我们正在招聘!

资源

家庭联系

卷入

工具类

资源资源

领导

关于

卷入

董事会摘要,2022 年 12 月 7 日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过单击相应的议程项目。

生活技能计划更新

学生服务总监 Brian McGill 博士介绍了惩教署生活技能课程内部开发的最新情况。麦吉尔博士说,峡谷区教学支持部门目前正在对 K-8 课程进行教学审查,课程计划于 1 月份在峡谷区网站上发布。校长将与学校社区委员会、家长教师协会以及教职员工协商后,决定学校是否参加 1 月至 5 月的课程实地测试。麦吉尔博士说,将利用持续的反馈过程来完善和修改课程。他还指出,家长小组一直在审查课程的敏感内容、年龄适宜性以及刻板印象和偏见。教育委员会预计将于 2023 年 4 月开始课程采用和批准程序。如果获得批准,这些课程将于 2023 年 8 月在惩教署学校使用。该课程的目的是帮助学生学习解决冲突、做出负责任的决定,设定个人成长目标,增强韧性,服务社区,尊重自己和他人。

招生预测

自峡谷区 2019-2020 年入学人数达到 34,000 名学生的高峰以来,入学人数平均每年下降 1.4%。如果这一趋势持续下去,预计未来五年,除了三所惩教署小学、两所初中和三所高中外,所有学校的入学人数都会下降。幼儿园和 1-2 年级的下降幅度最大,主要是由于犹他州出生率下降、房价飙升以及 CSD 建成社区内新住房建设空间有限。 CSD 传播总监 Jeff Haney 和副总监 Kirsten Stewart 报告了学区正在实施的一项新的战略招生计划,以支持学生的招募和保留。招生活动的重点是通过高质量的课程、丰富的课外机会和现代化的设施来吸引学生,同时为学生提供最适合他们的成功、兴趣和愿望的教育选择。保留意味着为学生和家庭提供所需的支持和资源,以及参与学校智力和社交方面的机会。对于招聘和留住学生来说,至关重要的是为学生和家庭提供卓越的客户服务和卓越的学校体验。

年度综合财务报告

业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 提交了 2022-2023 年综合年度综合报告。 130 页的 CAFR 是一份必要文件,向利益相关者通报该地区的财政援助和经济状况,该地区每月的运营费用约为 $30 百万。威尔科克斯指出,预算允许大约 $3.43 亿美元的支出;然而,该区花费了约 $333 万元。 Wilcox 指出,仅一年内应税财产的价值就增加了 25.5%。这导致住宅价格飞涨。 CSD边界内的平均住宅数量从2021年的$497,000增加到2022年的$649,000,增长了30.6%。虽然应税价值的跳跃可能会为未来的学区预算提供稳定性,但它确实会阻止一些有年幼孩子的家庭在学区内购买房屋。 Wilcox 表示,CSD 已能够将其未分配的普通基金余额从 2010 年的 $1120 万增加到 2022 年的 $3010 万。该区将用于经济稳定的资源维持在 $1740 万,即每个项目允许的最高限额 5%。州法规,并将其分配的普通基金余额从 2010 年的 $270 万增加到 2022 年的 $1350 万。董事会还承诺将普通基金资源占最近精算研究中应计精算负债的 105%,以资助其退休福利计划。 Wilcox 还指出,该学区的医疗费用部分在一年内增加了约 $5 百万。

学年日历和建议的教师工作日

教育委员会批准了拟议的 2023-2024 学年日历,并初步批准了 2024-2025 和 2025-2026 学年日历。下一学年的日历已获得批准,但需要注意的是,经过一段时间的审查、讨论和信息收集后,教师计划日可能会添加到日历中。这是为了回应老师们的要求,他们说他们需要更多时间来准备教学。政府当前提出的一项提案要求在 2023-2024 学年日历中安排两个教师规划日。州法律 53F-2-102 和相应的犹他州教育委员会规则 R277-419-4 允许地方教育机构 (LEA) 预留最多 32 小时或四个教学日用于专业学习。政府表示,额外的准备时间不仅可以让教师有时间通过计划和准备来加强教学,而且还可以通过提高士气和减少倦怠程度来帮助保留策略。根据该提案,两个没有学生、教师计划的日子将分别是 10 月 27 日星期五和 3 月 22 日——第一季度和第三季度结束时。该提案仍在董事会审议中,也不会延长合同年度。这也是在 16 个非上课时间的基础上进行的,Canyons 教师将获得报酬,以表彰他们在合同时间之外所做的工作。

2023-2024 小型资本设施

即将在即将到来的夏季实施的小型资本设施项目清单正在制定中。但业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 表示,其中一个项目——拟耗资 $350 万扩建阿尔塔高中的乐队室——可能会在 3 月份篮球赛季结束时启动。其他项目包括 Ridgecrest Elementary 小学的屋顶更换、Corner Canyon High 的草坪更换、Canyon View 和 Brookwood 小学的照明升级、Copperview Elementary 的供水管道和地毯更换、Lone Peak 和 Altara 小学的灌溉系统更换。此外,约 $1 百万的赠款和 ESSR III 资助的项目包括 Bella Vista、Canyon View 和 Lone Peak 小学的操场设备升级,使其符合 ADA 标准、Jordan High 的社区中心以及急救无线电Alta 和 Hillcrest 高中的系统正在规划中。 2024 年正在考虑的项目包括布莱顿高中 (Brighton High) 的网球场重铺项目、孤峰小学 (Lone Peak Elementary) 的挡土墙、奥克代尔小学 (Oakdale Elementary) 的人行道更换项目、希尔克雷斯特高中 (Hillcrest High) 可能的跑道和草坪重铺项目、公交车棚油箱的搬迁以及整个地区的灌溉、照明和停车场改善。 Corner Canyon High 足球场也在潜在项目清单上。由于地下水位高,该区正在审查工程方案。

预算考虑因素

由于入学人数较少,政府建议将 Canyons Online 从学校改为 K-8 课程项目。业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 表示,根据最新统计,幼儿园至五年级的班级有 62 名学生。六年级至八年级班级约有 113 名学生。威尔科克斯表示,由于目前的人员配备,继续运营《Canyons Online》在经济上不可行。根据拟议的重新配置峡谷在线的计划,家庭的远程学习选项将继续,但教学模式不同。 Wilcox 表示,随着与 COVID-19 相关的资金到期,学区将需要做出战略预算决策。将完成对所有地区办事处支持职位(包括认证职位和 ESP)的评估。非工资支出也将受到审查。董事会将继续与行政部门合作,为即将建成的学校制定拟议预算。

同意议程

教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括 2022 年 11 月 15 日的董事会会议记录;雇用和终止报告;采购投标、学生过夜旅行请求; 2021-2022年度综合财务报告及相关审计报告;批准当地教育机构的许可证和认可。

学校亮点

校长 Mindy Robison 表示,拥有 900 名学生的 Midvale Middle 在去年的学生学习评估中取得了进步。她说,在 RISE 考试中,英语语言艺术分数上升了 7%,数学分数上升了 9% 以上,科学分数上升了 4.9%。此外,大约 12% 的多语言学习者每年都取得了足够的进步。罗宾逊表示,教职员工努力创造一种充满期望和乐趣的文化。罗宾逊感谢董事会对新学校的投资,该学校的重建资金来自选民批准的 2010 年 $2.5 亿债券,以及需要额外工作人员的课后计划。罗宾逊说,由辅导员、社会工作者、学校心理学家和社区服务人员组成的学生服务团队提供了宝贵的心理健康支持。学校正致力于提高出勤率。

政策更新

教育委员会继续审查有关公交车行为和学校图书馆资料选择和审查的政策。

顾客评论

以下顾客在顾客评论期间向董事会发表了讲话。可以在 BoardDocs 上访问他们的评论记录。

  • 迈克·哈特
  • 凯茜柯林斯
  • 梅根杰伊
  • 斯泰西·彼得森

立法重点

对外关系总监查理·埃文斯和公众参与协调员苏珊·爱德华兹介绍了即将举行的犹他州立法机构全体会议的信息。委员会还讨论了其立法优先事项,包括反对将纳税人资金重新分配给私立教育企业。犹他州立法机构将于 1 月 17 日至 3 月 3 日举行全体会议。

认可

他们的成就获得了以下认可:

  • Corner Canyon 高中橄榄球队,UHSAA 6A 橄榄球锦标赛第二名
  • Jimena Gutierrez,约旦高中,2022 年峡谷区假日卡艺术家
  • 米德维尔小学的学生选择装饰州长官邸的圣诞树

主管,业务管理员报告

院长 里克·罗宾斯博士 提醒董事会计划于 1 月 7 日在犹他州学校董事会协会年度会议上发表有关 CSD 战略计划制定流程的演讲。

威尔科克斯先生 注意到 Canyons Online 首任校长 Michelle Shimmin 女士即将退休; IT 的戴夫·海伍德 (Dave Heywood);和节能协调员克里斯·埃普勒。 Wilcox 还欢迎参加 USBA 新成员培训的 Karen Pedersen 女士和 Andrew Edtl 先生加入董事会。

教育委员会报告

琥珀希尔夫人 感谢 Pedersen 和 Edtl 参加 USBA 培训。

霍莉·尼鲍尔夫人 欢迎 Pedersen 和 Edtl,并对 CSD 托管人表示感谢。她还感谢那些被她交谈过的学生评选为最喜欢的老师。

史蒂夫·里格利先生 注意到院长在教职员工会议上的聆听巡演。他注意到生活技能课程的进展。

阿曼达·奥克斯夫人 报道称,在一次教育会议上,有人指出,犹他州的学校并没有像其他在 COVID-19 大流行期间不注重面对面教学的州那样经历那么多的学习损失。她对一个关于循证数学教学的研讨会发表了评论。她还参加了 Corner Canyon High 学生举办的“Shark Tank”比赛。

克莱伦·阿诺德夫人 感谢仍然参加董事会会议的顾客和工作人员。

蒙·米勒伯格先生 表示峡谷教育委员会已获得 USBA 的大师委员会认证。他还指出,有报告表明,在 COVID-19 疫情期间,犹他州学生的学习成绩并未大幅下降。他赞扬会计部门对学区财务进行的干净审计以及战略计划“机会和准入”小组委员会的工作。

廷吉总统 祝社区度过一个美好的夜晚。

 

分享这个帖子

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

resources

Family Connections

Getting Involved

Tools

Resources

Leadership

About

Getting Involved

Board Summary, Dec. 7, 2022

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items.

Life Skills Program Update

Student Services Director Dr. Brian McGill presented an update on the in-house development of CSD’s life-skills curriculum. A pedagogy review of the K-8 curriculum is currently being done by the Canyons District Instructional Supports Department, Dr. McGill said, and in January the lessons are scheduled to be published on the Canyons District website. Principals, in consultation with School Community Councils, PTAs, and faculty and staff, will then decide whether their school will participate in a January-to-May field test of the curriculum. An ongoing feedback process will be utilized to hone and modify the lessons, said Dr. McGill, who also noted that a parent group has been vetting the curriculum for sensitive content, age-appropriateness, and stereotypes and bias. The Board of Education is projected to begin the curriculum adoption and approval process in April 2023. If approved, the lessons could be used in CSD schools in August 2023. The aim of the curriculum is to help students learn the skills necessary to resolve conflicts, make responsible decisions, set goals for personal growth, build resilience, serve the community, and respect themselves and others.

Enrollment Projections

Since Canyons District’s enrollment high-point of 34,000 students in 2019-2020, enrollment has dropped an average of 1.4 percent per year. If this trajectory holds, all but three CSD elementary schools, two middle schools, and three high schools are projected for enrollment declines in the next five years. The declines are steepest in kindergarten and grades 1-2, and primarily driven by a Utah’s declining birth rate, soaring housing prices, and limited room for new housing construction within CSD’s built-out communities. CSD Communications Director Jeff Haney and Associate Director Kirsten Stewart reported on a new Strategic Enrollment initiative the District is undertaking to support the recruitment and retention of students. Recruitment activities focus on attracting students with high-quality programs, rich extra-curricular opportunities, and modern facilities while connecting students to the educational options best suited for their success, interests, and aspirations. Retention entails providing students and families with needed supports and resources along with opportunities to be involved in the intellectual and social aspects of school. Critical to both recruitment and retention is providing students and families with exceptional customer service and an exceptional school experience.

Annual Comprehensive Financial Report

Business Administrator Leon Wilcox presented the 2022-2023 Comprehensive Annual Comprehensive Report. The 130-page CAFR is a required document that informs stakeholders about the financial aid and economic state of the District, which spends some $30 million a month to operate. Wilcox noted the budget allowed for some $343 million in expenditures; however, the District spent some $333 million. Wilcox noted the values of taxable property has increased 25.5 percent in just one calendar year. That has led to skyrocketing increases in the prices of residential homes. The average home in CSD boundaries popped up from $497,000 in 2021 to $649,000 in 2022, an increase of 30.6 percent.  While jumps in taxable values may provide stability for future school-district budgets, it does prevent some families with younger children from purchasing homes within the District. Wilcox said CSD has been able to strengthen its unassigned general fund balance from $11.2 million in 2010 to $30.1 million in 2022. The District has maintained resources set aside for economic stabilization at $17.4 million, the 5 percent maximum allowed per state statute, and increased its assigned general fund balance from $2.7 million in 2010 to $13.5 million in 2022. The Board also has committed general fund resources at 105 percent of the accrued actuarial liability from the most recent actuarial study to fund its retirement benefit plan.  Wilcox also pointed out the District’s portion of health costs has gone up about $5 million in one year.

School-Year Calendars and Proposed Teacher Work Days

The Board of Education approved the proposed 2023-2024 school-year calendar and gave tentative approval to the calendars for the 2024-2025 and 2025-2026 school years. The calendar for the upcoming school year was approved with the caveat that teacher-planning days may be added to the calendar after a period of review, discussion, and information-gathering. This is in response to requests made by teachers who say they need more time to prepare for instruction. A current proposal made by the Administration calls for two teacher-planning days to the 2023-2024 school-year calendar. State law, 53F-2-102, and a corresponding Utah State Board of Education rule, R277-419-4, allows Local Education Agencies, or LEAs, to reserve up to 32 hours or four school days for professional learning. The Administration says the extra preparation time will not only give teachers time to enhance their instruction through planning and preparation but also help as a retention strategy by boosting morale and decreasing burn-out levels. Under the proposal, the two no-student, teacher-planning days would be on Friday, Oct. 27 and March 22 — at the end of the first and third quarters. The proposal, which remains under consideration by the Board, also would not extend the contract year. This also would be in addition to the 16 non-school-time hours for which Canyons teachers are paid in recognition of the work done outside of contract hours.

2023-2024 Small Capital Facilities

The list of small-capital facilities projects to be undertaken during the upcoming summer months is being created. But one of the projects — a proposed $3.5 million expansion of Alta High’s band room — could start in March when basketball season ends, said Business Administrator Leon Wilcox. Other projects include a roof replacement at Ridgecrest Elementary, turf replacement at Corner Canyon High, lighting upgrades at Canyon View and Brookwood elementary schools, a water line and carpet replacements at Copperview Elementary, an irrigation system replacement at Lone Peak and Altara elementary schools. In addition, about $1 million in grant- and ESSR III-funded projects include playground-equipment upgrades at Bella Vista, Canyon View and Lone Peak elementary schools to make them ADA-compliant, a community center at Jordan High, and first-responder radio systems at Alta and Hillcrest high schools are planned. Under consideration in 2024 is a tennis-court resurfacing project at Brighton High, a retaining wall at Lone Peak Elementary, and sidewalk replacement at Oakdale Elementary, a possible track and turf resurfacing at Hillcrest High, a relocation of the fuel tanks at the bus barn, and irrigation, lighting and parking lot improvements across the District. The Corner Canyon High soccer fields also are on the list of potential projects. The District is reviewing engineering options due to the high water table.

Budget Considerations

As a result of low enrollment numbers, the Administration is proposing to move Canyons Online from a school to a program for K-8 classes. At last count, said Business Administrator Leon Wilcox, 62 students are enrolled in kindergarten through fifth-grade classes. Some 113 students are enrolled in sixth- through eighth-grade classes. It’s not financially feasible to continue operating Canyons Online as it is currently staffed, Wilcox said. Under a proposed plan to reconfigure Canyons Online, remote-learning options for families would continue but with different instructional models. As COVID-19-related funds expire, Wilcox said, the District will need to make strategic budgetary decisions. An evaluation of all District Office support positions, both certified and ESP, will be completed. Non-payroll expenses also will be scrutinized.  The Board will continue to work with the Administration on a proposed budget for the upcoming school.

Consent Agenda

The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including the minutes for the Board meeting on Nov. 15, 2022; hire and termination reports; purchasing bids, student-overnight travel requests; the 2021-2022 Comprehensive Annual Financial Report and related audit reports; approval of Local Education Agency licenses and endorsements.

School Highlights

The 900-student Midvale Middle achieved gains on last year’s student-learning assessments, said Principal Mindy Robison. On the RISE exams, she said, English-Language Arts scores rose 7 percent, mathematics scores went up more than 9 percent, and science scores bumped up 4.9 percent.  In addition, some 12 percent of multi-language learners made adequate yearly progress. Robison said the faculty and staff have worked hard to create a culture of high expectations and fun. Robison thanked the Board for the investment in the new school, which was rebuilt with funds from the voter-approved $250 million bond in 2010, and the after-school program, which required additional staff members. Robison said a student-services team of counselors, social workers, school psychologists, and community facilitators, provides valuable mental health supports. The school is focusing on increasing attendance.

Policy Updates

The Board of Education continues to review policies governing Conduct on Buses and School Library Materials Selection and Review.

Patron Comment

The following patrons addressed the Board during Patron Comment. Recordings of their remarks can be accessed on BoardDocs.

  • Mike Hart
  • Cathy Collins
  • Megan Jay
  • Stacie Petersen

Legislative Priorities

External Relations Director Charlie Evans and Public Engagement Coordinator Susan Edwards presented information about the upcoming General Session of the Utah Legislature. The Board also discussed its legislative priorities, including an opposition to any re-direction of taxpayer funds to private-education enterprises. The Utah legislature will meet in general session from Jan. 17 to March 3.

Recognitions

The following were recognized for their achievements:

  • Corner Canyon High football team, second-place, UHSAA 6A football championship
  • Jimena Gutierrez, Jordan High, artist of 2022 Canyons District Holiday Card
  • Midvale Elementary students chosen to decorate tree at Governor’s Mansion

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins reminded the Board about a scheduled Jan. 7 presentation at the annual conference of the Utah School Boards Association regarding CSD’s Strategic Plan creation process.

Mr. Wilcox noted the upcoming retirements of Ms. Michelle Shimmin, the first-ever principal of Canyons Online;  IT’s Dave Heywood; and Energy Conservation Coordinator Chris Eppler.  Wilcox also welcomed Ms. Karen Pedersen and Mr. Andrew Edtl, who attended USBA new-member training, to the Board.

Board of Education Reports

Mrs. Amber Shill thanked Pedersen and Edtl for attending the USBA training.

Mrs. Holly Neibaur welcomed Pedersen and Edtl and expressed appreciation for CSD custodians.  She also thanked teachers who have been singled out as favorites by students with whom she has spoken.

Mr. Steve Wrigley noted the Superintendent’s Listening Tour of faculty meetings.  He noted the progress of the life-skills curriculum.

Mrs. Amanda Oaks reported on an education conference where it was noted that Utah schools have not  experienced as much learning loss as other states that did not focus on in-person instruction during the COVID-19 pandemic. She commented on a workshop about evidence-based mathematics instruction. She also attended a “Shark Tank” competition among students at Corner Canyon High.

Mrs. Clareen Arnold thanked patrons and staff who remain at Board meeting.

Mr. Mont Millerberg said the Canyons Board of Education has earned the USBA’s Master Board Certification. He also noted the reports indicating Utah students did not suffer a huge drop in learning during COVID-19 years. He lauded the accounting department for a clean audit of the District’s finances and the work of the Strategic Plan “Opportunity and Access” subcommittee.

President Tingey wished the community a nice evening.

 

Share This Post

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org