目录

政策 600.13 附件 1 – 保留管理指南

犹他州法典§53G-6-803 (1)(a) 规定“学生的家长或监护人是负责学生教育的主要人员,[学校]对家长或监护人起辅助和支持作用。因此,学生的父母或监护人有权从学生的 [学校] 获得合理的学术住宿,”包括住宿
关于父母保留的决定。第 (2) 条规定,学校“应根据学生的学术能力或学生的社交、情感或身体成熟度,合理地满足家长或监护人的书面要求,将学生留在幼儿园至 8 年级。”

每个保留案例应遵循学校团队推荐流程。学校团队(由学校行政人员、家长/法定监护人以及以下一项或多项:教师、辅导员和/或学校心理学家组成)将考虑个人的成长模式、数据,以及用于评估请求保留的信息。应在当地学校一级批准或拒绝每个保留请求。如下所述,应在评估每个学生的保留情况时收集和考虑数据。

在 pre-K 计划中,保留不可用。

在 K-8 年级,保留学生的最终决定是家长或监护人的责任,除非学校团队在学校行政人员的指导下确定并记录保留学生是不合理的安排。如果学校团队确定保留 K-8 年级学生的请求是不合理的住宿条件,家长/法定监护人可以请求由教育部组建的学区级委员会学生支持服务部,审查当地学校的决定。学校团队应向学区委员会提供数据和信息,证明要求保留 K-8 年级学生是不合理的安排。

在 9-12 年级,保留学生的最终决定由学校指导下的评估小组负责
行政人员。如果团队无法达成协议,家长/法定监护人可以要求区级
由学生支持服务部组成的委员会,负责审查当地学校的决定。

任何英语学习者 (EL) 学生的保留应与学生倡导和访问主任或指定人员协商。学生倡导和访问主任将协调必要的评估,以向家长/法定监护人提供有关保留请求的语言和文化元素的信息。

如果在保留过程中,数据和信息表明并且团队怀疑该学生可能是残疾学生,则学校必须遵循“特殊教育儿童查找程序”(USOE 特殊教育规则,第 II 节)。被确定有资格并正在接受特殊教育服务的学生只有在保留符合条件的情况下才会考虑保留
与学生的 IEP 一致。

K-3 年级指南

  1. 应考虑学生的身体、社交、情感、行为、认知和学业发展。学校管理员将从任课老师那里收集有关学生在课堂上发展的初始数据和信息。收集初始数据和信息后,如果学校管理人员严重担心所请求的保留可能是不合理的调整,则应按照 4-8 年级指南中的说明获取额外的数据和信息。学校管理员收集的数据和信息应与家长或法定监护人共享,以帮助就保留做出明智的决定。除非学校管理人员发现数据和信息表明请求的保留是不合理的住宿,否则应同意家长或监护人的保留请求。

4-8 年级指南

  1. A. 应考虑学生的身体、社交、情感、行为、认知和学业发展。学校心理学家在学校行政人员的指导下并征得家长同意,将根据需要从尽可能多的来源收集数据和信息,以协助家长或监护人做出明智的决定。用于收集数据的工具包括但不限于:
    • 官方学生报告/数据(基于课程的测量标准参考测试、基准评估、进度监控、成绩单、对有针对性的指导/干预的反应等)。
    • 根据需要与学生、家长、学校辅导员、教师、管理人员和其他人进行面谈。
    • 建议完成光的保留量表作为评估的一部分。
    • 根据需要进行其他学术、社会、行为和心理教育评估。这些可能包括但不限于:
      • 认知发展,通过标准化的、参照规范的智力测试进行评估。
      • 学术成就,由标准化的、参照规范的学术成就组合评估。
      • 由家长、老师完成的社会情绪和行为评估,并在适当的情况下进行自我报告
      • 情有可原的情况;即健康、流动性、出勤率

学校团队收集的数据和信息应与家长或法定监护人共享,以帮助做出关于保留的知情决定。除非学校团队发现数据和信息表明所请求的保留是不合理的住宿,否则应同意家长或监护人的保留请求。

9-12 指南

  1. 保留 9-12 年级只应在极端情况下考虑,并被视为不合理的住宿,除非父母或监护人提供明确的相反证据。
  2. 如果情况需要考虑保留 9-12 年级,则应遵循 4-8 年级指南中列出的程序。
  3. 将家长推荐给犹他州高中体育协会,了解有关高中体育资格的政策。
  4. 如果学生没有在他/她的毕业班毕业并且仍然希望继续接受教育,则将通过成人教育计划提供后续教育。

此在线演示文稿是Canyons学区当前采用的政策手册的电子表示形式。它不反映正在进行的更新活动。官方权威手册可在位于桑迪东300 600号桑迪(South East East)的9361 South 300的总监办公室中查阅。

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Table of Contents

Policy 600.13 Exhibit 1 – Retention Administrative Guidelines

Share on print

Utah Code §53G-6-803 (1)(a) provides that a “student’s parent or guardian is the primary person responsible for the education of the student, and the [school] is in a secondary and supportive role to the parent or guardian. As such, a student’s parent or guardian has the right to reasonable academic accommodations from the student’s [school],” including accommodations
on parental decisions regarding retention. Section (2) provides that the school “shall reasonably accommodate a parent’s or guardian’s written request to retain a student in kindergarten through grade 8 on grade level based on the student’s academic ability or the student’s social, emotional, or physical maturity.”

Each retention case shall follow the school team referral process. A school team (comprised of a school administrator, parent(s)/legal guardian(s), and one or more of the following: teacher(s), counselor, and/or school psychologist) will consider individual patterns of growth, data, and information to evaluate the requested retention. Each request for retention should be approved or denied at the local school level. The data, as outlined below, should be collected and considered in the evaluation for each student’s retention.

In pre-K programs, retention is not available.

In grades K-8, the final decision to retain a student is the responsibility of the parent or guardian unless the school team, under the direction of the school administrator, determines and documents that retention would be an unreasonable accommodation. In the event that the school team determines that, the request for retention for a student in grades K-8 would be an unreasonable accommodation, parent(s)/legal guardian(s) may request a district-level committee, formed by the Department of Student Support Services, to review the local school’s decision. The school team shall provide data and information that demonstrates to the districtlevel committee that the request for retention of a student in grades K-8 would be an unreasonable accommodation.

In grades 9-12, the final decision to retain a student is the responsibility of the evaluation team under the direction of the school
administrator. In the event that agreement cannot be reached by the team, parent(s)/legal guardian(s) may request a district-level
committee, formed by the Department of Student Support Services, to review the local school decision.

Retention regarding any English Learner (EL) student should occur in consultation with the Student Advocacy and Access Director or designee. The Student Advocacy and Access Director will coordinate necessary evaluations to provide the parent/legal guardian with information on the linguistic and cultural elements of the request to retain.

If during the retention process, the data and information indicate and the team suspects the student may be a student with a disability, the school must follow “Special Education Child Find Procedures” (USOE Special Education Rules, Section II). Students who have been determined eligible for and are receiving Special Education services are considered for retention only if the retention is
consistent with the student’s IEP.

Grades K-3 Guidelines

  1. The student’s physical, social, emotional, behavioral, cognitive, and academic development should be considered. The school administrator will collect initial data and information from the classroom teacher regarding the student’s development in the class. After gathering the initial data and information, if the school administrator has serious concerns that the requested retention could be an unreasonable accommodation, additional data, and information should be obtained as outlined in the Grades 4-8 Guidelines. The data and information gathered by the school administrator shall be shared with the parent or legal guardian to assist in making an informed decision about retention. Unless the school administrator finds that the data and information indicate that the requested retention is an unreasonable accommodation, the parent’s or guardian’s request to retain shall be granted.

Grades 4-8 Guidelines

  1. A. The student’s physical, social, emotional, behavioral, cognitive, and academic development should be considered. The school psychologist, under the direction of the school administrator, and with parental consent, will collect data and information from as many sources as needed to assist the parent or guardian to make an informed decision. Tools used to collect data include, but are not limited to:
    • Official student reports/data (curriculum-based measures criterion-referenced tests, benchmark assessments, progress monitoring, report cards, responses to targeted instruction/intervention, etc.).
    • Interviews with the student, parent, school counselor, teachers, administrators and others as needed.
    • Completion of the Light’s Retention Scale is recommended as part of the evaluation.
    • Other academic, social, behavioral, and psycho-educational assessments as needed. These could include but are not limited to:
      • Cognitive development, as assessed by a standardized, norm-referenced intelligence test.
      • Academic achievement, as assessed by a standardized, norm-referenced academic achievement battery.
      • Social-emotional and behavioral assessments completed by parent, teacher, and, if appropriate, self-report
      • Extenuating circumstances; i.e. health, mobility, attendance

The data and information gathered by the school team shall be shared with the parent or legal guardian to assist in making an informed decision about retention. Unless the school team finds that the data and information indicate that the requested retention is an unreasonable accommodation, the parent or guardian’s request to retain shall be granted.

9-12 Guidelines

  1. Retention in grades 9-12 should only be considered in extreme cases and is considered an unreasonable accommodation unless the parent or guardian provides clear evidence to the contrary.
  2. If circumstances warrant retention consideration in grades 9-12, procedures as listed under Grades 4-8 Guidelines should be followed.
  3. Refer parents to the Utah High School Athletic Association for policies pertaining to high school athletic eligibility.
  4. If a student does not graduate with his/her graduating class and still desires to pursue additional education, subsequent education will be offered through the adult education program.

This online presentation is an electronic representation of the Canyons School District’s currently adopted policy manual. It does not reflect updating activities in progress. The official, authoritative manual is available for inspection in the office of the Superintendent located at 9361 South 300 East Sandy, UT 84070.