South Park Academy

About South Park Academy

South Park Academy is an AdvancedED accredited high school that has been providing education to the incarcerated adults at the Utah State Prison since 1955. Currently South Park Academy employs 31 dedicated teachers and staff that provides education in all seven lockdown facilities on the Draper site. With 1100 plus students enrolled each year, South Park helps over 300 inmates obtain their diplomas annually.

Funding for South Park comes from three sources. The Utah State Legislature funds corrections education at the Utah State Prison, Utah Central Academy in Gunnison and the county jails that house state inmates. The Utah State Office of education provides funds to corrections through state and federal grants under the Workforce Innovation and Occupations Act (WIOA). Additional funding comes from a variety of state and federal grants.

Principal: Todd Bird
Assistant Principal: Tracy Moore
Secretary: Paula Ivie

Mission Statement

The mission of South Park Academy is to reduce recidivism rates among our prison population through adult and transitional education.

Transcript Request

To obtain transcripts from South Park Academy, former students will need to mail or fax a request containing the following:

  • Student’s Name
  • Student’s Date of Birth
  • Student’s Social Security Number
  • Address or Fax Number to send transcript
  • Student’s Signature

A note or letter containing the above requirements will be sufficient. There is no required fee.

Our transcript request fax number is 801-576-7963 and our mailing address is:

South Park Academy
P.O. Box 250
Draper, Utah  84020

Questions regarding transcripts may be answered by calling 801-576-7982 or 801-576-7984.

All other questions, including those regarding the whereabouts of unsent diplomas may be answered by calling 801-576-7982.

Enrollment Data

Lone Peak0,058
Total High School Students:1,492

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here