Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Elementary English Language Arts

Curriculum Maps & Standards

The Utah Common Core State Standards represent the desired outcomes at the end of the year to determine if students have met the standard and to measure progress throughout the year. As specified by the Council of Chief State and School Officers (CCSSO) and the National Governors Association (NGA), the Standards are (1) research and evidence-based, (2) aligned with college and work expectations, (3) rigorous, and (4) internationally benchmarked.  A standard was included only when the best available evidence indicated its mastery was essential for college and career readiness in a twenty-first-century, globally competitive society.

ELA standards are broken into four main strands; reading, writing, listening and speaking, and language.  Each strand uses the same anchor standards, but also includes specific standards fine-tuned to the literacy requirement of that grade. The standards are an integrated model of literacy, although they are divided into four separate strands for conceptual clarity. Each standard does not need to be a separate focus for instruction and assessment, and several standards can often be addressed by a single rich task.  For example, when drawing evidence from literary and informational texts (Writing Standard 9), students are also demonstrating comprehension skills that address grade-specific Reading standards. 

Taken from USBE

Elementary English Language Arts Index

Adopted Curriculum

Reading Street Common Core
  • 2011 Pearson, Reading Street
  • 2011 Pearson, My Sidewalks


DIBELS Next & DIBELS Math Screeners:  Schools are assigned a day for screening

  • August 29th – September 21st (Fall)
  • January 4th – January 24th (Winter)
  • May 7th – May 25th (Spring)

Professional Development


Close Menu