Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Employees, Volunteer, Teachers of the Year Announced

  • Post category:General News
  • Post last modified:April 23, 2010

The Canyons Board of Education has announced Canyons School District’s premier employees of the year, a Volunteer of the Year, and the Canyons Teacher of the Year.

The honorees are:

  • Teacher of the Year:  Mark Petersen,  Jordan High Science Department Chairman
  • School Administrator of the Year:  Laura Finlinson, Principal, Butler Elementary  (formerly Peruvian Park Elementary)
  • Education Support Professional of the Year:  Gina Bench, Human Resources Lead Contract Secretary
  • District Administrator of the Year:  Scot McCombs, Information Technology Director
  • Volunteer of the Year:  Shannon Reynolds, Region 17 PTA President

For the first time, the Board recognized one Teacher of the Year in every Canyons District school — a talented group of professionals from which the District Teacher of the Year was selected. The District Teacher of the Year will be nominated for State Teacher of the Year honors.

“These professionals are among the finest public education has to offer,” Canyons Board of Education President Tracy Scott Cowdell said. “We hope to continue this tradition of honoring employees, volunteers, and school teachers of the year well into the future as we celebrate the highest standards of educational excellence in Canyons School District.”

Districtwide Honorees

MARK-PETERSEN Laura-Finlinson2 Scot-McCombs GINA-BENCH Shannon-Reynolds
Mark Petersen
Teacher of the Year
Jordan High
Laura Finlinson
Administrator of the Year
Butler Elementary
Scot McCombs
District Office Administrator
Information Technology
Gina Bench
Educational Support Professional of the Year
Human Resources
Shannon Reynolds
Volunteer of the Year
Region 17 PTA President

School Teachers of the Year

Amy-Buckley pat_denning Mary-Lou-Damjanovich Aletha-Gregory
Amy Buckley
Alta View
Pat Denning
Madaline Chilcutt
Bell View
Mary Lou Damjanovich
Bella Vista
Athena Gregory

MrsFrench Sherri-Freestone Arlene-Baumgardner Bonnie-DIXON Mrs.-Jennifer-Asay
Patricia Stephens- French
Sherri Freestone
Canyon View
Arlene Baumgardner
Bonnie Dixon
Jennifer Asay

Barbara-Felling Lydia-LaPutka Sarah-Jenkins Robyn-Christopherson
Barbara Felling
East Midvale
Wendy Casperson
East Sandy
Lydia LaPutka
Sarah Jenkins
Robyn Christopherson
Lone Peak

Adella-Huntsman Dave-Bettinson Tamsin-Ruffin Kim-Morten Ellen-Stone
Adela Huntsman
David Bettison
Tamsin Ruffin
Oak Hollow
Kim Moreton
Ellen Stone
Park Lane

Jennifer-Ludlow Victoria-Crocker Pam-Bunderson BETHANY-SMITH
Jennifer Ludlow
Peruvian Park
Victoria Crocker
Quail Hollow
Pamela Bunderson
Bethany Smith
Elizabeth Ferguson
Silver Mesa

Peggy-Hunt Mary-Jo-Murray Mark-Besendorfer
Peggy Hunt
Robyn Stockett
Mary Jo Murray
Willow Canyon
Mark Besendorfer
Willow Springs
Denise Sidesinger
Albion Middle

Judi-R-Rowe Jesse-Hennifer Michelle-Hall Courtney-Hansen
Judi Rowe
Butler Middle
Jesse Hennefer
Crescent View Middle
Michelle Hall
Eastmont Middle
Trina McGowan
Indian Hills Middle
Courtney Hansen
Midvale Middle

Suzette-Holyoakmage arna-clark
Suzette Holyoak
Mount Jordan Middle
Steven Phelps
Union Middle
Arna Clark
Alta High
Aaron Hadfield
Brighton High
John Olsen
Hillcrest High



Mark Petersen
Jordan High
Sherelynn Gray
South Park Academy
Kacey Thorne
Anthony Johnson
Jordan Valley


The employees, teacher, and volunteer of the year received prizes donated by Canyons School District business partners. Prizes include: an engraved award; dinner for two at La Caille; two tickets to the May 1 Canyons District Night at Real Salt Lake; free visits to the Firehouse car wash; and a cake from Nothing Bundt Cakes. Each school’s teacher of the year received two tickets to the May 1 Real Salt Lake game and a certificate for dinner at La Caille. All award recipients will be honored at a special halftime presentation at the May 1 Real Salt Lake game.  Click here for Canyons District Night discount tickets and additional information.

Click here to read a feature story in the Sandy Journal.