角色与职责

下面概述了学校社区理事会中不同角色的职责。单击一个部分将其展开以获取更多详细信息。

  • 了解学校社区理事会的法律责任
  • 定期参加社区理事会会议。
  • 积极参与讨论,计划和执行计划。
  • 参加并参加年度SCC培训。
  • 知道在哪里可以找到其他帮助和说明。
  • 代表学校所有学生的需求。
  • 在学校社区理事会问题上寻求社区意见(父母,教职员工,学生)。
  • 努力做出基于数据的决策
  • 鼓励家长和教师参与工作队和行动计划,包括学区的要求。
  • 积极在社区中推广学校优先事项。
  • 在需要投票之前,要充分了解情况并寻求问题和疑虑的答案。
  • 庆祝/通知社区有关实现理事会目标的成功经验。
  • 与社区(父母,教职员工,学生)讨论关心的问题并制定改进计划。 
  • 提供支持并鼓励对新当选成员的持续培训。
  • 愿意在会议之前阅读和研究提供给您的补充材料(即学校安全计划)

“所有理事会成员”部分的所有内容,以及:

  • 在教师会议上代表SCC的工作。
  • 向理事会通报成功的学术课程及其成功的证据。
  • 让具有特殊专业知识的教师参与进来,他们可能会协助支持理事会制定的学术目标。

“所有理事会成员”部分的所有内容,以及:

  • 具有以下工作知识 R277-491 学校社区理事会和 R277-477 从利息和股利帐户分配资金(学校LAND信托基金)和管理School LAND信托计划。
  • 提供通知并监督年度SCC选举。确保选举和随后任命的空缺职位是依法进行的。
  • 向SCC成员提供《学校使命声明》以及适用的学区政策和时间表的副本确保数据由学校和SCC在决策过程中收集,评估和使用。
  • 确保遵守有关使用学校从永久性基金中获得收益的法律。
  • 成为协作的典范。
  • 每年在一次教职会议上显示来自School LAND Trust网站的培训视频,并在会议上解释学校如何使用School LAND Trust资金
  • 与社区建立和培养学校伙伴关系。
  • 支持理事会讨论与犹他州法律,董事会规则或地区政策不一致的感兴趣的问题。
  • 填写学校社区理事会负责的学校计划所需的表格,保证和报告。
  • 协助理事会主席履行职责
  • 确保根据以下说明将SCC信息发布到学校网站上 所需时间表.
  • 与SCC分享该地区的“数字公民身份”报告,并安排媒体专家添加学校报告(如果适用)。协助回答所有问题和/或从地区获取资源来回答问题。完成报告并发送给学校表演。
  • 与SCC分享学校安全报告;安排SRO参加(如果适用);协助讨论以确定您学校的安全需求和行动计划。完成报告并提交 CSD仪表板。 5月更新报告。

主席的职责可以根据需要委派给理事会成员。主席负责确保完成委派任务。校长支持官员完成法律和董事会规则的要求。

“所有理事会成员”部分的所有内容,以及:

  • 准备学校社区理事会议程,遵守议程和时间限制。必须将需要采取行动的项目列入议程,并且必须有理事会的法定人数(多数)出席投票。
  • 举行学校社区理事会会议,鼓励所有成员参加
  • 确保保留会议记录,并格外小心,以确保准确记录动议和票数。需要通过投票支持,反对和缺席的数字来保持投票。会议纪要准备发布在学校网站上。
  • 制定年度时间表,其中包括所有必需的(和其他)任务,以帮助准备每个议程,确保理事会有必要的前置时间来完成职责,包括以下内容:
    • 审查学校数据,评估和人口统计信息
    • 审查当前计划的执行情况,准备,修改所需的新计划并对其进行表决,然后再将其提交给当地学校董事会
    • 有关成员选举,选举后填补空缺职位以及选举官员的任务
  • 通过鼓励理事会听取和考虑有关问题,提供更多机会让父母和学校雇员参与,并根据需要让非选举产生的父母和工作队及小组委员会的工作人员参加,并向行政部门和当地学校提供意见学校和学校社区的需求和问题委员会。
  • 鼓励和建立模型协作。
  • 建立清晰,书面的程序和时间表,以符合犹他州的法律,董事会规则以及地方理事会有关成员和官员选举的政策以及理事会负责的其他程序,包括概述议会秩序和程序,道德行为和公民言论的规则。

在学校行政部门的协助下,主席应:

  • 确保所有会议都向公众开放,并鼓励父母和学校员工参加。
  • 确保向理事会提供有关其职责,理解评估,学区和学校的任务和目标以及“学校土地信托”网站上可用资源的培训。
  • 代表理事会,为实施已批准的学校行动计划提供持续的支持。
  • 确保满足SCC通讯的法律要求,如“沟通要求。”鼓励发布选举信息。
  • 与校长合作,至少提前10天向即将竞选的议会职位的父母和工作人员提供选举通知,如何申请,选举的日期,时间和地点。如果选举在学年的最后一周之前完成或在学年开始之前完成,则选举可以在春季进行。选举时间至少应保持四年。如果理事会选择在春季举行选举,则鼓励所有在秋季举行选举时将进行投票的父母进行投票,竞选和投票。

主管负责学区中的所有财务事务,并且还是负责该学区总体教学计划的教学负责人。主管为高素质的教师和管理人员寻求资金,分配资源,与社区互动并营造有吸引力的工作环境。他们对学区负责,就像校长对学校负责一样。尽管他们在可能的情况下与其他有兴趣的团体合作,但他们最终对社区和学校董事会负责。

主管和区社区委员会的职责

  • 向学校提供学区优先事项和学区改善计划,包括职业发展和阅读成就计划,以促进学校计划支持学区的学术目标。 53A-3-701(3)(a),53A-1-606.5(3)(a)
  • 从学校社区理事会收到有关学校及其计划,学区计划以及其他与学生社区环境有关的问题的建议。 53A-1a-108(3)(iv)
  • 与地区学校协商,为学校社区理事会成员确定任期的开始日期。 53A-1a-108(5)(g)(i)。
  • 提供学校社区委员会的总体监督,培训,计划审查和总体运作。 R277-491-2(B)
  • 确保当地学校董事会考虑批准学校社区理事会负责的计划。
  • 向犹他州教育局报告计划的批准日期。 R277-491-6(I)

当地选举的学校董事会是学区的董事会。学校董事会成员对社区及其价值观负责,并在与州法律和州教育委员会规定相一致的学校治理问题上拥有最终权力。他们应该为改善学生的成绩建立愿景和方向,并根据该愿景调整政策,预算,人员和其他资源。董事会成员应在创建愿景和确保学区内部问责制方面发挥积极作用,但他们应依靠学区和学校管理员的专业知识来进行学区的日常运营。 当地学校董事会审查并批准由学校社区委员会负责的必要计划。

地方学校董事会审查步骤 

  • 进行本地董事会培训 R277-477 利息和股利帐户(学校LAND信托基金)的资金分配以及“学校LAND信托计划”的管理 和 R277-491 学校社区理事会。
  • 鼓励议会建立有关家长通知,选举和其他议会任务和职责的书面程序,包括概述议会秩序和程序,道德行为和公民话语的规则。
  • 监督学区对每个学校社区理事会的培训,以了解学校社区理事会所概述的要求和职责 国家法律.
  • 培训SCC主席和副主席。确保他们熟悉理事会的期望和局限性以及理事会负责的计划。他们还应该熟悉该学区用来确定资金和批准计划的原则。
  • 建议每个人阅读每个学校的计划 至少 两名董事会成员。如果当地董事会希望学校介绍计划,则董事会成员不应仅依靠学校介绍。董事会负责批准提交批准的书面计划中的内容。向公众开放了“学校土地信托”计划。董事会成员必须确定批准并发布的计划符合州法律。
  • 不符合以下条件的学校改进计划和学校土地信托计划 最关键的学术需求 (看到 R277-477-4 (用于学校土地信托的支出)应退回学校进行修订。看到 R277-477-4 举例说明不适用于这些资金的支出。如果计划被退回,则将附有书面说明,说明理事会在重新提交之前需要完成的修改。
  • 鼓励每位董事会成员使用本地商定的评价标准来评估支出,结转额和校区理事会负责的计划的统一。学校的学业计划应与地区学校的改善计划,专业发展计划和阅读成绩计划保持一致。
  • 鼓励董事会成员每年与所在地区的每个学校社区理事会举行会议,以分析理事会用于履行理事会职责的过程。鼓励理事会在学校改善中使用全方位,系统的合作。必须向理事会传达使用数据来创建和评估理事会负责的计划并确保“学校土地信托计划”最有效的需求。 关键的学术需求。 这将提高所提交计划的质量。这项活动应得到地区工作人员的支持。
  • 学校计划对于每所学校都是唯一的,并且学校数据可以识别和支持需求。如果理事会成员对任何支出有任何疑问,则应指示地区人员跟进支出并向理事会报告。

School LAND信托基金非常独特,因为它是唯一由当地学校社区理事会推动并由当地学校董事会唯一批准使用的州基金。当务之急是当地学校董事会非常认真地负责审查和批准资助计划。如果批准的计划不符合法律和法规规定的标准,则计划将退回当地委员会来回答其行动。

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Responsibilities for the different roles in the School Community Council are outlined below.  Click a section to expand it for more details.

  • Understand the legal responsibilities of the School Community Council
  • Regularly attend the community council meetings.
  • Be an active participant in discussions, planning, and carrying out plans.
  • Attend and participate in annual SCC trainings.
  • Know where to find additional help and clarification, as needed.
  • Represent the needs of all students at the school.
  • Seek community input (parents, faculty, students) on school community council issues.
  • Strive to make data-based decisions
  • Encourage parent and faculty involvement in task forces and action plans, including requests made by the school district.
  • Actively promote school priorities in the community.
  • Be well informed and seek answers to questions and concerns before a vote is called for.
  • Celebrate/inform the community about successes towards achieving council goals.
  • Be forthcoming with the community (parents, faculty, students) about issues of concern and plans to make improvements. 
  • Provide support and encourage ongoing training for newly elected members.
  • Be willing to read and study supplemental material provided to you prior to meetings (i.e. School Safety Plan)

All points from the “All Council Members” section AND:

  • Represent the work of the SCC at faculty meetings.
  • Inform the council about successful academic programs and their evidences of success.
  • Involve faculty members with special expertise who might assist in supporting the academic goals established by the council.

All points from the “All Council Members” section AND:

  • Have a working knowledge of R277-491 School Community Councils and R277-477 Distribution of Funds from the Interest and Dividend Account (School LAND Trust Funds) and Administration of the School LAND Trust Program.
  • Provide notice of and oversee the annual SCC elections. Provide an assurance that the elections, and subsequent appointments of unfilled positions, were conducted according to the law.
  • Provide SCC members with copies of the School Mission Statement and applicable district policies and timelinesEnsure that data is collected, evaluated, and utilized by the school and the SCC in the decision making process.
  • Ensure that the law pertaining to use of the school’s share of the proceeds from the permanent fund are followed.
  • Be a model for collaboration.
  • Show a training video from the School LAND Trust website in a faculty meeting annually and explain in the meeting how the school is using School LAND Trust funds
  • Build and nurture school partnerships with the community.
  • Support the council in discussing issues of interest that are not inconsistent with Utah law, board rule or district policy.
  • Complete the forms, assurances and reports required for school plans the school community council is responsible for.
  • Assist the council chair in completing their responsibilities
  • Ensure that SCC information is posted to the school website according to the required timelines.
  • Share the district’s Digitial Citizenship report with SCC and arrange for media specialist to add a school report, if applicable. Assist in answering all questions and/or getting resources from district to answer questions. Complete report and send to school performance.
  • Share School Safety report with SCC; arrange for SROs to attend, if applicable; assist with discussion to identify safety need(s) and action plans at your school. Complete report and submit on CSD Dashboard.  Update report in May.

Responsibilities of the chair may be delegated to members of the council, as needed. The chair is responsible to be sure delegated assignments are completed. The principal supports the officers in completing the requirements in the law and board rule.

All points from the “All Council Members” section AND:

  • Prepare School Community Council Agendas, honor agendas and time constraints. Items needing action must be included on the agenda and a quorum (majority) of the council must be present to vote.
  • Conduct School Community Council Meetings, encouraging participation by all members
  • Assure minutes are kept, taking special care to assure motions and votes are accurately recorded. Votes need to be kept by the number voting for, against and absent. Minutes are prepared for posting on the school website.
  • Prepare a yearly timeline that includes all required (and other) tasks to assist in preparation of each agenda, assuring councils have the necessary lead time to complete responsibilities, including the following:
    • review of school data, assessments and demographic information
    • review of current plan implementation, preparation, amending and voting on required new plans, before they are submitted to the local school board
    • tasks related to member elections, filling vacant positions after an election, and election of officers
  • Provide opportunities for increased involvement of parents and school employees by encouraging issues of concern to be heard and considered by the council, to include non-elected parents and staff on task forces and subcommittees, as needed, and provide input to administration and the local school board of needs and issues of the school and school community.
  • Encourage and model collaboration.
  • Establish clear, written procedures and timelines consistent with Utah law, board rules, and local board policies about member and officer elections and other procedures councils are responsible for, including rules outlining parliamentary order and procedure, ethical behavior and civil discourse.

With assistance from the school administration, the chair shall:

  • Assure that all meetings are open to the public and encourage participation by parents and school employees.
  • Assure training is provided to the council about their responsibilities, understanding assessments, mission and goals of the district and school, and resources available on the School LAND Trust website.
  • On behalf of the council, provide ongoing support for implementation of approved school action plans.
  • Ensuring that legal requirements for SCC communication are met as they are outlined in “Communication Requirements.” Posting of election information is encouraged.
  • Work with the principal to provide notice of the election at least 10 days in advance to parents and staff of council positions that are up for election, how to apply, the date, time and location of the election. The election may be conducted in the spring if it is completed prior to the last week of the school year OR near the beginning of the school year. The time of the election should be consistent for at least four years. If the council chooses to hold the election in the spring, all parents who would vote if the election were held in the fall are encouraged to file, run and vote.

The superintendent is accountable for all fiscal matters in the school district and is also an instructional leader with responsibility for the district’s overall instruction program. Superintendents seek funding, allocate resources, engage the community, and cultivate an attractive work environment for highly qualified teachers and administrators. They are responsible for the school district in the same way principals are responsible for their schools. Although they collaborate with other interested parties where possible, they are ultimately responsible to the community and the school board.

Superintendent and District Community Council Responsibilities

  • Make district priorities and district school improvement plans, including professional development and reading achievement plans available to schools to facilitate school plans in supporting the academic goals of the district. 53A-3-701(3)(a), 53A-1-606.5(3)(a)
  • Receive recommendations from the school community councils regarding the school and its programs, school district programs, and other issues relating to the community environment for students. 53A-1a-108 (3)(iv)
  • In consultation with district schools, set the beginning date of the term of office for members of the school community councils. 53A-1a-108(5)(g)(i).
  • Provide general oversight, training, review of plans, and general operation of school community councils. R277-491-2(B)
  • Ensure that plans the school community councils are responsible for are considered by the local school board for approval.
  • Report plan approval dates for to the Utah State Office of Education. R277-491-6(I)

The locally elected school board acts as the board of directors for the school district. School board members are responsible to their community and its values and have the final authority in school governance issues consistent with state law and State Board of Education rules. They should establish a vision and direction for improving student achievement, and align policies, budgets, staff and other resources to that vision. While board members should take an active role in creating the vision and ensuring accountability within the district, they should rely on the expertise of the district and school administrators to carry out the day to day operations of the district. Local school boards review and approve required plans that school community councils are responsible for.

Local School Board Review Steps 

  • Conduct local board training on R277-477 Distribution of Funds from the Interest and Dividend Account (School LAND Trust Funds) and Administration for the School LAND Trust Program and R277-491 School Community Councils.
  • Encourage councils to establish written procedures for parent notifications, elections and other council tasks and responsibilities, including rules outlining parliamentary order and procedure, ethical behavior and civil discourse.
  • Oversee training of every school community council in the district on the requirements and responsibilities of school community councils as they are outlined by state law.
  • Train the SCC chair and vice-chair. Ensure they are familiar with the expectations and limitations of councils and the plans councils are responsible for. They should also be familiar with the rubrics that will be used by the district to determine funding and approve plans.
  • It is recommended that each school plan be read by at least two board members. If the local board desires school presentation of plans, Board members should not rely solely on school presentations. The Board is responsible to approve what appears in the written plans submitted for approval. School LAND Trust plans are made accessible to the public. Board members need to be certain that the approved and posted plan meets state law.
  • School Improvement Plans and School LAND Trust Plans that do not meet the criteria of most critical academic need (see R277-477-4 for School LAND Trust expenditures) should be sent back to the school for revision. See R277-477-4 for examples of expenditures not appropriate for these funds. If a plan is sent back, it is accompanied by a written explanation of amendments the council needs to complete before resubmitting.
  • Each Board member is encouraged to use a locally agreed upon rubric to evaluate expenditures, carryover, and alignment of plans school community councils are responsible for. School academic plans are to be consistent with district school improvement plans, professional development plans and reading achievement plans.
  • Board members are encouraged to meet annually with each school community council in their district to analyze the processes councils use to accomplish council responsibilities. The councils are encouraged to use all-inclusive, systematic collaboration in school improvement. It is important to communicate to the council the need to use data to create and evaluate the plans councils are responsible for and to assure the School LAND Trust Plan meets the most critical academic need. This will improve the quality of plans submitted. This activity should be supported by district staff.
  • School plans are unique to each school and the needs identified and supported by school data. If Board members have any questions about any of the expenses, they should direct district personnel to follow up on the expenditure and report back to the board.

The School LAND Trust Funding is very unique in that it is the only state funding where the use is driven by the local school community council and solely approved by the local school board. It is imperative that responsibility to review and approve the plans for funding be taken very seriously by the local school board. If plans are approved that do not meet the criteria set forth by the legislation and rule, it falls back on the local board to answer for their actions.

Close Menu