宣布 2021 年 Apex 奖得主,由峡谷学区授予荣誉

12 名教育工作者、行政人员、社区支持者、领导者和公共教育倡导者在 COVID-19 大流行期间及以后帮助峡谷学区顺利运行和驾驶,并获得了享有盛誉的奖项 2021 年峡谷顶点奖 2021 年 9 月 28 日,星期二。

第 12 届年度 Apex 奖的获奖者是峡谷区授予的最高荣誉,由教育委员会成员和学监在同行和公众参与提名过程后选出。

峡谷队 2021 年 Apex 奖得主是:

  • 年度老师— 阿尔塔高中 崔西 雷蒙德,他为这么多学生带来了舞蹈艺术。
  • 年度学校管理员 — 布莱顿高中校长 汤姆·舍伍德,他在大流行中监督了一个学年,而一所学校正在他周围建造。
  • 年度地区管理员- 人力资源总监 史蒂夫 戴蒙德,他以手术精度带头领导了该地区的 COVID-19 疫苗接种诊所。
  • 年度教育支持专业人员— 交通部 洛林 英里杰夫 瑞克 霍加德,谁是峡谷区驱动力背后的驱动力。
  • 年度学生支持服务专业人员— 钻石岭高中校长 艾米 博特格,即使是最难接触的学生,他们的坚韧的爱也能激励他们。
  • 年度义工— Alta View 小学志愿者  艾琳·考,她没有遇到一个任务,她在帮助年轻学生时不会面带微笑。
  • 当选年度最佳官员—  安德鲁·斯托达德, R-Sandy,在国会山以正直和忠诚代表 CSD。
  • 年度最佳商业伙伴 — 舍尔斯,一家体育用品商店,从慷慨的捐赠和志愿服务时间来看,它更像是一个朋友。
  • 传统奖— 前助理警司  凯瑟琳·麦卡里 和有史以来第一位学生倡导和访问主任 凯伦 英镑,峡谷区的两位创始行政人员,他们是一项学术计划的首席设计师,该计划已引导成千上万的学生通过教育实现他们的梦想。

“阿尔伯特·爱因斯坦曾经说过,你的生活只有两种方式:‘一种好像没有什么是奇迹。另一种是好像一切都是奇迹,'”CSD 教育委员会主席 Nancy Tingey 说。 “我的朋友们,你们都是奇迹,因为认识你们,你们都是激励我们、鼓舞我们、让我们变得更好的奇迹。感谢你们每天为我们的学生所做的一切。”

由于教育委员会的远见和社区的支持,Canyons 在过去 12 年开设的 17 所新学校之一,在 Midvalley 小学举行了仪式和仅限邀请的宴会,以纪念 Apex 奖获得者通过 2010 年和 17 年的两个选民批准的学校改善债券。

除了应得的认可外,Apex 奖的获奖者还将获得雕刻水晶奖、一张 8 × 10 裱框的海报副本,以纪念他们在教育委员会的房间里展示,以及一盘 Betty Shaw 的著名软糖。

“与我们学区的优秀人士互动的机会是在教育委员会任职的最佳部分之一,”Tingey 说。 “我们并不讳言,我们相信最好的教育工作者、支持人员和社区支持者都在这个学区。为了证明这一点,我只看今晚获得荣誉的人们。我很自豪能与我们的 Apex 奖的获奖者在同一个团队中。”

朋友、家人、地区官员、市长、州议员和其他政要参加了社区的这个当之无愧的 crème de la crème 群体的庆祝活动,这是有史以来第一次在小学举行,也是第一次亲自参加自 2019 年以来的 Apex 活动。 受邀参加今年节日的 2020 年 Apex 获奖者因大流行而在去年的虚拟颁奖典礼上获得认可。

自 2020 年 7 月上任以来,学监瑞克·罗宾斯 (Rick Robins) 博士首次亲自出席了 Apex 颁奖典礼,他还宣布了新的学监特别表彰奖的首批获奖者:教育委员会主席 Nancy Tingey、Brandon Webb 博士和 Tonya Rhodes .

此次活动的司仪 Tingey 惊讶地发现,她坚定的领导和无私奉献,同时无畏地引导学区度过了大流行,确保学生继续在健康的环境中学习,并朝着成为大学——并毕业——的方向前进。和职业准备。

Webb 博士是峡谷区的一名家长,在 Intermountain Healthcare 的传染病和临床流行病学部门工作,他花了无数个小时就如何应对公共卫生危机向学区提供建议。在最近卸任之前,Rhodes 作为 Region 17 PTA 主任投入了无数时间来支持峡谷儿童和家庭的福祉和成功。

“可以毫不夸张地说,自 2020 年 3 月以来我们学校的工作量很大,”罗宾斯博士说。 “坦率地说,它一直令人沮丧。日子很长。问题很复杂。情绪高涨。但是艰难时期造就了坚强的人,我们的社区发现,当我们站在一起时,我们是最坚强的——也是最坚强的。”

闪烁的蜡烛被放置在 Midvalley 体育馆以秋季为中心的装饰品中,以纪念自杀意识月以及学区正在努力帮助那些在困难情绪中挣扎的学生。

“对我们来说,这盏灯代表了我们在学生眼中看到的精神,”廷吉说。 “我们非常关心学校孩子的社交和情感健康,我们将继续努力确保孩子眼中的光芒继续闪耀。”

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到linkedin
分享到twitter
分享到email

2021 Apex Award winners announced, honored by Canyons School District

Twelve educators, administrators, community supporters, leaders, and public education advocates who helped Canyons School District run — and drive — smoothly during the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond received the prestigious 2021 Canyons Apex Awards on Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2021.

Winners of the 12th annual Apex Awards, the highest honors given by the Canyons District, were selected by Board of Education members and the Superintendent after peers and the public participated in a nomination process.

The Canyons’ 2021 Apex Award winners are:

  • Teacher of the Year— Alta High’s Traci Raymond, who has brought the art of dance to life for so many students.
  • School Administrator of the Year — Brighton High Principal Tom Sherwood, who oversaw a school year in a pandemic while a school was being built around him.
  • District Administrator of the Year— Human Resources Director Steve Dimond, who spearheaded the District’s COVID-19 vaccination clinics with surgical precision.
  • Education Support Professionals of the Year— Transportation Department’s Lorraine MilesJeff Wren, and Rick Hoggard, who are the driving force behind Canyons District’s driving force.
  • Student Support Services Professional of the Year— Diamond Ridge High Principal Amy Boettger, whose tough love inspires even the toughest-to-reach students.
  • Volunteer of the Year— Alta View Elementary volunteer  Allyn Kau, who hasn’t met a task that she won’t meet with a smile while helping young students.
  • Elected Official of the Year—  Andrew Stoddard, R-Sandy, who represents CSD with integrity and fidelity on Capitol Hill.
  • Business Partner of the Year — SCHEELS, a sporting goods store that seems more like a friend from its generous donations and volunteer hours.
  • Legacy Award— Former Assistant Superintendent  Kathryn McCarrie and first-ever Student Advocacy and Access Director Karen Sterling, two founding administrators of Canyons District who were among the chief architects of an academic plan that has led thousands of students to reach for their dreams through education.

“Albert Einstein once said that there are only two ways to live your life: ‘One as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle,’” CSD Board of Education President Nancy Tingey said. “My friends, all of you are the miracles that inspire us, lift us up, and make us better just for having known you. Thank you for all you do, every day, for our students.”

A ceremony and by-invitation-only banquet were held in honor of the Apex Award winners Tuesday night at Midvalley Elementary, one of the 17 new schools Canyons has opened in the past 12 years thanks to the Board of Education’s vision and support of the community through two voter-approved school-improvement bonds in 2010 and ‘17.

Along with deserved recognition, Apex Awards recipients receive engraved crystal awards, an 8×10 framed copy of the posters created to be displayed in the Board of Education room in their honor, and a plate of Betty Shaw’s famous fudge.

“The chance to interact with the fine people of our District is one of the best parts of serving on the Board of Education,” Tingey said. “We don’t make it a secret that we believe the very best educators, support staff, and community supporters are found in this District.  For proof of this, I look no further than the people being honored tonight. I’m proud to be on the same team as the winners of our Apex Awards.”

This celebration for this deserving group of the community’s crème de la crème, which was attended by friends, family, District officials, mayors, state legislators, and other dignitaries, marked the first-ever at an elementary school and was the first in-person Apex event since 2019. The 2020 Apex winners, who were invited to attend this year’s fête, were recognized in a virtual ceremony broadcast last year because of the pandemic.

Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins, attending his first in-person Apex Awards ceremony since starting his role in July 2020, also announced the first recipients of the new Superintendent Special Recognition Award: Board of Education President Nancy Tingey, Dr. Brandon Webb and Tonya Rhodes.

Tingey, the event’s master of ceremonies, was surprised with a special recognition for her steadfast leadership and selfless devotion while fearlessly guiding the District through the pandemic, ensuring that students continued to learn in a healthy environment and progress toward being — and graduate — college- and career-ready.

Dr. Webb, a Canyons District parent who works with Intermountain Healthcare’s Division of Infectious Disease and Clinical Epidemiology, has spent countless hours advising the District on how to proceed in a public-health crisis. Rhodes devoted an innumerable amount of time supporting the well-being and success of the children and families in Canyons as the Region 17 PTA Director before recently stepping down.

“It’s not an understatement to say that the work in our schools since March of 2020 has been a heavy lift,” Dr. Robins said. “Frankly, it’s been back-breaking. The days were long. The issues were complex. Emotions ran high. But tough times make for tough people, and our community has found that we are the toughest — and the strongest — when we stand together.”

Flickering candles were placed among fall-centric decorations in the Midvalley gymnasium to recognize Suicide Awareness Month and efforts the District is making to reach out to students who are struggling with difficult emotions.

“To us, this light represents the spirit we see in the eyes of our students,” Tingey said. “We care so much about the social and emotional wellness of the children in our schools, and we will continue working hard to make sure the light in our children’s eyes continue to shine bright.”

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org