• 学校

董事会摘要,2022 年 5 月 17 日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过点击相应的议程项目

CAESP 的雇佣合同

教育委员会批准了 2022-2023 学年 CSD 教育支持专业人员的雇佣合同。合同中所代表的薪酬增加总额(不包括保险)是 2021-2022 年基本工资的 8.48%。根据合同,学区将全额资助符合条件的员工的加薪步骤,将 4.25% 的生活费用增加到 ESP 工资表的基础,并为所有第 1 步合同员工一次性支付 $500 津贴。 2021-2022合同年工资表的10。此外,业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 告诉董事会成员,CSD 将在 2021-2022 合同年期间为第 10 步的小时工提供 $150 津贴。截至 10 月 1 日,合同员工的 $500 津贴将根据他们在 Skyward 中的 FTE 状态按比例分配。无论 FTE 状态如何,每小时员工都将获得 $150。津贴将在 2022 年 11 月 30 日的支付日支付。员工必须在 2022 年 10 月 1 日之前受雇才能获得津贴。还对起薪车道和步骤进行了调整,以将起薪小时工资提高到每小时 $14.06。根据合同,ESP 员工的健康保险费用的区份额将增加 2%,或约 $141,000。员工份额将增加 1%,即所有 ESP 员工的约 $16,000。 8 月,委员会将开会审查更新的索赔数据,并可能需要对 2023 计划年度的保费进行进一步调整。该合同还涉及工作日日历、政策以及长期员工休假天数的增加。可以在 BoardDocs 上找到合同的其他详细信息。

政策更新

教育委员会批准了“学生行为和纪律程序”政策,该政策管理学生在毕业典礼上的着装。新政策符合 2022 年犹他州议会大会期间通过的 HB30,该政策要求学区允许美国印第安人或阿拉斯加原住民学生在毕业时佩戴部落徽章。根据该政策,学区还将允许老年人在毕业时佩戴具有个人宗教或文化意义的传统物品,包括花卉花环(不超过三个)、披肩、腰带或礼仪花。管理研究批准、教学材料的政策中的董事会语言还更新了学生着装规范以及学校图书馆材料的选择和审查。

钟表

教育委员会批准了 2022-2023 学年的上课时间表。响铃时间表的变化包括每个 CSD 高中、初中和小学的“提早星期五”;在新的 Glacier Hills 小学实施上午 9 点至下午 3:30 的上课时间; Alta View、Altara、Crescent、East Sandy、Oakdale、Ridgecrest 和 Silver Mesa 小学的全日制幼儿园。 Draper Park 的开始和下班时间也更改为上午 7:50 至下午 2:40 但是,此时间表要求 Draper Park Middle 的每个时段减少两分钟。为适应提前放学时间而减少的上课时间可以缓解对附近小学交通需求的影响。从 2022-2023 年开始,Lone Peak 和 Draper 小学将比当前的上课时间晚 10 分钟开始和结束。 Draper 和 Lone Peak 将于上午 8:55 至下午 3:30 上课

行政任命

教育委员会批准任命 Jordan 高中副校长 Dina Kohler 为 Hillcrest 高中的副校长。她接替了默里市学区默里高中的新校长 Quinn Linde。乔丹高中体育总监杰森朗被提升为乔丹高中的助理校长,以取代科勒。

预算更新

业务主管 Leon Wilcox 在介绍 2022-2023 年 $3.444 亿的拟议预算时表示,由于峡谷区房产评估估值增加,预计大多数峡谷居民的认证税率将下降学年。预计董事会将在 6 月 7 日通过拟议预算。还将举行公共预算听证会以征求赞助人的意见。 Wilcox 说,认证税率应在 6 月 22 日之前完成。

学校辅导报告

为了支持 Canyons 为大学做好准备的使命,该学区长期以来一直达到或超过犹他州要求的 350:1 辅导员与学生的比例。 CSD 咨询项目专家 Tori Gillett 在对董事会的简短更新中表示,除了支持学生的整体健康和与家庭合作以获取社区资源外,辅导员还帮助确保学生满足毕业要求。他们还帮助学生找到接受高等教育的途径并获得资金来支付费用。 CSD 的所有高中和中学都聘请了咨询团队。辅导员也被分配到三所小学。

德雷珀公园中学选修课更新

助理总监 Bob Dowdle 博士介绍了 Draper Park Middle 可以添加到学校日程中以满足学生兴趣的各种选修课程的最新情况。学校可以支持额外的体育、科学和技术以及职业和技术课程。表演艺术的选择也是一种可能性,包括合唱团和音乐剧。然而,有后勤需要考虑,包括资金、交通和代课教师的可用性。每门课程招收足够学生的能力也是一个考虑因素。董事会将在下次董事会会议上继续讨论此事。

NSBA会议

峡谷教育委员会的成员报告了在圣地亚哥举行的年度全国学校董事会协会会议的要点。

学校亮点

Ridgecrest 小学(有时被内部人士称为“The Ridge”)是一个欢迎和包容的学校社区,让所有学生、教育工作者、支持人员和家长都感到受到重视,校长 Sara Allen 说。她说,Ridgecrest 全年庆祝高质量的教学和学生的成就。仁慈和尊重的行为也受到 Ridgecrest 学生的称赞,其中越来越多的学生是多语言学习者。艾伦说,COVID-19 年很艰难,但 Ridgecrest 社区已经齐心协力克服挑战。

同意议程

教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括雇用和终止报告、采购投标、学生过夜旅行请求、4 月财务报告、综合指导报告和行政任命。

顾客评论

以下顾客在顾客评论期间向董事会发表了讲话。可以在 BoardDocs 上访问他们的评论记录。

  • 艾琳·赛贝尔

主管,业务管理员报告

主管 Rick Robins 博士表示,他对董事会在会议期间进行的热烈讨论表示赞赏。他对上周未能参加退休人员宴会表示遗憾,因为他感染了 COVID-19。他感谢峡谷区退休人员的服务和奉献精神。

Wilcox 先生祝贺 CSD 的“第一班”——第一批在峡谷学校开始和结束的学生——以及今年的退休人员。他还宣布,规划和招生主任 Floyd Stensrud 博士计划退休。

教育委员会报告

琥珀希尔夫人 感谢退休人员,并祝愿他们一切顺利。她祝愿春季运动会的学生运动员好运,并表示她对 2022 届毕业生的毕业典礼感到兴奋。

霍莉·尼鲍尔夫人 向即将退休的教师、管理人员和支持人员表达了最良好的祝愿,报告了参加柳泉艺术展的情况,并要求董事会考虑关于美国宪法和美国象征与理想的未来议程项目。

史蒂夫·里格利先生 注意到围绕钟声时间表的讨论和研究,特别是在德雷珀公园,并祝贺 2022 届毕业生。

阿曼达·奥克斯夫人 感谢今年的退休人员的服务,注意到峡谷探险之夜的成功,并报告了在学校参加艺术和年终活动的情况。她还谈到了最近在纽约和加利福尼亚发生的枪击事件,并表达了对文明的渴望。

克莱伦·阿诺德夫人 报道了参加 Hillcrest 的国际文凭课程认可计划和退休人员宴会。她还参加了应急管理小组会议。

蒙·米勒伯格先生 讲述了他与 Verla Sperry 的友谊,Verla Sperry 是她退休前的前同学,也是峡谷的老师。他尊重她的记忆。

南希廷吉总统 报道了参加拉丁美洲人在行动的年终宴会、犹他州 PTA 大会、Albion Middle 的联合音乐会。她对区政府和学校在危机中的迅速工作和对社区的服务表示感谢。

分享这个帖子

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Board Summary, May 17, 2022

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items

Employment Contract for CAESP

The Board of Education approved the employment contract for CSD Education Support Professionals for the 2022-2023 school year. The total value of the compensation increase represented in the contract, excluding insurance, is 8.48 percent from the 2021-2022 base salary. Under the contract, the District will fully fund increment steps for eligible employees, a 4.25 percent cost-of-living to the base of the ESP salary schedule, and a one-time $500 stipend payment for all contracted employees who were on Step No. 10 of the salary schedule during the 2021-2022 contract year. In addition, Business Administrator Leon Wilcox told members of the Board, CSD will fund a $150 stipend for hourly employees on Step No. 10 during the 2021-2022 contract year. The $500 stipend for the contracted employees will be prorated based on their FTE status in Skyward as of Oct 1. Hourly employees will receive the $150 regardless of FTE status. The stipend will be paid on the Nov. 30, 2022 pay date. Employees must be employed as of Oct 1, 2022 to receive the stipend. Adjustments also were made on the starting-wage lane and step to bring to starting hourly wage to $14.06 an hour. According to the contract, the District share of health insurance costs for ESP employees will increase by 2 percent, or approximately $141,000. The employee share will increase by 1 percent, or approximately $16,000 for all ESP employees. In August the committee will meet to review updated claims data and may need to make further adjustments to the premiums for the 2023 plan year. The contract also addresses the work-day calendar, policies, and an increase of vacation days for long-time employees.  Additional details of the contract can be found on BoardDocs.

Policy Update

The Board of Education approved the “Student Conduct and Disciplinary Process” policy, which governs the dress of students during commencement exercises. The new policy conforms to HB30, passed during the 2022 General Session of the Utah Legislature, which requires school districts to allow American Indian or Alaskan native students to wear tribal regalia at graduation. The District, according to the policy, also will allow seniors to wear at graduation traditional objects of personal religious or cultural significance, including floral leis (no more than three), stoles, sashes, or ceremonial flowers. The Board language in policies governing research approval, instructional materials additionally updated student dress codes, and school library materials selection and review.

Bell Schedules

The Board of Education approved a bell schedule for the 2022-2023 school year. Changes to the bell schedule include “early-out Fridays” at every CSD high, middle and elementary school; the implementation of a 9 a.m.-to-3:30 p.m. bell schedule at the new Glacier Hills Elementary; and full-day kindergarten at Alta View, Altara, Crescent, East Sandy, Oakdale, Ridgecrest and Silver Mesa elementary schools. The start and dismissal times at Draper Park also were changed to 7:50 a.m. to 2:40 p.m. However, this schedule requires that each period at Draper Park Middle be reduced by two minutes. This minor reduction in class time to accommodate an early dismissal time eases the impact to nearby elementary schools’ transportation needs. Starting in 2022-2023, Lone Peak and Draper elementary schools will start and end 10 minutes later than the current bell schedule. Draper and Lone Peak will hold classes from 8:55 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Administrative Appointment

The Board of Education approved the appointment of Jordan High Assistant Principal Dina Kohler as an Assistant Principal at Hillcrest High. She replaces Quinn Linde, who is the new Principal at Murray High in the Murray City School District. Jordan High Athletic Director Jason Long was promoted to become an Assistant Principal at Jordan High to replace Kohler.

Budget Update

As a result of increased assessed valuation of property in Canyons District, the certified tax rate is expected to go down for the majority of Canyons residents, said Business Administrator Leon Wilcox in a presentation about the $344.4 million proposed budget for the 2022-2023 school year. It’s expected the Board will adopt the proposed budget on June 7. A public budget hearing also will be held for patron comment.  The certified tax rate should be completed by June 22, Wilcox said.

School Counseling Report

In support of Canyons’ college-ready mission, the District has a long history of meeting, or exceeding, Utah’s required counselor-to-student ratio of 350:1. In addition to supporting students overall wellness and working with families to secure community resources, counselors help ensure that students meet the requirements to graduate, said CSD Counseling Program Specialist Tori Gillett in a brief update to the Board. They also help students find a path to postsecondary education and secure funding to pay for it. All of CSD’s high schools and middle schools employ counseling teams. Counselors have also been allocated to three elementary schools.

Draper Park Middle Electives Update

Assistant Superintendent Dr. Bob Dowdle gave an update on various elective courses that Draper Park Middle could feasibly add to their school schedule to meet student interests. The school could support additional physical education, science and technology, and career and technology courses. Performing arts options are also a possibility, including choir and musical theater. There are logistics to consider, however, including the availability of funding, transportation, and substitute teachers. The ability to recruit enough students per course is also a consideration. The Board will continue to discuss the matter at the next Board meeting.

NSBA Conference

Members of the Canyons Board of Education reported on takeaways from the annual National School Board Association Conference in San Diego.

School Highlights

Ridgecrest Elementary — sometimes called “The Ridge” by insiders — is a welcoming and inclusive school community that makes all students, educators, support staff, and parents feel valued, said Principal Sara Allen. High-quality instruction and student achievement are celebrated throughout the year at Ridgecrest, she said. Acts of kindness and respect also are lauded among Ridgecrest students, a growing number of whom are multi-language learners. The COVID-19 years have been difficult, Allen said, but the Ridgecrest community has pulled together to rise above the challenges.

Consent Agenda

The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including hire and termination reports, purchasing bids, student overnight travel requests, April financial reports, Comprehensive Guidance Report, and administrative appointments.

Patron Comment

The following patrons addressed the Board during Patron Comment.  Recordings of their remarks can be accessed on BoardDocs.

  • Erin Seibel

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins said he appreciated the Board’s robust discussions during the meeting. He expressed regret he was not able to attend the Retirees Banquet last week because he was ill with COVID-19. He thanked Canyons District’s retirees for their service and dedication.

Mr. Wilcox congratulated CSD’s “First Class” — the first group of students to start and end in Canyons schools — and this year’s retirees. He also announced that Dr. Floyd Stensrud, the Director of Planning and Enrollment, plans to retire.

Board of Education Reports

Mrs. Amber Shill thanked retirees and wished them well. She wished good luck to student-athletes in spring sports and said she’s excited for graduation ceremonies for the Class of 2022.

Mrs. Holly Neibaur expressed best wishes for retiring teachers, administrators, and support staff, reported on attending Willow Springs’ art show, and asked the Board to consider a future agenda item regarding instruction about the U.S. Constitution and American symbols and ideals.

Mr. Steve Wrigley noted the discussion and study surrounding the bell schedule, especially at Draper Park, and congratulated the Class of 2022.

Mrs. Amanda Oaks thanked this year’s retirees for their service, noted the success of the Canyoneering Night and reported on attending arts and end-of-year events in the schools.  She also spoke about the recent shootings in New York and California and expressed a desire for civility.

Mrs. Clareen Arnold reported on attending Hillcrest’s International Baccalaureate program recognition program and the Retirees Banquet. She also attended the Emergency Management Team meeting.

Mr. Mont Millerberg recounted his friendship with Verla Sperry, a former classmate who also was a Canyons teacher before her retirement.  He honored her memory.

President Nancy Tingey reported on attending the Latinos in Action year-end banquet, the Utah PTA convention, Albion Middle’s combined musical concert. She expressed appreciation to the Administration of the District and schools for their quick work in crises and service to the community.

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org