行动中的艺术教育:CSD 游行乐队将音乐和运动完美结合

“艺术从灵魂中洗去日常生活的灰尘。”

巴勃罗毕加索

这是国家教育艺术周,很少有人比该地区的游行乐队导演更感激峡谷对艺术在教育中的重要性。

布莱顿高中的年度卫冕教师兼乐队总监米卡拉·莫滕森 (Mikala Mortensen) 表示,CSD 对她的计划给予了支持,因为她去年在卡顿伍德高地 (Cottonwood Heights) 地区的高中重振了军乐队,这让音乐教师同事“转过头来”来自其他区。

“它(支持艺术)是 Canyons 做得很好的一件事,”Mortensen 说,她举了两个专门的助手来帮助她刚刚起步且蓬勃发展的军乐队以及满足其他需求的资金援助的例子。

参加学区周围学校赞助的乐队、管弦乐队、打击乐、爵士乐队、合奏团、剧团、舞蹈团、合唱团、文学、绘画、绘画和其他艺术形式的学生是想象力、感官的创造性表达的受益者启蒙,唤起惊奇的感觉,以及伴随艺术家及其手工艺的教育和娱乐——不要忘记偶尔的锻炼。

简单地说,艺术让生活更美好。

正如巴勃罗·毕加索 (Pablo Picasso) 的名言,“艺术洗去灵魂中日常生活的灰尘。”

Mortensen 坚信布莱顿的学生——即使是那些没有参加音乐课程的学生——会从她最喜欢的艺术形式之一中受益,以至于在 COVID-19 大流行期间,她几乎难以置信地从头开始创建了一支军乐队。

“我认为游行乐队是一个很酷的元素,可以添加到学校的文化中,”莫滕森解释说。 “对于学生、教职员工和家长来说,这是一项巨大的后勤工作,但它对社区和乐队计划的作用——它将他们聚集在一起。”

Mortensen 是一位多才多艺的大号演奏家和长笛手,其游行乐队的根源可以追溯到她在西湖高中和犹他大学的学生时代,她相信讲故事可以带来能量、力量、桥梁建设、教育和大脑建设方面的好处,那些穿着所谓的“超级套装”(又名军乐队制服)表演的人所创作的动作和音乐。这就是为什么她如此热衷于让她的学生学习这种特殊的艺术并在体育赛事、当地游行和比赛中表演。

研究表明,演奏乐器的行为涉及大脑的所有区域,包括视觉、听觉和运动皮质。

提供有关庆祝日子、星期和月份的见解的国庆日历网站表明,研究表明艺术教育,包括舞蹈、音乐、戏剧、媒体艺术、文学、设计和视觉艺术,“可以改变拥有大量学生的学校贫困人口转变为充满活力的学习中心。”

“我一直告诉我的学生们——在高中时在乐队和管弦乐队演奏并不是教你成为最好的音乐家,而是学习生活技能、社交技能和时间管理技能。这些非常重要的事情是青少年需要知道的,”Alta High 乐队总监 Caleb Shabestari 说。 “大多数人在高中毕业后不会继续演奏乐器,但我认为他们会掌握这些技能,这将使他们成为更好的人和更好的社会成员。”

在 CSD,艺术教育周将在周五晚上的足球比赛和周六在 Herriman 高中举行的本赛季第一场比赛中进行表演。 CSD 有三个游行乐队,但本学年只有 Brighton 和 Alta 参加比赛。 Hillcrest 正处于试点阶段,Huskies 目前只会在学校和社区活动中表演。

Shabestari 很高兴欢迎校友乐队成员——从 2020 届到 1978 年——参加 Homecoming 比赛。他们将在球场上和看台上演奏国歌和各种歌曲。 Shabestari 对他的乐队成员演奏他更新版本的校歌感到特别兴奋。就像 2017 年 $2.83 亿选民批准的债券使 Alta High 翻新的学校成为可能一样,老鹰队的战斗歌曲在四年后由才华横溢的音乐家进行了更新和重新编排,使其更容易演奏和演唱。

在希尔克雷斯特,哈士奇队自 80 年代末以来第一次享受在他们的足球场上有一支军乐队。乐队总监 Austin Hilla 正在教他的学生基本知识和来自像 Bruno Mars 等流行艺术家的有趣歌曲,并计划在未来一两年内参加比赛。

当然,希拉坚信艺术的好处。游行乐队对学生有益,因为他们必须学习音乐和动作,才能让他们的整个身体、大脑和灵魂都参与到表演中。

“学习正在失败和适应。这是一个很大的过程,”希拉说。 “这是正常的课堂体验,但结果却是 11 点。”

希拉指出,参与任何类型的艺术——从乐队到写诗——都会让孩子们在精英大学中更具竞争力。这让他们更多地参与到高中生活中。这就是为什么他很高兴 Hillcrest 政府和峡谷教育委员会对艺术表现出信任和支持。

“它教会他们在上学期间投资于自己。艺术真的可以成为让孩子们投资学校文化的灵丹妙药,”希拉说。 “有时艺术是一项巨大的投资,但艺术投资的回报通常是巨大的。”

 

 

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到linkedin
分享到twitter
分享到email

Arts Education in Action: CSD Marching Bands a Magical Mix of Music, Movement

“Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”

Pablo Picasso

It’s National Arts in Education Week, and few are more grateful that Canyons appreciates the importance of arts in education than the District’s marching band directors.

Mikala Mortensen, Brighton High’s reigning Teacher of the Year and Director of Bands, said the support CSD has given her program as she’s revived the marching band at the Cottonwood Heights-area high school in the past year has “turned heads” of music instructor colleagues from other Districts.

“It (supporting arts) is a thing Canyons does well,” said Mortensen, giving the example of having two dedicated assistants to help her fledgling and flourishing marching band along with funding assistance for other needs.

Students who participate in school-sponsored band, orchestra, percussion lines, jazz band, ensemble groups, theater troupes, dance companies, choirs, literature, drawing, painting and other forms of art around the District are beneficiaries of creative expressions of imagination, sensory enlightenment, invoked feelings of wonderment, and the education and entertainment — not to forget occasional exercise — that accompany artists and their crafts.

Simply put, arts make life better.

As Pablo Picasso famously said, “Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”

Mortensen was so convinced Brighton’s students — even the ones not in the musical program — would benefit from one of her favorite forms of art that she almost-unbelievably created a marching band from scratch during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I think marching bands are such a cool element to add to a school’s culture,” Mortensen explained. “It’s a huge logistical undertaking for students, staff and parents, but what it does for the community and the band program — it brings them all together.”

Mortensen, an accomplished tuba player and flutist whose marching band roots date back to her school days at Westlake High and the University of Utah, believes there is energy, power, bridge-building, educational and brain-building benefits that derive from the storytelling, movement and music that is produced by those who perform in so-called “super suits” (a.k.a. marching band uniforms). That’s why she was so passionate about getting her students to learn this particular art and perform at athletic events, for local parades and in competitions.

Studies show that the act of playing musical instruments engages all areas of the brain, including the visual, auditory, and motor cortices.

The National Day Calendar website, which offers insight into celebrated days, weeks and months, suggests that studies reveal art education, including dance, music, theater, media arts, literature, design and visual arts, “can transform schools with large populations of students in poverty into vibrant learning hubs.”

“I tell my students this all the time — playing in band and orchestra in high school is not about teaching you to be the best musician, it’s really about learning life skills, social skills, time management skills. These really important things that teenagers need to know,” Alta High band director Caleb Shabestari said. “Most won’t continue to play their instruments after high school, but I think they’ll take those skills, and it will make them better people and better members of society.”

Here in CSD, Arts in Education Week will be capped with performances at Friday night football games and the during the first competition of the season at Herriman High School on Saturday. CSD has three marching bands, but only Brighton and Alta are competing this school year. Hillcrest is in its pilot year, and the Huskies will only perform for school and community events for now.

Shabestari is excited to welcome alumni band members — from the Class of 2020 back to 1978 — to play at the Homecoming game. They’ll play the national anthem and a variety of songs on the field and in the stands. Shabestari is particularly excited to have his band members play his updated version of the school song. Like Alta High’s renovated school, made possible by a $283 million voter-approved bond in 2017, the Hawks’ fight song has been freshened up and rearranged by the talented musician after four decades to make it easier to play and sing.

At Hillcrest, the Huskies are enjoying having a marching band on their football field for the first time since the late ‘80s. Band director Austin Hilla is teaching his students fundamentals and fun songs from popular artists like Bruno Mars with plans of entering competitions in the next year or two.

Hilla is a big believer in the benefits of arts, of course. Marching band is beneficial to students because they must learn music and moves to get their entire body, brain and soul involved in performances.

“Learning is failing and adapting. It’s a big process,” Hilla said. “This is a normal classroom experience but turned up to 11.”

Being involved in any type of art — from band to writing poetry — makes kids more competitive in elite colleges, Hilla noted. And it makes them more involved in high school. That’s why he’s pleased that Hillcrest’s administration and the Canyons Board of Education have shown trust and support in the arts.

“It teaches them to invest in themselves in the school day. Arts can really be the silver bullet in getting kids to invest in school culture,” Hilla said. “Sometimes the arts can be a big investment, but the return on the art investment is usually huge.”

 

 

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email