• 学校

董事会摘要,2022 年 3 月 29 日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过点击相应的议程项目

战略计划

Canyons 主管 Rick Robins 博士称,新制定的战略计划的公开展示对该地区来说是“历史性的”。 Robins 表示,该计划是在教育顾问 Education Elements 的协助下制定的,将成为 Canyons 的“北极星,并将在未来许多年指导我们的方向”。在长达一年的开发过程中,我们努力将 CSD 的教学和学习策略纳入其中,同时也反映了 CSD 社区的愿景。为了告知战略计划的方向,学生、教育工作者、家长和当地政府官员参加了调查、计划会议、焦点小组和其他论坛。根据增长蓝图,学区将调整其战略,专注于高质量的学习、获取和机会、以人为本的支持和操作系统。这是峡谷 13 年历史上的第一个全面战略计划。 “这是该计划出台的关键时刻,”董事会成员史蒂夫·瑞格利说。 “我希望,随着这份文件的发布,人们确信峡谷区正朝着正确的方向前进,我们确实代表了公众。”教育委员会将于 4 月 19 日投票正式批准该文件。

 

响铃时间表

为仍在建设中的 Glacier Hills 小学提出了上午 9 点至下午 3:35 的学校时间表,该小学旨在容纳合并的 Bell View 和 Edgemont 学校社区。业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 表示,这与 Bell View 目前的运营时间表相同。根据 CSD 的路由承包商 Edulog 创建的新的上课时间表提案,34 所学校将保持相同的上课时间表。 Wilcox 表示,应社区的一些要求,可以更改 Draper Park 和 Mount Jordan 中学的上课时间,将开始时间从早上 7:30 推迟到至少早上 7:50。在这两所学校,将有必要改变附近几所小学和钻石岭高中的上课时间,因为这将对 CSD 的校车车队提出要求。 Wilcox 说,基本上,如果 DPMS 和 Mount Jordan 的开始时间晚于早上 7:30,那么学校的开始和结束时间将需要推迟。教育委员会将继续讨论该提案,并要求行政部门传达该提案并通过对受影响社区的调查收集社区意见。

 

共同计划时间建议

正在提议“早出”或“晚开始”为学区的教师建立一个学区范围内的公共规划时间块。根据对建筑领导团队和学校社区委员会的一项调查,大多数学校社区更愿意在周五提早上课。目前,Canyons 小学在周五提早放学;中学星期五开学很晚。只有阿尔塔 CSD 的一所高中在周二晚开学。董事会将继续审查公众意见和其他数据。

 

德雷珀公园中间时间表

自 2016 年以来,峡谷区所有中学的学术数据以及各种课程表的成本和利弊概览均已提交给教育委员会。 Albion、Butler、Midvale、Union 和 Draper Park 按六期时间表运营。 Mount Jordan、Eastmont 和 Indian Hills 中学有 7 个学期。董事会表示,政府应与 Draper Park 合作,重新检查时间表,并为课前或课后选修课寻找机会,尤其是双语沉浸课程中的选修课。

 

中谷地区学校的边界更新

行政当局建议采用新的界限以平衡中谷地区学校的入学率。教育委员会继续审查边界变更提案,如果获得批准,该提案将在 2023-2024 年生效。业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 报告了为让公众了解边界提案而进行的沟通和外展工作。可在 BoardDocs 中找到拟议边界更改的地图。

 

数字公民更新

根据 CSD 数字公民工作的最新情况,通过计划中的焦点小组、调查和非正式会议收集的信息将为 Canyons 在来年的数字公民目标提供信息。每年,学校社区委员会都必须提交一份报告,表明他们的学校社区已经进行了数字公民培训。学区计划加强对家长、员工和 SCC 的培训,并与犹他州 PTA 在培训、外展和项目方面进一步合作,包括以“不要在屏幕后卑鄙”为主题的视频比赛。家长信息之夜也将继续举行。

 

政策变更建议

建议对教育委员会批准的管理学生旅行以及家庭和医院指导的政策进行更改。如果获得批准,将调整学生旅行政策,使学生过夜旅行的总费用上限从 $1,250 提高到 $1,500,与提议的 2022-2023 年费用表一致。拟议的政策还涉及区域外地区比赛的旅行审批。建议的家庭和医院指导政策将阐明跨境学生有资格通过 CSD 获得家庭和医院指导服务,以及其他变化。教育委员会将继续审查拟议的更新政策。

 

同意议程

教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括 2022 年 3 月 15 日董事会会议的会议记录;雇用和终止报告;采购投标;学生过夜旅行请求; 2023-2024 年董事会会议时间表;和犹他州教育委员会规则 277-328 合规培训。

 

学生咨询委员会

Canyons 的学生咨询委员会每年都会就影响学生的问题向教育委员会提供意见,该委员会得到了认可。来自 Canyons 六所高中(阿尔塔、布莱顿、Corner Canyon、钻石岭、希尔克雷斯特和约旦)的 22 名学生被选为该小组的成员,该小组每月举行一次会议。今年是惩教署学生顾问委员会的第九个年头。 2021-2022 年理事会的学生是:

阿尔塔:  Autumn Engstrom,卢克·比耶勒加德,艾丽莎·鲁伊斯,马洛里·古德费罗
布赖顿: 海莉·威尔逊、桑德·尼尔森、泰勒·纳瓦罗、布莱斯·迈耶
转角峡谷: 金伯利·蒙托亚-加西亚、兰斯·安德鲁森、克里德·加德纳姆、贝拉·尼布利
钻石岭: 艾娃·博伦,加布·古铁雷斯
希尔克雷斯特: 艾米·阿雷东多、杰森·蒙、Humzah Khan、Selena Yu
约旦: 卡梅琳·科菲、谢尔比·哈德利、艾玛·莫雷诺、艾萨克·布罗克班克

教育委员会还向学生会成员颁发了感谢信。

学费表

根据犹他州法律,2022-2023 学年所有 CSD 学校(包括职业和技术教育计划和 Canyons 技术教育中心)的收费表均已获批准。

顾客评论

以下顾客在顾客评论期间向董事会发表了讲话。可以在 BoardDocs 上访问他们的评论记录。

  • 安吉拉·梅雷迪思
  • 朱莉·比恩
  • 妮可伍德曼西
  • 莎莉·斯科特
  • 萨拉·李
  • 珍娜兰德沃德
  • 林赛克里斯滕森
  • 安德里亚·卢克
  • 凯蒂·雷德

 

学校亮点

Midvale 地区的 Copperview 小学是 CSD 的一级学校之一,通过其家庭学习中心、课前和课后项目以及由学校心理学家组成的健康团队为学校社区提供急需的学术和健康服务、社会工作者、辅导员、学校护士和社区学校协调员。社区学校协调员 Jenna Landward 表示,学校教职员工努力建立积极的关系,同时引导学生达到更高的学习水平。她补充说,文化和语言背景促成了 Copperview 的特殊环境。 Landward 说,在过去的一年里,来自刚果、叙利亚、埃及、伊拉克、伊朗、阿富汗和巴西的学生在 Copperview 就读。

 

认可

以下是对成就的认可:

  • Cody Hagen,Corner Canyon 高中,犹他州年度最佳男高中运动员,州长体育州奖
  • 三十峡谷学生在戏剧、法医学和音乐方面获得了 2022 年学术全州奖。
  • Sterling Scholar 英语组冠军 Hillcrest 学生 Danja Zoe Liu;来自 Alta High 的 Merrin Maughan 在演讲、戏剧和取证类别中获得亚军;和来自 Corner Canyon 的 Kellen Hullinger,在 World Languages 中。

 

主管,业务管理员报告

罗宾斯博士 报道了参观 The Road Home 无家可归者收容所的情况,并感谢支持人员为我们的无家可归学生提供服务。

威尔科克斯 感谢董事会在 3 月 31 日的薪水中批准 $300 员工奖金。

 

教育委员会成员报告

霍莉·尼鲍尔夫人 感谢教育委员会会议的主持人和德雷珀公园中学社区委员会的工作。

阿曼达·奥克斯夫人 报告参加 SCC 会议、学校活动和活动。

克莱伦·阿诺德夫人 报告了参加 SCC 会议的情况,并听取了有关 LAND Trust 和 TSSA 计划的报告。

蒙·米勒伯格先生 报告了参加 SCC 会议的情况,并感谢 Midvale 校长 Lori Reynolds 鼓励多语言家庭参与学校的运营。

廷吉总统 感谢政府在 LAND Trust 和 TSSA 计划方面所做的工作,并对由于 COVID-19 健康协议而在聚会中断后能够再次参加学校活动表示赞赏。

分享这个帖子

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

resources

Supports

Getting Involved

Tools

Resources

About

Leadership

Getting Involved

Board Summary, March 29, 2022

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items

Strategic Plan

Canyons Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins called the public presentation of the newly crafted strategic plan “historic” for the District. Robins said the plan, which was created with the assistance of education consultants Education Elements, will be Canyons’  “north star and will guide our direction for many years to come.” Throughout the year-long development process, great effort was made to incorporate CSD teaching and learning strategies while also reflecting the vision of the CSD community. To inform the direction of the strategic plan, students, educators, parents, and local government officials participated in surveys, planning meetings, focus groups, and other forums. Under the growth blueprint, the District will align its strategies to focus on high-quality learning, access and opportunity, human-centered supports, and operating systems. This is the first comprehensive strategic plan in Canyons’ 13-year history. “This is crucial time for this plan to be coming out,” said Board member Steve Wrigley. “I am hoping that, as this document comes out,  that people feel assured Canyons District is going in the right direction and we do represent the public.” The Board of Education will vote April 19 on formal approval of the document.

 

Bell Schedule

A 9 a.m. -to- 3:35 p.m. school schedule is proposed for the still-under-construction Glacier Hills Elementary, built to house the consolidated Bell View and Edgemont school communities. This is the same schedule under which Bell View is currently operating, said Business Administrator Leon Wilcox. Thirty-four schools would remain on the same bell schedule under the new bell-schedule proposal, which was created by Edulog, CSD’s routing contractor. In response to some community requests, Wilcox said, changes could be made at the bell schedules at Draper Park and Mount Jordan middle schools to push back the starting times from 7:30 a.m. to at least 7:50 a.m. However, later start-times at those two schools would necessitate alterations of the bell schedule at several nearby elementary schools and Diamond Ridge High because of the demands it would place on CSD’s school-bus fleet. Basically, Wilcox said, the schools’ start and end times would need to be pushed back if DPMS and Mount Jordan started later than 7:30 a.m. Wilcox suggested the Board consider a districtwide bell-schedule study. The Board of Education will continue to discuss the proposal, and asked the Administration to communicate the proposal and gather community input through a survey from the communities that would be affected.

 

Common Planning Time Proposal

An “early-out” or “late-start” is being proposed to establish a districtwide common block of planning time for teachers in the District. According to an survey of Building Leadership Teams and School Community Councils, the majority of school communities would prefer an early-out schedule on Fridays. Currently, Canyons elementary schools release early on Fridays; middle schools start late on Fridays. Only one high school in CSD, Alta, has a late start on Tuesdays. The Board will continue to review public input and additional data.

 

Draper Park Middle Schedule

Academic data from all Canyons District middle schools since 2016, as well as an overview of the costs and pros and cons of various class schedules, were presented to the Board of Education. Albion, Butler, Midvale, Union and Draper Park operate on six-period schedules. Mount Jordan, Eastmont, and Indian Hills middle schools have seven-period days. The Board signaled that the Administration should work with Draper Park to re-examine the schedule and find opportunities for before- or after-school electives, especially those in the Dual Language Immersion program.

 

Boundary Update for Midvale-area Schools

The Administration recommends adoption of new boundaries to equalize enrollment at Midvale-area schools. The Board of Education continues to review the boundary-change proposal, which if approved would go into effect in 2023-2024. Business Administrator Leon Wilcox reported on the communication and outreach efforts that were made to inform the public about the boundary proposals. The maps of the proposed boundary changes can be found at BoardDocs.

 

Digital Citizenship Update

Information gathered through planned focus groups, surveys, and informal meetings will inform Canyons’ Digital Citizenship aims in the coming year, according to an update on CSD’s Digital Citizenship efforts. Each year, School Community Councils are required to submit a report indicating that their school communities have conducted Digital Citizenship training. The District plans to bolster parent, employee, and SCC training, and further partner with Utah PTA on training, outreach, and projects, including a video contest with the theme “Don’t Be Mean Behind the Screen.” Parent Information Nights will continued to be held, as well.

 

Policy Change Proposals

Changes are proposed to Board of Education-approved policies governing student travel and home and hospital instruction. If approved, the student-travel policy would be adjusted so the gross cap fee expense for student overnight travel from $1,250 to $1,500, consistent with the proposed 2022-2023 fee schedule. The proposed policy also addresses travel approval for out-of-area region competitions. The suggested home and hospital instruction policy would clarify that out-of-boundary students qualify for home and hospital instruction services through CSD, among other changes. The Board of Education will continue to review the proposed updated policies.

 

Consent Agenda

The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including the minutes for the March 15, 2022 meeting of the Board; hire and termination reports; purchasing bids; student-overnight travel requests; the Board-meeting schedule for 2023-2024; and Utah State Board of Education Rule 277-328 compliance training.

 

Student Advisory Council

Canyons’ Student Advisory Council, empaneled every year to provide input to the Board of Education on issues that impact students, was recognized. Twenty-two students from Canyons’ six high schools — Alta, Brighton, Corner Canyon, Diamond Ridge, Hillcrest and Jordan — were chosen to serve on the group, which met monthly. This is the ninth year of CSD’s Student Advisory Council. The students on the 2021-2022 council are:

Alta:  Autumn Engstrom, Luke Bjerregaard, Alisha Ruiz, Mallory Goodfellow
Brighton: Hayley Wilson, Xander Nelson, Taylor Navarro, Bryce Mayer
Corner Canyon: Kimberly Montoya-Garcia, Lance Andrewsen, Creed Gardinerm, Bella Nibley
Diamond Ridge: Ava Bolen, Gabe Gutierrez
Hillcrest: Emy Arredondo, Jason Mun, Humzah Khan, Selena Yu
Jordan: Cameryn Coffey, Shelby Hadley, Emma Moreno, Isaac Brockbank

The Board of Education also presented a letter of appreciation to the members of the student council.

School Fee Schedule

In adherence to Utah law, fee schedules for all CSD schools, including the Career and Technical Education program and Canyons Technical Education Center, were approved for the 2022-2023 school year.

Patron Comment

The following patrons addressed the Board during Patron Comment.  Recordings of their remarks can be accessed on BoardDocs.

  • Angela Meredith
  • Julie Beane
  • Nicole Woodmansee
  • Sally Scott
  • Sara Lee
  • Jenna Landward
  • Lindsay Christensen
  • Andrea Luker
  • Katie Redd

 

School Highlights

The Midvale-area Copperview Elementary, one of CSD’s Title I schools, provides much-needed academic and wellness services to the school community through its Family Learning Center, before- and after-school programs, and a Wellness Team made up of a school psychologist, social worker, counselor, school nurse and the Community School Coordinator. Community Schools Coordinator Jenna Landward said the school faculty and staff strive to build positive relationships while leading students to higher levels of learning. She added that the cultural and linguistic backgrounds contribute to the special environment at Copperview. In the past year, Landward said, students hailing from the Congo, Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, and Brazil have enrolled at Copperview.

 

Recognitions

The following were recognized for the achievements:

  • Cody Hagen, Corner Canyon High, Utah Male High School Athlete of the Year, Governor’s State of Sport Awards
  • Thirty Canyons students who earned 2022 Academic All-State Awards in Theater, Forensics and Music.
  • Sterling Scholar English category winner Hillcrest student Danja Zoe Liu; and runners-up Merrin Maughan, from Alta High, in the Speech, Theater and Forensics category; and Kellen Hullinger, from Corner Canyon, in World Languages.

 

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Dr. Robins reported on touring The Road Home homeless shelter and thanked the support staff for providing services to our homeless students.

Wilcox thanked the Board for approving $300 employee bonus on the March 31 paychecks.

 

Board of Education Member Reports

Mrs. Holly Neibaur thanked the presenters at Board of Education meeting and the work of Draper Park Middle School Community Council.

Mrs. Amanda Oaks reported on attending SCC meetings, school events, and activities.

Mrs. Clareen Arnold reported on attending SCC meetings, and heard reports on LAND Trust and TSSA plans.

Mr. Mont Millerberg reported on attending SCC meetings and thanked Midvale Principal Lori Reynolds for encouraging the participation of multi-language families in the operations of the school.

President Tingey thanked the Administration for its work on LAND Trust and TSSA plans, and expressed appreciation for being able to attend school events again after the hiatus on gatherings as a result of COVID-19 wellness protocols.

Share This Post

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org