALS student’s blue folder after four successful years of monitoring. Please complete the Exiting Monitoring Status-Closing ALS Record Form before sending the blue folder to the ALS department. A copy of the Exiting Monitoring Status-Closing ALS Record Form should be placed in the students’ cumulative folder, and another copy in the students’ ALS blue file.

In rare instances, English learners may return to the ESL program. This may occur if English Learners are not succeeding in the mainstream classroom. These changes are noted on the Canyons’ ALS Monitoring and Change of Services Form. In that case, new goals are developed to help English Learners achieve academically in the general classroom.

Closing ALS Record/Exiting Monitoring Status

Complete the Closing ALS records/exiting monitoring status form after four successful years of monitoring. Meaning, students learning English as a Second Language can access the grade level content and are achieving academically. Provide notification to parents.

Once you complete the form, make a copy. Leave one copy in students’ CUM file and place the original in the students’ [blue] ALS file. Then, close the blue file and send to Dawn Moon in Federal and State Programs to file.

ALS Forms: Direct Services Links

Instructional Services

Parent Notification Service Letters

Parent Request for Refusal of ESL Direct Services Letters

ILDP Individual Language Development Plans

Exit and Monitoring Process

Parent Notification Letters

 Closing ALS Record/Exit Monitoring Status 

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org