目录

政策300.08 –学校的服务性动物

分享到print

保单号码:
300.08

通过:
12.1.2015

董事会政策

  1. 教育委员会致力于提供对其所提供的所有服务,活动和计划的平等访问权。根据联邦和州法律,根据学生,雇员或公众的合法使用服务性动物,不会拒绝他们使用服务,程序或活动。     
  2. 教育委员会授权总监和学区行政管理部门制定符合该政策的行政法规。

行政法规:
300.08-1

批准:
12.1.2015

定义-300.08-1

为了本政策的目的,以下定义适用:  

  1. “直接威胁”:对他人健康和安全的重大风险,不能通过修改政策,实践或程序或提供辅助工具或服务来消除。   
  2. “失能”: 就个人而言—— (A) 身体或精神上的损伤,严重限制了该个人的一项或多项主要生活活动; (B) 此类减值的记录; (C) 被视为具有此类损害(42 USC§美国残疾人法第 12102 条).
  3. “服务动物”:  任何经过单独训练可以为残障人士工作或执行任务的狗。就本定义而言,其他种类的动物,无论是野生的还是家养的、受过训练的或未受过训练的,都不是服务性动物。服务性动物执行的工作或任务必须与个人的残疾直接相关。就本定义而言,提供情感支持、幸福、舒适或陪伴不构成工作或任务。

行政法规:
300.08-2

批准:
12.1.2015

总则-300.08-2

  1. 应当允许残疾人陪同其服务性动物或服务性动物在区域设施的所有区域接受培训,其中允许公众成员,服务,计划或活动的参与者或被邀请者参加。
  2. 根据犹他州法律的规定,应准许训练中的服务动物进入地区设施,以允许公众成员,服务,计划或活动的参与者或被邀请者进入。

行政法规:
300.08-3

批准:
12.1.2015

服务性动物查询-300.08-3

  1. 在不太明显的狗是服务性动物的情况下,学区或学校工作人员只能提出两个问题:(1)狗是否是由于残疾而需要的服务性动物; (2)训练狗做哪些工作或任务。   
  2. 可能要求服务动物的所有者提供证明该服务动物已在所有者所居住的辖区中获得许可的文件。

行政法规:
300.08-4

批准:
12.1.2015

服务性动物移除-300.08-4

  1. 移送服务性动物:在以下情况下,学区或学校管理员可以要求残障人士从其设施中移走服务性动物:  
    1. 动物失控,动物的处理者未采取有效措施对其进行控制;要么
    2. 动物没有被弄坏。要么
    3. 该动物构成直接威胁。

行政法规:
300.08-5

批准:
12.1.2015

服务性动物责任-300.08-5

  1. 服务性动物应有背带,皮带或其他系绳,除非操作者因无法使用背带,皮带或其他系绳而无法操作,或者使用背带,皮带或其他系绳会干扰服务性动物安全,有效地执行工作或任务,在这种情况下,服务性动物必须以其他方式在操作员的控制下(例如,语音控制,信号或其他有效手段)。
  2. 区和它的雇员对服务性动物的照料或监督不承担任何责任,除非有专门要求区或它的雇员照料和监督的文件。

展品

没有

形式

没有

文件记录

已通过 – 12.1.2015.

此在线演示文稿是Canyons学区当前采用的政策手册的电子表示形式。它不反映正在进行的更新活动。官方权威手册可在位于桑迪东300 600号桑迪(South East East)的9361 South 300的总监办公室中查阅。

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Table of Contents

Policy 300.08 – Service Animals in Schools

Share on print

POLICY NUMBER:
300.08

ADOPTED:
12.1.2015

Board Policy

  1. The Board of Education is committed to providing equal access to all services, activities, and programs it offers. Students, employees or members of the public will not be denied access to services, programs, or activities due to their legitimate use of service animal in accordance with federal and state law.     
  2. The Board of Education authorizes the Superintendent and District Administration to develop administrative regulations consistent with this policy.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
300.08-1

APPROVED:
12.1.2015

Definitions - 300.08-1

For purposes of this policy, the following definitions apply:  

  1. “Direct Threat”: A significant risk to health and safety of others that cannot be eliminated by a modification to policies, practices, or procedures, or by the provision of auxiliary aids or services.   
  2. “Disability”: means, with respect to an individual— (A) a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities of such individual; (B) a record of such an impairment; or (C) being regarded as having such an impairment (42 U.S.C.§12102 of the Americans with Disabilities Act).
  3. “Service Animal”:  Any dog that has been individually trained to do work or perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability.  Other species of animals, whether wild or domestic, trained or untrained, are not service animals for the purpose of this definition.  The work or tasks performed by a service animal must be directly related to the individual’s disability. The provision of emotional support, well-being, comfort, or companionship does not constitute work or tasks for the purposes of this definition.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
300.08-2

APPROVED:
12.1.2015

General Provisions - 300.08-2

  1. Individuals with disabilities shall be permitted to be accompanied by their service animal or service animals in training in all areas of District facilities where members of the public, participants in services, programs or activities, or invitees are allowed to go.
  2. As provided for in Utah law, service animals in training shall be granted access to District facilities where members of the public, participants in services, programs or activities, or invitees are allowed to go.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
300.08-3

APPROVED:
12.1.2015

Service Animal Inquiries - 300.08-3

  1. In situations where it is not obvious that the dog is a service animal, District or school staff may only ask two questions: (1) is the dog a service animal required because of a disability; and (2) what work or task has the dog been trained to perform.   
  2. A service animal’s owner may be required to provide documentation indicating that the service animal has been licensed in the jurisdiction (s) in which the owner resides.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
300.08-4

APPROVED:
12.1.2015

Service Animal Removal - 300.08-4

  1. Removal of a service animal: A District or school administrator may request an individual with a disability remove a service animal from its facilities under the following circumstances:  
    1. The animal is out of control and the animal’s handler does not take effective action to control it; or
    2. The animal is not housebroken; or
    3. The animal poses a direct threat.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
300.08-5

APPROVED:
12.1.2015

Service Animal Responsibility - 300.08-5

  1. A service animal shall have a harness, leash, or other tether, unless either the handler is unable because of a disability to use a harness, leash, or other tether, or the use of a harness, leash, or other tether would interfere with the service animal’s safe, effective performance of work or tasks, in which case the service animal must be otherwise under the handler’s control (e.g., voice control, signals, or other effective means).
  2. The District and its employees are not responsible for the care or supervision of a service animal, unless documentation exists specifically requiring such care and supervision by the District or its employees.

Exhibits

None

Forms

None

Document History

Adopted – 12.1.2015.

This online presentation is an electronic representation of the Canyons School District’s currently adopted policy manual. It does not reflect updating activities in progress. The official, authoritative manual is available for inspection in the office of the Superintendent located at 9361 South 300 East Sandy, UT 84070.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org