2020年10月20日董事会会议摘要

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过单击相应的议程项目。

远程计划委员会更新

教育委员会远程计划委员会的研究重点是,由于约旦·布拉夫斯的发展,预计到2025年将有225名儿童涌入中谷地区。业务管理员莱昂·威尔科克斯(Leon Wilcox)提出了两种选择,以平衡中谷地区小学的入学人数。四所学校中的两所,中谷(Midvale)和东中谷(East Midvale),产能超过90%。另外两所学校,科珀维尤(Copperview)和中谷(Midvalley),则分别达到69%和54.7%。预计将在11月10日的教育委员会会议上提出推荐的方案。如果计划获得批准,学区将遵守任何有关可能的边界变更的公共通知的法律。

在线学习更新

对教育委员会的在线学习更新包括启动区域指导委员会的建议。该小组由管理员,校长和老师组成,将帮助在CSD中建立和支持在线学习者社区。政府还寻求增加一个中学在线领导团队,正规化IPLC的正规化,完善的教练支持以及澄清学生支持团队的流程。教学支持部管理员Jesse Hennefer介绍了有关学生和老师对虚拟学习的期望的信息,无论是当学生处于检疫状态,从事全虚拟学习时,学校处于分班或混合时间表中,还是整个学校由于COVID-19案例的增加,因此转向了全在线学习。学区也正在提出一项建议,以建立一个由管理员领导并由员工支持的在线学习中心,以支持在线学习者。如果实现了当前的计划,则该中心将配备Canvas服务台技术员,在线支持服务,外展服务和成功教练。学区计划立即在该中心开始工作。

犹他大学申请周

按照传统,Canyons Education Foundation会提供高达$10,000的费用,以帮助为参加犹他大学申请周的学生支付大学申请费。在年度活动中,鼓励每位Canyons高中生完成并提交至少一份可行的大学申请。基金会董事会主席兰登·布拉德菲尔德(Landon Bradfield)和发展官Denise Haycock向教育委员会提交了一张陈列支票。 

学校日历

教育委员会审查了2021-2022学年以及2022-2023和2023-2024学年的学年日历。董事会还更新了政策语言,以表明董事会可以为因紧急学校关闭而损失的教学时间,确定其他选择,例如数字学习日,总统日或独立学习日。目前,学区政策规定,学校紧急关闭日将在“总统日”之前确定,董事会保留举行会议以确定第二年日期的权利。  

犹他州学校董事会协会十月挑战赛

教育委员会讨论了Eric Sheninger撰写的“数字领导力”一书中的阅读章节。 

同意议程 

教育委员会批准了同意议程中的项目,包括自2020年10月6日委员会会议以来的会议记录;雇用和解雇报告;采购投标; 9月财务报告; LEA特定的许可证; 2020-2021年犹他州拨款申请;并更新了2020-2021年学校日历。 

学校亮点

联盟中校长Kelly Tauteoli表示,“善举”是联盟学生在SafeUT移动应用程序上报告次数最多的事件之一,鼓励学校社区使用这些事件来维护安全宜人的校园。陶特奥利(Tauteoli)表示,联合中间人在社会经济和种族上各不相同-但这也是其实力的很大一部分。她说,尽管2019年10月的大火引发了一段时间的调度动荡,并且犹他州3月COVID-19的学校``软关闭'',但联合中学的阅读成绩却有所提高。 Union还以其可容纳的核心和扩展的核心集群以及充满活力的表演艺术计划而感到自豪。 

认可

以下学生,教师和教职员工的成就得到认可:

  • Corner Canyon和Hillcrest高中的学生剧场节目,在第44届年度高中莎士比亚比赛中赢得了各自部门的Sweepstakes奖。约旦和阿尔塔的高中生也在活动中获奖。 
  • 来自CSD所有五所传统中学的三十七名学生,因其在秋季运动季获得了“学术全州奖”而获奖。这些荣誉是由犹他州高中活动协会颁发的。
  • Brighton High的Baylee Bruce和Corner Canyon的Zachary Meyer,因被美国长曲棍球选中而获得2020 Jackie Pitts和Bob Scott奖。今年,全国范围内有65名获奖者因其在野外的努力而获得认可。选择是基于每个地理区域内教练的投票。 
  • Corner Canyon High的Caysen Wright,在6A男孩高尔夫球比赛中赢得2020年个人冠军。

主管,业务管理员报告

里克·罗宾斯博士 对董事会成员对学校,教师,校长和学生的支持表示感谢。他说,电子邮件或电话中提供的所有建议,甚至是截然相反的想法,都应予以考虑。罗宾斯还指出,由于已确认的COVID-19病例减少,所有Canyons学校都恢复了常规。 

业务管理员 列昂·威尔考克斯 说,根据10月1日的入学人数,Canyons的名册减少了700名学生,这可能是一个财务挑战,因为州政府的资助主要基于入学人数。虽然学区不确定,但学生可能去过私立或特许学校,而不是上惩教署。此外,他报告说,预计将在几天内交付2700台Chromebook,以帮助进行在线学习。

教育委员会成员报告

查德·艾弗森先生 报告参加乐队比赛和足球比赛,并对学生的课外活动表示感谢。鉴于即将举行的美国总统大选,他评论了美国成立的原则。

史蒂夫·里格利先生 还对选举发表了评论,包括拟议的修正案G。 

阿曼达·奥克斯夫人 重申感谢政府为制定加强虚拟学习计划所做的工作,并说她为自己的孩子重返校园学习感到高兴。她指出了投票的重要性。

蒙·米勒伯格先生 要求更改数据仪表盘的编码,并称赞Hillcrest和Corner Canyon在第44届年度莎士比亚比赛中获得的抽奖奖项。他评论了基于最佳实践和家庭的投入,为改善和简化虚拟学习而进行的合作。

对于国家首席赞赏月, 廷吉总统 注意到峡谷区校长的辛勤工作和奉献精神。 

董事会成员 琥珀色希尔 感谢家长,老师和学生,他们通过电子邮件和电话留言为学校运营的对话做出了贡献。她感谢董事会成员的奉献精神以及他们在担任董事会成员时所花费的时间。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到linkedin
分享到twitter
分享到email

Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Board Meeting Summary, Oct 20, 2020

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items.

Long-Range Planning Committee Update

An expected influx of up to 225 children to the Midvale area by 2025, prompted by the development of Jordan Bluffs, has been a focus of study by the Board of Education’s Long-Range Planning Committee. Business Administrator Leon Wilcox presented two options to potentially balance the enrollments at Midvale-area elementary schools. Two of the four schools, Midvale and East Midvale, are at more than 90 percent capacity. The two other schools, Copperview and Midvalley, are at 69 and 54.7 percent capacity, respectively. A recommended option is expected to be presented at the Nov. 10 meeting of the Board of Education. If a plan is approved, the District would follow any laws governing public notification of a possible boundary change.

Online Learning Update

An online-learning update to the Board of Education included a proposal to launch a District Steering Committee. The group, to be made up of administrators, principals and teachers, would help build and support a community of online learners in CSD. The Administration also seeks the addition of a secondary-school online leadership team, a formalization of secondary IPLCs, a refinement of coaching supports, and a clarification of Student Support Team processes. Instructional Supports Department Administrator Jesse Hennefer presented information about student and teacher expectations for virtual learning, be it when a student is on quarantine, is engaged in all-virtual learning, when a school is on a split or hybrid schedule, or when the entire school pivots to all-online-learning because of an uptick in COVID-19 cases. The District also is moving forward with a proposal to create an online learning center, led by an administrator and supported by staff, to support online learners. If current plans are realized, the center would have a Canvas Help Desk Technicians, an Online Support Assistance, outreach assistances, and success coaches. The District plans to start work on this center immediately.

Utah College Application Week

Following tradition, Canyons Education Foundation is dedicating up to $10,000 to help pay college-application fees for students who are participating in Utah College Application Week. During the annual event, every Canyons high school senior is encouraged to complete and submit at least one viable college application.  Foundation Board President Landon Bradfield and Development Officer Denise Haycock presented a display check to the Board of Education. 

School Calendars

The Board of Education reviewed the school-year calendar for the 2021-2022 school year and the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 school years. The Board also updated language in policy to indicate that the Board may determine an alternative option, such as a Digital Learning Day, Presidents’ Day, or an Independent Learning Day, for instructional time lost due to an emergency school closure. Currently, District policy states that school emergency-closure days will be made up first on Presidents’ Day, and the Board reserves the right to meet to determine a secondary date.  

Utah School Boards Association October Challenge

The Board of Education discussed reading chapters from the book “Digital Leadership” by Eric Sheninger. 

Consent Agenda 

The Board of Education approved the items in the Consent Agenda, including the minutes from the Oct. 6, 2020 meeting of the Board; hire and termination reports; purchasing bids; September Financial Reports; LEA-specific licenses; the 2020-2021 Utah Grants Application; and an update to 2020-2021 school calendar. 

School Highlights

Union Middle Principal Kelly Tauteoli says it speaks volumes that “acts of kindness” are the among the most-reported incidents by Union students on the SafeUT mobile app, which school communities are encouraged to use to maintain safe and welcoming campuses. Tauteoli said Union Middle is socio-economically and ethnically diverse — but that’s also a large part of its strength. Despite the October 2019 fire that sparked a period of scheduling upheaval and the March “soft closure” of Utah schools for COVID-19, Union Middle reading scores ticked upward, she said. Union also is proud of its Accommodated Core and Extended Core Clusters, as well as its vibrant performing-arts programs. 

Recognitions

The following students, faculty and staff were recognized for their achievements:

  • Student theater programs at Corner Canyon and Hillcrest high schools, for winning the Sweepstakes awards in their divisions at the 44th annual High School Shakespeare Competition. Jordan and Alta high students also won awards at the event. 
  • Thirty-seven students from all five of CSD’s traditional high schools, for earning Academic All-State Awards for the fall sport season. These honors are presented by the Utah High School Activities Association.
  • Brighton High’s Baylee Bruce and Corner Canyon’s Zachary Meyer, for being chosen by U.S. Lacrosse to receive the 2020 Jackie Pitts and Bob Scott awards. This year, 65 honorees nationally were recognized for their efforts on and off the field. Selections are based on voting by coaches within each geographical area. 
  • Corner Canyon High’s Caysen Wright, for winning the 2020 individual title holder in 6A boys golf.

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Dr. Rick Robins expressed appreciation to Board members for their support of schools, teachers, principals and students. He said all suggestions provided in emails or phone calls, even the ideas that are diametrically opposed, are taken into consideration. Robins also noted that all Canyons schools have returned to a regular schedule because of decreased confirmed COVID-19 cases. 

Business Administrator Leon Wilcox said that, based on Oct. 1 enrollment counts, Canyons’ rolls decreased 700 students, which could prove to be a financial challenge because state funding is largely based on enrollment. While the District does not know for sure, the students may have gone to private or charter schools instead of attending CSD. In addition, he reported that an expected shipment of 2,700 Chromebooks to aid in online learning will arrive in a few days.

Board of Education Member Reports

Mr. Chad Iverson reported on attending band competitions and soccer games and expressed gratitude for the student extracurricular activities. In light of the upcoming U.S. Presidential election, he commented on the principles on which the country was founded.

Mr.  Steve Wrigley also commented on the election, including the proposed Amendment G. 

Mrs. Amanda Oaks reiterated thanks to the Administration for its work on building a plan to strengthen virtual learning, and said she was glad for her children to return to on-campus learning. She noted the importance of voting.

Mr. Mont Millerberg asked for a coding change to the Data Dashboard and lauded the Sweepstakes awards won by Hillcrest and Corner Canyon at the 44th annual Shakespeare Competition. He remarked about the collaborative efforts to improve and streamline virtual learning, based on best practices and the input from families.

For National Principal Appreciation Month, President Tingey noted the hard work and dedication of Canyons District’s principals. 

Board member Amber Shill thanked parents, teachers, and students who contributed to conversations about the operations of schools through emails and phone messages.  She thanked the members of the Board for their dedication and time they spend in their duties as Board members.

Close Menu