资源

家庭联系

卷入

工具类

资源资源

领导

关于

卷入

数字安全和隐私:Canyons 通过新的家长门户网站致力于技术透明度

这是数字时代的育儿困境:我们如何鼓励我们的孩子利用技术提供的一切,同时保证他们在数字世界中的安全?我们如何为智能手机、社交媒体和互联网的健康使用建模?

在峡谷区,我们致力于帮助学生成为技术的聪明用户——我们将家长视为宝贵的合作伙伴,这就是我们推出 技术连接。一个新的家长门户网站, 技术连接 将家庭与他们可以用来激发有意义的安全和数字公民家庭对话的信息联系起来。

从 2024 年 2 月 12 日星期一开始,只要学生在学校管理的 Chromebook 上搜索可能与暴力或自残相关的术语,该自动化系统就会开始通知家长和监护人。此外,通过我们的门户网站,家长和监护人现在可以:

  • 修改学生 Chromebook 上的互联网过滤设置。
  • 查看学生每天登录 Chromebook 的时间。
  • 查看他们的学生是否在互联网上搜索过任何不适当的术语。
  • 请求学区考虑屏蔽某个网站或网址。

“知识就是力量,家长想知道孩子如何使用技术,无论是在学校还是在家里,这是可以理解的,”峡谷负责人 Rick Robins 博士说。 “Technology Connect 门户使我们能够与家长秘密共享这些信息,以便他们能够解决在鼓励家庭良好数字习惯时可能出现的任何问题。”

互联网安全是学区的首要任务,也是《儿童互联网保护法》(CIPA) 的要求。 Canyons 使用 ContentKeeper 软件来阻止学生在使用学区计算设备或学区网络时在线访问有害内容。 

出于对隐私的适当考虑,Canyons 员工不会持续监控学生的在线活动。当收到不当使用可能性的警报时,管理人员将与学生和家长合作,审查浏览历史记录,并根据学区的可接受的技术使用政策采取任何必要的纪律处分。

不过,通过 Technology-Connect 门户,家长可以主动检查学生是否在搜索不当内容或花费过多时间登录学区发放的 Chromebook。

“我们分享这些数据并不是为了惩罚,”信息技术总监 Scot McCombs 说。 “这样做的目的是安慰父母并保持透明,并让他们能够创造 家庭媒体计划 符合他们的需求和价值观。这实际上更像是一个对话的开始。”

例如,家长可以访问门户并输入 Chromebook 的序列号,发现他们的学生当天登录了 63 分钟。虽然登录时间不一定反映实际的屏幕时间(学生在不使用设备时通常会保持登录状态),但它确实为家长提供了使用情况的指标。

2023 年 10 月 1 日至 11 月 30 日期间,峡谷区的学生平均每天登录 Chromebook 的时间为 69 分钟。这包括周末。

家长还可以查看他们的学生是否一直在搜索不恰当(露骨或亵渎)的词语。

如果学生搜索可能表明存在自残或暴力风险的术语,Canyons 将主动通知家长。这些通知将包含有关自杀预防资源和支持的信息。

“由于计算机解释上下文的能力固有的局限性,对‘自杀’一词的网络搜索可能与一篇有关公共卫生趋势的研究论文有关。家长要牢记这一点,”教学支持总监 Amber Roderick-Landward 博士说。 “使这些数据透明可以让家长能够提出问题并与学生进行明智的讨论。在儿童安全确实受到威胁的情况下,它可以挽救生命。”

家长和监护人可以使用与访问 Skyward 相同的登录名和密码来访问技术门户。有关更多技术资源,包括检查学生设备上的浏览历史记录的说明,请参阅我们的“家庭联系“ 网页。

分享这个帖子

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

resources

Family Connections

Getting Involved

Tools

Resources

Leadership

About

Getting Involved

Digital Safety and Privacy: Canyons Commits to Technology Transparency with New Parent Portal

It’s the parenting dilemma of the digital age: How do we encourage our kids to take advantage of all that technology affords while keeping them safe in the digital world? How do we model the healthy use of smartphones, social media, and the Internet?

In Canyons District, we are committed to empowering students to be smart users of technology — and we view parents as valuable partners, which is why we are launching Technology Connect. A new parent portal, Technology Connect links families with information they can use to spark meaningful safety and digital citizenship conversations at home.

Starting Monday, Feb. 12, 2024, this automated system will begin notifying parents and guardians any time a student searches on a school-managed Chromebook for terms that could be related to violence or self-harm. In addition, through our portal, parents and guardians can now:

  • modify Internet filtering settings on their student’s Chromebook.
  • see how much time their student spends logged in to their Chromebook each day.
  • see if their student has searched the Internet for any inappropriate terms.
  • request that the District consider blocking a certain website, or url.

“Knowledge is power, and parents understandably want to know how their children are using technology, whether at school or at home,” said Canyons Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins. “The Technology Connect portal allows us to confidentially share this information with parents so they can address any issues that may arise as they encourage good digital habits at home.”

Internet safety is a priority for the District, and a requirement of the Children’s Internet Protection Act (CIPA). Canyons uses the software ContentKeeper to block students from accessing harmful content online when they are using a District computing device or the District’s network. 

With due consideration to privacy, Canyons employees do not constantly monitor students’ online activities. When alerted to the possibility of inappropriate use, administrators will work with students and parents to review browsing histories and take any needed disciplinary action in accordance with the District’s Acceptable Use of Technology policy.

Through the Technology-Connect portal, however, parents can proactively check to see if their student is searching for inappropriate content or spending too much time logged in to their District-issued Chromebooks.

“We aren’t sharing this data to be punitive,” said Information Technology Director Scot McCombs. “The point of this is to comfort and be transparent with parents and equip them to create family media plans aligned to their needs and values. It’s really more of a conversation starter.”

For example, a parent could visit the portal and enter a Chromebook’s serial number to discover their student was logged in that day for 63 minutes. While login time doesn’t necessarily reflect actual screen time — students often stay logged in when they aren’t using the device — it does give parents an indicator of usage.

Canyons District students from Oct. 1 to Nov. 30, 2023, averaged 69 minutes a day logged in to their Chromebooks. That includes on weekends.

Parents can also see if their student has been searching for inappropriate (explicit or profane) words.

If a student searches for terms that could indicate a risk for self-harm or violence, Canyons will proactively notify parents. These notifications will contain information about suicide-prevention resources and supports.

“Due to the inherent limitations of a computer’s ability to interpret context, it’s possible a web search for the term ‘suicide’ could be related to a research paper about public health trends. That’s important for parents to keep in mind,” said Instructional Supports Director Dr. Amber Roderick-Landward. “Making this data transparent equips parents to ask questions and have informed discussions with their students. In those instances where a child’s safety is truly at risk, it could save lives.”

Parents and guardians can access the technology portal using the same login name and password they use to access Skyward. For more technology resources, including instructions for checking a student’s browsing history on their device, see our “Family Connections” webpage.

Share This Post

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org