目录

政策600.01 –毕业要求

分享到print

保单号码:
600.01

通过: 
3.15.2016

董事会政策

  1. 教育委员会认为,为学生设定高期望将使他们能够提高自己的能力,并进一步为大学和职业做好准备。教育委员会承认并接受其有责任实施犹他州法律中概述的教学和毕业要求的核心标准(见, 犹他州代码 §53G-4-402)。具体而言,教育委员会声称并行使法定权力,以差异化文凭的形式坚定地为峡谷学生建立高期望,以鼓励课程学习模式、学习计划和超出犹他州最低要求的额外学分,以鼓励卓越和学术成就。  
  2. 教育委员会行使其法定权力,确定有资格获得毕业学分的课程和学习计划。
  3. 为了帮助CSD高中实现这些目标,董事会指导区管理部门制定了Canyons学区高中课程目录和学分准则手册,供学校管理人员,顾问和其他指导人员用来监督学分的授予,资格毕业和选课。
  4. 教育委员会授权地区行政部门制定符合本政策的行政法规,但须经教育委员会审查并批准。

行政法规:
600.01-1

批准: 
3.15.2016

毕业和学分要求 - 600.01-1

毕业要求:

要从峡谷学区高中毕业,学生必须:

  1. 赚取由犹他州教育委员会和峡谷地区教育委员会指定的学分。
  2. 在下一学年开始之前完成所有毕业要求。
    1. 符合毕业要求将使学生有权获得文凭,但不一定使学生有权参加毕业典礼。
    2. 开学练习是在当地高中的指导下进行的。

峡谷学区差异化文凭:  

峡谷学区差异化文凭鼓励学生参加严格的课程并达到反映大学和职业准备状态的国家基准。

  1. 峡谷标准文凭:峡谷标准文凭要求学生完成犹他州教育和峡谷学区规定的所有要求(见, 展览1).
  2. 峡谷高级文凭:峡谷高级文凭要求学生完成峡谷标准文凭的学分、规定的课程作业和最低 GPA 要求(见, 展览1).
  3. 峡谷荣誉文凭:峡谷荣誉文凭要求学生完成峡谷高级文凭的要求,此外还要达到 ACT 大学入学考试的大学准备基准分数和最低 GPA 要求(见, 展览1).  
  4. 峡谷基础文凭:经行政批准,该文凭可用于情有可原的情况。获得此文凭的学生必须完成所有必需的核心课程学分要求(见, 展览—2).
  5. Canyons Alternate Diploma:该文凭适用于仍通过基本要素达到核心标准的严重认知障碍的学生。获得此文凭的学生必须完成所有必需的核心课程学分要求或犹他州特殊教育学分指南中目前允许的替代、豁免和修改(见, 展品—3).

奖励积分:

  1. 学分的授予基于学生的参与,对主题的掌握和/或技能的获得。从9年级之前的夏季开始,对9-12年级的课程提供学分。
  2. 峡谷学区中学将接受由犹他州教育办公室、西北认证委员会认可或认可的任何公立或私立教育机构授予学生的学分和成绩学校认证委员会。 (犹他州管理员。代码 R277-705-3).

行政法规:
600.01-2

批准: 
3.15.2016

CSD 高中课程目录和学分指南手册 - 600.01-2

  1. 有关更多信息,请参阅《 CSD高中课程目录和学分指南》。

形式

没有

文件记录

 
修改。 – 5.4.2021。政策–600.01–毕业要求已更新,为特殊教育学生添加了符合州法律的额外文凭。该文凭适用于仍通过基本要素获得核心标准的严重认知障碍的学生。获得此文凭的学生必须完成所有必需的核心课程学分要求或犹他州特殊教育学分指南目前允许的替代、豁免和修改。
 
通过。 – 2016年3月15日。

此在线演示文稿是Canyons学区当前采用的政策手册的电子表示形式。它不反映正在进行的更新活动。官方权威手册可在位于桑迪东300 600号桑迪(South East East)的9361 South 300的总监办公室中查阅。

resources

Family Connections

Getting Involved

Tools

Resources

Leadership

About

Getting Involved

Table of Contents

Policy 600.01 – Graduation Requirements

POLICY NUMBER:
600.01

ADOPTED: 
9.19.2023

Board Policy

  1. The Board of Education believes setting high expectations for students will enable them to increase their capacities and further prepare them for college and career. The Board of Education acknowledges and accepts its duty to implement core standards for instruction and graduation requirements as outlined in Utah state law (See, Utah Code §53G-4-402).   Specifically, the Board of Education claims and exercises its statutory authority to firmly establish high expectations for Canyons students in the form of differentiated diplomas to encourage course-taking patterns, programs of study, and additional credits beyond the State of Utah’s minimum requirements to encourage excellence and academic achievement.  
  2. The Board of Education exercises its statutory authority to determine courses and programs of study eligible for credit towards graduation.
  3. To assist CSD High schools in meeting these objectives, the Board directs the District Administration to develop a Canyons School District High School Course Catalog and Credit Guidelines Handbook for use by school administrators, counselors, and other guidance personnel to supervise granting of credit, qualification for graduation, and course selection.
  4. The Board of Education authorizes the District Administration to develop Administrative Regulations consistent with this policy, subject to review and approval by the Board of Education.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
600.01-1

APPROVED: 
9.19.2023

Graduation and Credit Requirements - 600.01-1

Graduation Requirements:

To graduate from a Canyons School District high school, a student must:

  1. Earn credits designated by the Utah State Board of Education and the Canyons District Board of Education.
  2. Complete all graduation requirements prior to the beginning of the next school year.
    1. Meeting graduation requirements entitles a student to receive a diploma but does not necessarily entitle a student to participate in commencement.
    2. Commencement exercises are under the direction of and administered by the local high school.

Canyons School District Differentiated Diplomas:  

The Canyons School District Differentiated Diplomas encourage student to take rigorous coursework and meet national benchmarks that reflect college- and career-readiness.

  1. The Canyons Standard Diploma: A Canyons Standard Diploma requires a student complete all requirements set forth by the Utah State Education and Canyons School District (See, Exhibit—1).
  2. The Canyons Advanced Diploma: The Canyons Advanced Diploma requires students to complete the credits of the Canyons Standard Diploma, prescribed coursework and a minimum G.P.A. requirement (See, Exhibit—1).
  3. The Canyons Honors Diploma: The Canyons Honors Diploma requires students to complete the requirements of the Canyons Advanced Diploma, and in addition attain College Readiness Benchmarks Scores on the ACT college-entrance exam and a minimum G.P.A. requirement (See, Exhibit—1).  
  4. The Canyons Basic Diploma: This diploma is available for extenuating circumstances upon administrative approval.   Students earning this diploma must complete all required core curriculum credit requirements (See, Exhibit—2).
  5. The Canyons Alternate Diploma: This diploma is available for students with significant cognitive disabilities who are still accessing core standards through the essential elements. Students earning this diploma must complete all required core curriculum credit requirements or those substitutions, exemptions, and modifications currently allowable under the Utah State Special Education credit guidelines (See, Exhibit—3).
  6. Certificate of Completion:  Means a certificate that may be awarded to a special education student who: (1) has completed the student’s senior year; (2) is exiting or aging out of the school system; and (3) has not met all state or District requirements for a diploma (e.g., Canyons Alternative Diploma; Canyons Regular High School Diploma) as determined by the IEP team.
    1.  Canyons District may not withhold a regular high school diploma from a student who has met State graduation requirements.  
    2. The term “regular high school diploma’ does not include an alternative degree that is not fully aligned with the State’s academic standards, such as a certificate or a GED.  

Awarding Credit:

  1. Credit is awarded on the basis of a student’s participation, mastery of subject matter, and/or attainment of skills. Credit is granted for courses taken in grades 9-12, beginning in the summer prior to ninth grade.
  2. Canyons School District secondary schools will accept credit and grades awarded to a student by any public or private educational source that is accredited or recognized by the Utah State Office of Education, the Northwest Accreditation Commission or that is associated as a member of the International Council of School Accreditation Commissions. (Utah Admin. Code R277-705-3).

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
600.01-2

APPROVED: 
9.19.2023

CSD High School Course Catalog and Credit Guidelines Handbook - 600.01-2

  1. For additional information please refer to the CSD High School Course Catalog and Credit Guidelines Handbook.

Forms

None

Document History

Revised. – 9.19.2023.  Policy–600.01–Graduation Requirements is updated to add a Certificate of Completion for a special education student that has completed the student’s senior year; is exiting or aging our of the school system; and (3) has not met all state or District requirements for a diploma.  

Revised. – 5.4.2021.  Policy–600.01–Graduation Requirements is updated to add an additional diploma consistent with state law for special education students. The diploma is available for students with significant cognitive disabilities who are still accessing core standards through the essential elements. Students earning this diploma must complete all required core curriculum credit requirements or those substitutions, exemptions, and modifications currently allowable under the Utah State Special Education credit guidelines.
 
Adopted. – 3.15.2016.

This online presentation is an electronic representation of the Canyons School District’s currently adopted policy manual. It does not reflect updating activities in progress. The official, authoritative manual is available for inspection in the office of the Superintendent located at 9361 South 300 East Sandy, UT 84070.

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org