Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Canyons District Honors Winners of 2015 Apex Awards

  • Post category:General News
  • Post last modified:September 23, 2015

A bright-as-sunshine secretary, Hillcrest’s just-retired principal and high school counselors who epitomize what it means to be “Husky Strong,” and a charismatic mayor who inspired residents to support the creation of a new and nimble school district were among the honorees at the 2015 Canyons Apex Awards.

The Canyons Board of Education presented awards in nine categories at the event, which is held each year to celebrate the excellence and dedication of CSD educators, employees and community partners. The by-invitation-only banquet and ceremony was Tuesday, Sept. 22, 2015 at The Gathering Place at Gardner Village. 

“We host this event every year to pay tribute to those in our community who have stood shoulder-to-shoulder with us as we have worked to provide a world-class education to our children,” said Sherril H. Taylor, President of the Board of Education.  “We have reached out to many people in this endeavor, and we have not been disappointed in their willingness to respond, roll up their sleeves, and go to work.”

Apex Award winners are selected by the seven members of the Board of Education and Canyons Superintendent Jim Briscoe after a months-long public-nomination process.  Nominations for Apex Awards can be submitted for all categories except the Apex Award for Teacher of the Year. The District’s Teacher of the Year is selected in the spring and was CSD’s nominee in the state Teacher of the Year competition. This year’s winner is Matt Leininger, a physics teacher at Alta High.

Other winners in the sixth-annual awards are: 

District Administrator of the Year

Jeff Murry, Director, Technology Development

School Administrator of the Year

Sue Malone, Principal, Hillcrest High

Education Support Professional of the Year

Marilyn Gulbransen, Front Office staff, Sunrise Elementary

Student Support Services Professional of the Year

Hillcrest High Counseling Center

Volunteer of the Year

Betty Shaw, Director, Region 17 PTA

Elected Official of the Year

Sen. Wayne Niederhauser, R-Sandy

Business Partner of the Year

Jordan Credit Union 

Legacy Award

Sandy Mayor Tom Dolan

The Legacy Award is the top honor given by the Board and Administration. It is reserved for those whose personal and professional actions serve to inspire the Canyons community. The individual chosen for this award is known for a pioneering spirit, dedication to excellence, and lengthy commitment to civil public engagement. Previous winners include former Jordan District Superintendent Barry Newbold, former Canyons Superintendents David Doty and Ginger Rhode, and CSD’s homeless-student liaison Connie Crosby.

See our Facebook page for a photo album of the event.