我们正在招聘!

资源

家庭联系

卷入

工具类

资源资源

领导

关于

卷入

乔丹高山自行车手追逐梦想

贾斯汀·艾伦一直喜欢运动,尤其是山地自行车这种艰苦的运动。

这位乔丹高中高年级学生自豪地代表 Beetdiggers 参加了今年的州山地自行车锦标赛,并且经常跻身犹他州大学自行车运动员前十名之列。

但如果你让艾伦的同龄人和老师描述他,他们会告诉你他的性格。 “即使他精疲力尽地冲过终点线,他的脸上总是挂着微笑,”乔丹的山地自行车顾问鲍勃·斯皮尔斯 (Bob Spears) 说道。 “他是一个勤奋的人,知道自己需要做什么并完成它。人们对此很感兴趣。他们被他的谦逊和善良所吸引。”

艾伦在大一和大二时还打网球和跑步,他说山地自行车尤其让他思考运动营养,并通过灵活性、敏捷性和力量训练来优化运动表现。

作为犹他大学医学预科和运动学预科学生,他希望能够追求这一兴趣。 “我只是对运动科学非常感兴趣,”他说。

艾伦不会告诉你的是,他是乔丹高中的告别演说者。他承担着繁重的学业负担,通过先修课程获得了几个小时的早期大学学分,同时保持着 4.0 的 GPA。他还在 ACT 大学入学考试中获得了 35 分,距离满分仅差一分。

“老实说,如果你去上课并做作业,高中并不难,”他说。

与山地自行车一样,学术表现也需要练习。对于艾伦来说,充分利用课堂时间和为队友表现一样重要。他说,你只有一次高中经历,所以为什么不充分利用它呢?

回顾过去,他说他最感谢那些鼓励他走出舒适区的老师和辅导员。

“我想说,斯通女士教授的 AP 语言课程对我来说至关重要。上课第一天她就让我们写论文,这不太好,”艾伦说。 “但这就是我开始成为一名优秀作家的地方。”

 

分享这个帖子

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

resources

Family Connections

Getting Involved

Tools

Resources

Leadership

About

Getting Involved

Jordan High Mountain Biker in Hot Pursuit of His Dreams

Justin Allen has always liked sports, especially the grueling sport of mountain biking.

The Jordan High senior proudly represented the Beetdiggers at the state mountain biking championships this year and routinely finishes among the top 10 varsity cyclists in Utah.

But if you ask Allen’s peers and teachers to describe him, they’ll tell you about his character. “He just always has a smile on his face, even when he’s crossing the finish line exhausted,” said Jordan’s mountain biking advisor Bob Spears. “He’s a hard worker who knows what he needs to do and gets it done. People are drawn to that. They’re drawn to his humility and kindness.”

Allen, who also played tennis and ran track his freshman and sophomore years, said mountain biking, in particular, got him thinking about sports nutrition and optimizing athletic performance through flexibility, agility and strength training.

It’s an interest he hopes to pursue as a pre-med and kinesiology student at the University of Utah. “I’m just really interested in the science of exercise,” he said.

What Allen won’t tell you is that he’s Jordan High’s valedictorian. He managed a heavy academic load, earning several hours of early college credit through Advanced Placement classes while maintaining a 4.0 GPA. He also earned a 35 on the ACT college-entrance exam, just one point shy of a perfect score.

“Honestly, high school isn’t that hard if you go to class and do your work,” he said.

Like with mountain biking, performing academically takes practice. For Allen, showing up and making the most of his time in class was as important as showing up for his teammates. You’ve only got one high school experience, he said, so why not make the most of it?

Looking back, he said he is most thankful for the teachers and counselors who encouraged him to stretch past his comfort zones.

“I’d say my AP Language class taught by Mrs. Stone was pivotal for me. She had us writing essays the first day of class, which wasn’t great,” Allen said. “But that’s where I started to become a good writer.”

 

Share This Post

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org