董事会摘要,2022 年 5 月 3 日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过点击相应的议程项目

所有 CSD 学校的周五提早上课时间表

教育委员会投票决定在 Canyons 的每所学校设立“周五提早”,这样教师就可以在内部与团队合作,也可以与其他学校垂直合作。这将在下一学年实施。在关于这样一个时间表和专业学习社区价值的演讲中,主管 Rick Robins 博士说,这个共同的计划和协作时间表将为所有年级的教师提供有效协作的时间,在适当的情况下为垂直团队提供机会,并创造度过一个适合家庭的时间,以避免日程安排上的困难。罗宾斯说,评估 Canyons 认证的团队指出,该地区将受益于小学、初中和高中持证专业人员的规划、合作和专业发展的共同时间。小学、初中和高中校长表示支持共同规划和合作的时间块。将为社区准备信息通信和警报。

董事会批准持牌教育者的合同

根据峡谷教育委员会批准的 2022-2023 学年许可个人合同,峡谷的初级教师将获得 $54,665。投票结果为 6-1。根据峡谷教育协会批准的合同条款,学区将根据经认证的工资表第 20 步资助 4.25% 的生活费用调整。业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 告诉教育委员会,签订 186 天合同的员工将获得 $3,715 - $900 的总工资增长,加上 $2,725 的生活成本调整和 $90 的 TSSA 增长.包括收益在内的成本将约为 $8,671,000,即增加 5.64%。学区还同意支付加强教育的费用以及增加对活动和田径运动的指导和监督的津贴。根据合同,健康保险的区份额将增加 2% 或约 $307,000。所有获得认证的员工的员工份额将增加 1%,即大约 $42,000。 8 月,委员会将开会审查更新的索赔数据,并可能需要对 2023 年保险计划年度的保费进行进一步调整。新合同中的家庭友好型福利包括为所有符合福利条件的员工提供六周产假和延长家庭假,允许员工将最多 30 天的累积病假转换为身体监护和照顾对于一岁以下的儿童。一份谅解备忘录要求委员会审查和报告与有序终止、专业教师的工资表、中学的最长准备期、无限制病假、班级人数减少和特殊教育问题有关的问题。

为 2022-2023 年 CSD 管理员批准的合同

根据教育委员会批准的雇佣合同,Canyons 管理人员将在 2022-2023 学年提供 4.25% 的生活成本增长,以及加薪幅度。此外,1.25% 的一次性津贴将提供给她或他的薪水计划通道最高级别的 58 名管理人员。行政人员健康保险的区份额将增加 2%,即约 $29,000。所有获得认证的员工的员工份额将增加 1%,即大约 $4,000。保险基金缴费总额为$33,000,其中87.4%由区缴费,12.6%由职工缴费。 8 月,委员会将开会审查更新的索赔数据,并可能需要对 2023 计划年度的保费进行进一步调整。在今年的谈判中,学区还同意继续审查当前的全职等效分配流程,并确定可以进行的修改以解决公平问题。此外,学区同意加强为新校长和助理提供的培训,并就必须参加和监督课外活动的管理人员协商了新的“活动差异”。

预算更新

Canyons 业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 向教育委员会提供了 2022-2023 年拟议预算的最新情况,其中包括立法批准的加权学生单位增加 6%,这是犹他州政府的资助机制,以及教师和学生成功法案 (TSSA) 和土地信托基金,以及为面临学习障碍的学生提供的资金。 Canyons 将在 2024 财年继续获得犹他州联邦政府拨款的中小学紧急救济资金的一部分,其中很大一部分将用于新课程、新评估平台和 23 名教师,以帮助解决学习差距源于疫情。由于犹他州儿童贫困率下降,Canyons 最近收到意外消息,标题 I 资金减少 $220 万,减去结转资金。根据 2020 年人口普查的人口数据,犹他州的学龄儿童贫困率下降幅度最大,为 23%,仅次于宾夕法尼亚州的 13.8%。地区行政部门正在审查管理资金损失的方案。学校重建和其他资本改进是预计支出中的一部分。通过退还债券,该区预计将为纳税人节省约 $920 万的利息支出。此外,2022 年 6 月 15 日,Canyons 从其前身约旦学区继承的债务将得到偿还,不再出现在财产税报表上。威尔科克斯还指出,美国农业部对免费校餐的豁免已经过期。目前的计划是对学校早餐和午餐收取先前批准的价格。

贝尔时间表调查,研究

董事会审查了 4 月 21 日至 29 日对 11 个社区进行的一项调查的结果,这些社区将受到一项将所有 CSD 中学的开学和放学时间标准化的提案的影响。这些学校社区的家长和员工被问及是否愿意保留当前的上课时间,或者愿意将上课时间更改为最多 30 分钟,以适应所有中学早上 7 点 50 分或早上 8 点的开始时间。目前,Draper Park 和 Mount Jordan 中学在上午 7:30 开始 - 比任何其他 CSD 中学早 20 分钟。由于公交路线的物流,需要更改响铃时刻表。根据调查,11 个学校社区中有 9 个的大多数家长强烈或有些希望他们的时间表保持不变。在 11 所学校中,有 10 所学校的大多数员工强烈或在某种程度上更喜欢保持不变的时间表。约43.40%的家长回复了调查,52.7%的家长提交了回复。除了 DPMS 和 MJMS,Diamond Ridge High、Alta View、Lone Peak、Sprucewood、Crescent、Draper、Oak Hollow、Willow Springs 和 Glacier Hills 小学的家长和员工也接受了调查。董事会还将继续研究是否应该进行全学区的钟声时间表研究。

中谷地区边界

教育委员会批准了中谷地区边界变更提案的第 3 号选项。董事会成员 Mont Millerberg 开始批准第 3 号选项。因此,State Street 以东地区 将从 Copperview 小学搬到 Midvalley 小学。这些大道将从 East Midvale 小学搬到 Midvale 小学。实施时间为 2023-2024 学年。还指示行政部门通知所有学校社区。

政策更新

教育委员会正在考虑改变研究和调查审批程序的政策;学生行为和纪律程序;教学材料;和学校图书馆的资料选择和审查。董事会将继续审查建议的更新。

犹他州学校董事会协会更新

Mont Millerberg 表示,教育和行政委员会已经完成了获得 2022 年硕士委员会认证的必要工作。他还向教育委员会通报了即将举行的 USBA 活动。

学校亮点

Butler Middle 校长 Paula Logan 指出,自 2010 年选民批准的 $2.5 亿债券的资金建成以来,Bruins 的新学校开办已有十年。这座有 10 年历史的建筑设有两个双语沉浸式项目, 44 名教师和 917 名学生获得了 375,000 Butler Bruit “PBIS 积分”。然而,洛根说,对于教育工作者来说,最重要的数字应该是“一个”——以及每个学生如何需要一对一的支持和鼓励才能取得成功。 “这是关于那个,”她说。 “我们成为帮助这个人的教育工作者。” Logan 还向董事会成员赠送了 Butler Bruins 的别针。

顾客评论

以下顾客在顾客评论期间向董事会发表了讲话。可以在 BoardDocs 上访问他们的评论记录。

  • 众议员史蒂夫·埃里亚森
  • 德隆·罗伯茨
  • 卡米·库钦金斯基尔
  • 西奥法
  • 伊莱莎·弗劳
  • 坎迪斯邓肯
  • 艾米·费特·约翰逊
  • 玛丽安·巴罗斯
  • 露丝·泰勒
  • 莎莉·斯科特

同意议程

教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括 2022 年 4 月 19 日教育委员会会议记录;雇用和终止报告;采购投标;学生过夜旅行请求; 2022-2023 年土地信托和 TSSA 计划;以及主管 Rick Robins 博士和业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 的两年雇佣合同。

主管,业务管理员报告

院长里克·罗宾斯博士 对董事会在董事会会议期间的热烈讨论表示感谢,并邀请公众参加周四的管理者颁奖之夜。

威尔科克斯 感谢 2022-2023 学年员工合同谈判小组。他感谢董事会批准他的雇佣合同至少到 2024 年。他注意到设施部门员工的退休和辞职。

 

教育委员会报告

琥珀希尔夫人 报道与南希·廷吉总统一起参加巴特勒中学社区委员会和市政厅。她提到了教师感恩周。

霍莉·尼鲍尔夫人 还注意到了教师感谢周,并报告了参加柳泉 SCC 会议的情况。

史蒂夫·里格利先生 对出席董事会会议的行政人员和工作人员表示感谢。

克莱伦·阿诺德夫人 感谢教师感恩周的教育工作者。她还注意到她完成了 LETRS 培训的某些部分。

蒙·米勒伯格先生 他说,由于一位家长的担忧,他决定阅读 CSD 教师-图书馆员正在审查的图书馆书籍之一。他说,要决定这些书是否应该向所有学生开放并不是一个容易的问题。

廷吉总统 对董事会的工作和承诺表示感谢。

分享这个帖子

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Board Summary, May 3, 2022

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items

Friday Early Out Schedule for all CSD Schools

The Board of Education voted to establish an “early out Friday” at every Canyons school so teachers can collaborate internally with teams and vertically with other schools. This will be put into place for the coming school year. In a presentation about such a schedule and the value of Professional Learning Communities, Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins said this common planning and collaborating schedule will provide time for teachers in all grade levels to effectively collaborate, give opportunities for vertical teaming where appropriate, and carve out a family-friendly time to avoid difficulties in scheduling. Robins said teams evaluating Canyons for accreditation noted that the District would benefit by a common time for planning, collaborating, and professional development for elementary, middle and high schools licensed professionals. Elementary, middle and high school principals spoke in favor of the common block of time for planning and collaborating.  Informational communications and alerts will be prepared for the community.

Board Approves Contract for Licensed Educators

A beginning teacher in Canyons will earn $54,665 under the contract for licensed personal approved by the Canyons Board of Education for the 2022-2023 school year. The vote was 6-1. Under the terms of the contract, which has been ratified by the Canyons Education Association, the District will fund a 4.25 percent cost-of-living adjustment based on Step No. 20 of the certified salary schedule. Business Administrator Leon Wilcox told the Board of Education that employees working on a 186-day contract will receive a total salary increase of $3,715 — $900 for the increment level, plus $2,725 cost-of-living adjustment and a $90 TSSA increase. The cost, including benefits, will be approximately $8,671,000, or a 5.64 percent increase. The District also agrees to cover the cost of education enhancements and increased stipends for coaching and supervision of activities and athletics. According to the contract, the District share for health insurance will increase by 2 percent or approximately $307,000. The employee share will increase by 1 percent, or approximately $42,000 for all certified employees. In August the committee will meet to review updated claims data and may need to make further adjustments to the premiums for the 2023 insurance plan year. Family-friendly benefits in the new contract include an option for six weeks of maternity leave for all benefit-eligible employees and an extended family leave that allows an employee to convert up to 30 days of accrued sick-leave days to take physical custody and care for a child under one year of age. A memorandum of understanding calls for committees to review and report back on issues related to orderly termination, salary schedules for specialty instructors, maximum prep periods in secondary schools, unlimited sick leave, class-size reductions, and special education issues.

Contract Approved for CSD Administrators for 2022-2023

A 4.25 percent cost-of-living increase, plus salary-schedule increment steps, will be provided to Canyons administrators in the 2022-2023 school year, according to an employment contract approved by the Board of Education. Additionally, a 1.25 percent one-time stipend will be given to the 58 administrators on the top step of her or his salary schedule lane. The District share for administrators’ health insurance will increase by 2 percent, or approximately $29,000. The employee share will increase by 1 percent, or approximately $4,000 for all certified employees. The total amount contributed to the insurance fund will be $33,000 of which 87.4 percent will be contributed by the District and 12.6 percent contributed by the employees. In August the committee will meet to review updated claims data and may need to make further adjustments to the premiums for the 2023 plan year. In this year’s negotiations, the District also agreed to continue to review the current full-time equivalent allocation process and identify modifications that could be made to address issues of equity. Also, the District agrees to bolster the training provided to new principals and assistants, and new “activity differentials” for administrators who must attend and supervise extracurricular events were negotiated.

Budget Update

Canyons Business Administrator Leon Wilcox provided the Board of Education with an update on the proposed 2022-2023 budget, which includes a legislatively approved 6 percent increase in the weighted pupil unit, which is the funding mechanism of Utah’s state government, and increases in Teacher and Student Success Act (TSSA) and Land Trust funding, and funding for students who face obstacles to learning. Canyons will continue through Fiscal Year 2024 to receive a share of Utah’s allotment of federally appropriated Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief funding, a good portion of which is being spent on new curriculum, a new assessment platform, and 23 teachers to help address learning gaps stemming from the pandemic. Canyons recently received unexpected news of a $2.2 million decrease in Title I funding , minus carryover funds,  due to a drop in Utah’s child poverty rate. Utah had the largest decline in poverty among school-aged children in the United States, 23 percent, second only to Pennsylvania, 13.8 percent, according to 2020 Census population data. The District Administration is reviewing options for managing that loss of funding. School rebuilds and other capital improvements are among some of the projected expenditures. By refunding bonds, the District is projected to save taxpayers an estimated $9.2 million in interest payments. In addition, on June 15, 2022, the debt that Canyons inherited from its predecessor Jordan School District will be paid off and no longer appear on property tax statements. Wilcox also noted that the USDA waiver for free school meals has expired. The plan, for now, is to charge previously approved prices for school breakfast and lunch.

Bell Schedule Survey, Study

The Board reviewed the results of a survey done April 21-29 of 11 communities that would be impacted by a proposal to standardize the start and dismissal times of all CSD middle schools. Parents and employees in those school communities were asked if they would like to keep their current bell schedule or would be willing to change bell-schedule times up to 30 minutes to accommodate a 7:50 a.m. or 8 a.m. start time at all middle schools. Currently, Draper Park and Mount Jordan middle schools begin at 7:30 a.m. — 20 minutes before any other CSD middle school. The changes to the bell schedules would be required because of bus-route logistics. According to the survey, the majority of parents in nine of 11 school communities strongly or somewhat prefer their schedule to remain the same. The majority of employees at ten of 11 schools strongly or somewhat prefer the schedules to remain the same. Some 43.40 percent of parents responded to the survey, and 52.7 percent of parents submitted responses. In addition to DPMS and MJMS, parents and employees in Diamond Ridge High, Alta View, Lone Peak, Sprucewood, Crescent, Draper, Oak Hollow, Willow Springs and Glacier Hills elementary schools were sent surveys. The Board also will continue to study whether a districtwide bell-schedule study should be done.

Midvale-area Boundaries

The Board of Education approved Option No. 3 of the Midvale-area boundary-change proposals. Board member Mont Millerberg moved to approve Option No. 3.  As a result, the area east of State Street will be moved from Copperview Elementary to Midvalley Elementary. The avenues will be moved from East Midvale Elementary to Midvale Elementary. The implementation will be for the 2023-2024 school year. Also instruct the administration to notify all school communities.

Policy Update

The Board of Education is considering changes to policies governing the approval process for research and surveys; student conduct and disciplinary process; instructional materials; and school library materials selection and review. The Board will continue to review the proposed updates.

Utah School Boards Association Update

Mont Millerberg said the Board of Education and Administration has completed the requisite work to obtain a 2022 Master Board Certification. He also updated the Board of Education on upcoming USBA events and activities.

School Highlights

Butler Middle Principal Paula Logan noted it’s been a decade since the opening of the Bruins’ new school, which was built with funds from a $250 million bond approved by voters in 2010. The 10-year-old building houses two Dual Language Immersion programs, 44 teachers, and 917 students who have earned 375,000 Butler Bruit “PBIS Points.” However, Logan said, the most important number for educators should be “one” — and how every student needs one-on-one support and encouragement to succeed. “It is about the one,” she said. “We became educators to help the one.” Logan also presented Board members with Butler Bruins pins.

Patron Comment

The following patrons addressed the Board during Patron Comment.  Recordings of their remarks can be accessed on BoardDocs.

  • Rep. Steve Eliason
  • Deron Roberts
  • Cami Kuchinjinskyr
  • Sione Ofa
  • Ilaisa Folau
  • Candace Duncan
  • Amy Fetter Johnson
  • Marianne Barrowes
  • Ruth Taylor
  • Sally Scott

Consent Agenda

The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including minutes for the Board of Education meeting on April 19, 2022; hire and termination reports; purchasing bids; student overnight travel requests; 2022-2023 LAND Trust and TSSA plans; and two-year contracts of employment for Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins and Business Administrator Leon Wilcox.

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins expressed appreciation to the Board for the robust discussion during Board meeting and invited the public to Thursday’s Superintendents Awards Night.

Wilcox thanked the negotiating teams on the contracts for employees for the 2022-2023 school year.  He thanked the Board for approving his employment contract until at least 2024. He noted the retirements and resignations of employees in Facilities Department.

 

Board of Education Reports

Mrs. Amber Shill reported on attending the Butler Middle School Community Council and the Town Hall with President Nancy Tingey. She noted Teacher Appreciation Week.

Mrs. Holly Neibaur also noted Teacher Appreciation Week and reported on attending the Willow Springs SCC meeting.

Mr.  Steve Wrigley expressed appreciation for Administration and staff who attended Board meeting.

Mrs. Clareen Arnold thanked educators for Teacher Appreciation Week.  She also noted her completion of some parts of LETRS training.

Mr. Mont Millerberg said he decided to read one of the library books that has been under review by CSD teacher-librarians as a result of a concern expressed by a parent. He said it’s not an easy question to decide whether the books should be available to all students.

President Tingey expressed appreciation to the Board for its work and commitment.

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org