狂热

狂热

什么是AVID?

AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) 是一门大学预科选修课,目前提供给 Mt. 的学生。峡谷学区的约旦中学、伊斯特蒙特中学和约旦高中。 

经过申请流程后,学生被选中参加 AVID。那些被录取的学生开始参加 AVID 选修课,并继续到他们的高中四年级。在 AVID 选修课上,学生学习组织和分析技能,特别关注 AVID “WICOR”课程的五个支柱:写作、探究、协作、组织和阅读。本课程的最终目标是培养学生批判性思考和提出更高层次问题的能力——这些技能将是他们在大学、工作场所和世界上取得学术成功的关键。

AVID 的使命是通过为所有学生做好大学准备并在全球社会中取得成功来缩小机会差距。

狂热指数

课程地图和标准

经常问的问题

AVID 是 Advancement Via Individual Determination 的首字母缩写词。

AVID 是一门为期四年的大学预科选修课,面向即将上大学的学生。

是的,AVID 有助于满足您的高中毕业要求.

要申请,学生可以向约旦高中的咨询中心索取 AVID 申请。如果学生已经在 Eastmont Middle 或 Mt Jordan Schools 注册了 AVID,则无需在高中重新申请。 AVID 老师将联系该计划的新申请者,并安排面试。学生面试后,他们将收到该项目的录取决定通知。

1. 从约旦高中的咨询中心申请 AVID 申请或点击这里

2. 完成申请

3. 向您的辅导员或您将就读的学校的辅导中心提交申请

4. AVID教师访谈

5.接收录取决定

通过的课程

无效课程

AVID 选修课在正常上课时间开会,是每个 AVID 学生日程安排的一部分。所有 AVID 选修课都有课程日、小组辅导日和激励活动。 

 

在课程日,教师专注于 AVID“WICOR”方法论:写作、探究、协作、组织和阅读。此外,课程日帮助学生培养专注笔记、管理时间、设定目标和有效学习的能力。

 

在辅导日,学生在他们的核心课程中准备关于具有挑战性的材料的问题,以小组形式相互提出这些问题,并协同工作以帮助每个人理解每个提出的问题。辅导小组由经过专门培训的大学生和毕业生提供便利。在可能在课程日或辅导日举行的苏格拉底研讨会和哲学讲座活动中,学生将学习如何讨论困难问题并用证据支持他们的观点。

AVID 的学生还参加激励和团队建设活动,包括大学和职业活动、大学代表和当地专业人士的客座演讲,以及大学实地考察。

AVID 计划每年都有不同的重点。

AVID课程:使用AVID的“ WICOR”课程,该课程侧重于写作,查询,协作,组织和阅读,学生学习和练习分析技能。他们还学习如何记笔记,管理时间,设定目标以及组织功课。

讲解:学生从核心班级准备问题,并在大学生和应届毕业生的帮助下,在基于探究的教程中以小组形式提出问题。

特别活动:学生提交活页夹进行评分,参加团队建设活动,听取嘉宾演讲,并去当地的大学和大学进行实地考察。

评定

专业发展

请查看即将到来的PD机会!

资源资源

AVID小组辅导课程每周在AVID选修课中举行一次,由经过AVID辅导方法学专门培训的当前大学生和应届大学毕业生提供帮助。如果您有兴趣成为一名导师,请联系 布林·库克(Bryn Cook),AVID地区协调员,电话:801.826.5138。 

入学

时间线 

AVID是一门全年的学术选修课。 AVID适用于6-12年级。一个学年的申请和面试过程通常在上一个学年的2月和3月进行;但是,如果课程未完全注册,则学校课程可能会在一年中接受学生。例如,想加入8年级AVID的7年级学生应在其7年级的2月申请。如果学生已经是8年级学生并希望加入AVID,则该学生可以在8年级中途(如果课程中有空缺)申请加入AVID,或者该学生可以在其8月2日申请入学。年级,在9年级开始时加入AVID。  

申请说明 

要申请,学生可以向Mt.的咨询中心申请AVID申请。乔丹中学,伊斯特蒙特中学或乔丹高中。 (当前,这是峡谷峡谷学区中的三所具有AVID计划的学校。)如果学生已经在其中一所学校就读,则必须向其指定的学校辅导员提交完整的申请。如果学生正在申请以前从未参加过的学校加入AVID,则可以将AVID申请提交到计划参加学校的咨询中心。该计划的申请人将与将要面试的AVID教师联系。对学生进行面试后,他们将被告知该课程的录取决定。  

学生申请步骤 

1.向山的咨询中心申请AVID申请。乔丹中学,伊斯特蒙特中学或乔丹高中
2.完成申请,包括您的GPA信息
3.将申请提交给您的辅导员或您要就读的学校的辅导中心
4. AVID教师访谈
5.接收录取决定

联系我们

布林·库克(Bryn Cook)

AVID 地区协调员

工作 801.826.5138

 

雅各布·查默斯

约旦高中 AVID 站点协调员

 

梅丽莎·威尔克斯

乔丹山中学 AVID 站点协调员

 

斯蒂芬妮·戴维斯

Eastmont Middle School AVID 站点协调员

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Avid

What is AVID?

AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) is a college-preparatory elective currently offered to students at Mt. Jordan Middle School, Eastmont Middle School and Jordan High School in Canyons School District. 

Students are selected to participate in AVID after an application process. Those who are admitted to the program begin taking the AVID elective course and continue through their senior year of high school. In the AVID elective class, students learn organizational and analytical skills, focusing special attention on the five pillars of AVID’s “WICOR” curriculum: writing, inquiry, collaboration, organization and reading. The ultimate objective of this curriculum is to develop students’ ability to think critically and ask higher-level questions—skills that will be key to their academic success in college, the workplace, and the world.

AVID’s mission is to close the opportunity gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

Avid Index

Curriculum Maps & Standards

Frequently Asked Questions

AVID is an acronym for Advancement Via Individual Determination.

AVID is a four year college prep elective course for students who are college bound.

Yes, AVID helps to meet your high school graduation requirements.

To apply, students may request AVID applications from the counseling center of Jordan High School. If students are already enrolled in AVID at Eastmont Middle or Mt Jordan Schools they do not need to reapply at the high school. New applicants to the program will be contacted by an AVID teacher who will set up an interview. After students are interviewed, they will be notified of the program’s admission decision.

1. Request an AVID application from the counseling center at Jordan High School or click here

2. Complete the application

3. Submit the application to your counselor or to the counseling center of the school you will attend

4. Interview with AVID teachers

5. Receive admission decision

Adopted Curriculum

AVID CURRICULUM

The AVID elective class meets during the regular school day and is part of each AVID student’s schedule. All AVID elective sections have curriculum days, group tutorial days, and motivational activities. 

 

On the curriculum days, teachers focus on the AVID “WICOR” methodologies: writing, inquiry, collaboration, organization and reading. In addition, the curriculum days help students develop their abilities to take focused notes, manage time, set goals, and study effectively.

 

On tutorial days, students prepare questions on challenging material in their core classes, present these questions to each other in small groups, and work collaboratively to help everyone understand each presented problem. The tutorial groups are facilitated by specially trained college students and graduates. In Socratic Seminar and Philosophical Chairs activities, which may be held on curriculum days or tutorial days, students learn how to discuss difficult issues and support their opinions with evidence.

AVID students also participate in motivational and team-building activities, including college and career activities, guest speeches by college representatives and local professionals, and field trips to colleges and universities.

The AVID program has different focuses for each year.

AVID Curriculum: Using AVID’s “WICOR” curriculum, which focuses on writing, inquiry, collaboration, organization and reading, students learn and practice their analytical skills. They also learn how to take notes, manage time, set goals, and organize their schoolwork.

Tutorials: Students prepare questions from their core classes and present them in small groups during inquiry-based tutorials facilitated by college students and recent graduates.

Special Activities: Students submit binders for grading, participate in team-building activities, listen to guest speakers, and go on field trips to local colleges and universities.

Assessment

Professional Development

Check back for upcoming PD opportunities!

Resources

AVID group tutorials, which occur once a week in AVID elective classes, are facilitated by current college students and recent college graduates who have been specially trained in AVID tutorial methodology. If you are interested in becoming a tutor, please contact Bryn Cook, AVID District Coordinator, at 801.826.5138. 

Admissions

Timeline 

AVID is a full-year academic elective. AVID is available in grades 6-12. The application and interview process for an academic year generally occurs in February and March of the previous academic year; however, school programs may accept students midway through the year if the program is not fully enrolled. For example, 7th-graders who want to join AVID in 8th grade should apply in February of their 7th-grade year. If a student is already an 8th-grader and wishes to join AVID, the student may apply to join AVID midway through the 8th-grade year (if there are openings in the course), or the student may apply in February of their 8th-grade year to join AVID at the beginning of their 9th-grade year.  

Application Instructions 

To apply, students may request AVID applications from the counseling center of Mt. Jordan Middle School, Eastmont Middle School or Jordan High School. (Currently, these are the three schools with AVID programs in Canyons School District.) If students already attend one of these schools they must submit their completed applications to their assigned school counselor. If students are applying to join AVID at a school they have not previously attended, they may submit the AVID application to the counseling center of the school they plan to attend. Applicants to the program will be contacted by an AVID teacher who will set up an interview. After students are interviewed, they will be notified of the program’s admission decision.  

Application Steps for Students 

1. Request an AVID application from the counseling center of Mt. Jordan Middle School, Eastmont Middle School or Jordan High School
2. Complete the application, including your GPA information
3. Submit the application to your counselor or to the counseling center of the school you will attend
4. Interview with AVID teachers
5. Receive admission decision

Contact Us

Bryn Cook

AVID District Coordinator

Work 801.826.5138

 

Jacob Chalmers

Jordan High School AVID Site Coordinator

 

Melissa Wilkes

Mt Jordan Middle School AVID Site Coordinator

 

Stephanie Davis

Eastmont Middle School AVID Site Coordinator

Close Menu