New Canyons Board Sworn In

The seven-member Canyons Board of Education began anew Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2011, with one newly elected member and three re-elected members taking the oath of office.

Steve Wrigley is the new representative of District 5, which includes Sandy and the White City area. Elected to the seat in November 2010, Wrigley replaces Ellen Wallace, a four-term member of the Jordan Board of Education and inaugural member of the Canyons Board of Education.

Re-elected members Tracy Scott Cowdell, Sherril Taylor and Kim Horiuchi also were sworn in by Salt Lake County Clerk Sherrie Swensen. Cowdell represents District 4 in Sandy; Taylor represents District 6 in Sandy and Draper; and Horiuchi represents District 2 in Cottonwood Heights.

Board members also re-elected Cowdell to serve as Board President and Taylor to serve as Vice President.

Members Mont Millerberg of District 1 in Midvale, Kevin Cromar of District 3 in Cottonwood Heights, and Paul McCarty of District 7 in Draper have two years remaining in their four-year terms.

{yoogallery src=[/images/stories/board_members/Oath_2011/] width=[250″ >Click here to view photos height=[200″ >Click here to view photos prefix=[thumb100_] style=[lightbox] }

Board members also re-elected Mr. Cowdell to serve as Board President and Sherril Taylor to serve as Vice President.

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email