运输安全提示

大约 15,000 名峡谷区学生以乘坐巴士开始和结束他们的一天。作为公共交通的一种形式,公共汽车可以让数千辆汽车远离道路,从而减少排放并帮助改善我们呼吸的空气质量。根据美国国家公路交通安全管理局的说法,公共汽车也是最安全的出行方式。

惩教署的校车由持有商业驾驶执照的专业人员驾驶,并比一般车辆具有更高的安全标准。在一个学年中,我们的公共汽车最多可以检查400次。 CSD的技工维护着约180辆公共汽车,并在2017年的努力下被授予犹他州公路巡逻队的安全金牌。这种状态是一种罕见的区别-并表明CSD学生正在乘坐最安全的公共汽车。

技术在公交安全中也起着重要作用。每辆公共汽车都有能够监视公共汽车上发生的事情的摄像机。公交车还配备了Zonar GPS跟踪系统,该系统可实时中继有关其位置,速度,发动机运行状况以及确切的到达时间和离开每个公交车站的信息。在每个学年开始时,峡谷区都要求顾客注意步行去学校和公交车站的幼儿,并要注意公交车站经常停车。学区还要求学生遵守学区的公交车行为守则。

安全步行路线

当学生走出大门时,无论他们走路,骑自行车还是在人行道上跳过,我们都希望他们安全。州法律要求学校为步行或骑自行车上学的学生指定安全步行路线。学校社区委员会为学校的学生定义了路线,并与学区合作提供路线图,其中可能包括建议的改进措施,如人行横道,过路警卫,人行道等。学校在其网站上发布其安全步行路线。

城市-或在某些地方,县-决定一个地区是否应接受安全改进,以帮助学生过马路。一般来说,城市会批准在10个或10个以上儿童过马路的地区设置过路警卫。步行或骑自行车上学的学生应熟悉管理者与每个学校社区委员会合作建议的学校安全步行路线。在一起,我们可以确保道路安全。

停车场安全

不管是在第一个钟声响起之前还是在下课之后,上学最繁忙的地方之一就是停车场。敏锐的眼光,谨慎的态度以及遵循指示的能力在调节进出峡谷的学校停车场的交通流方面大有帮助,但是峡谷在上落客区方面做出了改进,遏制了以及其他改善交通方向的措施。学校还制定计划以解决其各自站点的交通需求。

上学安全提示

在每个学年开始时,峡谷区都要求顾客注意步行去学校和公交车站的幼儿,并要注意公交车站经常停车。学区还要求学生遵守学区的 公交车行为准则。 在一起,我们可以确保道路安全。

  • 行人应尽可能走在人行道上,并面向车流行走。在过马路或火车轨道之前,即使在人行横道或指定区域,也要停下来左右看看。
  • 骑自行车或玩滑板上学时,孩子们应该戴上头盔并了解交通规则。他们应该在人行横道处完全停下来,然后骑自行车或滑板穿过。在火车站月台上使用自行车和滑板并不安全。 
  • 切勿在停放的汽车前飞镖。
  • 避免分心。请勿在发短信、打电话或使用耳机时骑自行车、驾驶机动车或穿过繁忙区域。
  • 遵守所有交通信号和标志,切勿绕过火车道口处降低的大门。
  • 驾驶员必须始终屈服于行人,并应在学校区域和人行横道上格外小心。
  • 乘坐载有儿童的公共汽车是违法的。

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Transportation Safety Tips

Some 15,000 Canyons District students begin and end their day with a trip on a bus. As a form of mass transit, buses keep thousands of cars off the road, reducing emissions and helping to improve the quality of the air we breathe. Buses are also the safest form of travel, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

CSD’s school buses are driven by professionals with Commercial Driver’s Licenses and are held to a higher safety standard than regular vehicles. In one school year, our buses can be inspected up to 400 times. CSD mechanics maintain about 180 buses, and for their efforts in 2017, were awarded the Utah Highway Patrol’s Safety Gold Medal. The status is a rare distinction — and a sign that CSD students are traveling on the safest buses possible.

Technology also plays a role in bus safety. Every bus has cameras capable of monitoring what takes place on the bus. The buses are also equipped with a Zonar GPS Tracking system, which relays information about their location, speed, engine health and exactly what time it arrived and left each bus stop — in real time. With the start of each school year, Canyons District asks patrons to be on the lookout for young children walking to schools and bus stops, and to be mindful that buses make frequent stops. The District also asks students to adhere to the District’s Bus Code of Conduct.

Safe Walking Routes

When students head out the door, we want them to be safe, whether they are walking, riding their bikes, or skipping down the sidewalk. State law mandates that schools designate Safe Walking Routes for students who walk or ride their bikes to school. School Community Councils define the routes for students in their school, and work with the District to provide a map of the route, which may include suggested improvements like crosswalks, crossing guards, sidewalks, and more. Schools post their Safe Walking Routes on their websites.

Cities — or in some places, the county — determine whether an area should receive safety improvements to assist students as they cross the street. Generally speaking, cities approve crossing guards in areas where 10 or more children cross the street. Students who walk or ride their bike to school should familiarize themselves with the school’s Safe Walking Route as recommended by administrators in partnership with each School Community Council. Together, we can keep our roadways safe.

Parking Lot Safety

One of the busiest places to be at school, whether just before the first bell rings or just after class is dismissed, is the parking lot. A keen eye, cautious approach, and the ability to follow instructions goes a long way in moderating the flow of traffic in and out of Canyons’ school parking lots, but Canyons has made improvements on school pick-up and drop-off zones, curbing, and other measures that improve the direction of traffic. Schools also develop plans to address traffic needs at their individual sites.

Traveling to School Safety Tips

With the start of each school year, Canyons District asks patrons to be on the lookout for young children walking to schools and bus stops, and to be mindful that buses make frequent stops. The District also asks students to adhere to the District’s Bus Code of Conduct. Together, we can keep our roadways safe.

  • Pedestrians should stick to sidewalks when possible and walk facing traffic. Before crossing the street or train tracks, even at a crosswalk or designated area, stop and look left and right.
  • When biking or skateboarding to school, children should wear a helmet and understand traffic rules. They should come to a complete stop at crosswalks and walk their bike or skateboard across. Bikes and skate boards are not safe for use on train station platforms. 
  • Never dart out in front of a parked car.
  • Avoid distractions. Do not bike, drive a motor vehicle, or cross a busy area while texting, talking on the phone or using headphones.
  • Obey all traffic signals and signs, and never go around a lowered gate at train crossings.
  • Drivers must always yield to pedestrians and should take extra care in school zones and at crosswalks.
  • It is illegal to pass a bus that is loading or unloading children.

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org