董事会会议摘要,2021 年 10 月 19 日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过点击相应的议程项目

远程学习日

 将留出六个星期五作为远程学习日。教育委员会批准了一项提议,从 11 月 5 日开始,每月一个星期五将学习转变为在线形式。行政当局将在未来的某个日期与其他提议的星期五一起返回学年剩余时间。在远程学习日,学生将在偏远地区进行独立学习。教师将与学生进行一对一的计划、协作和工作。远程学习日的目的是为那些因与大流行相关的问题、持续的工作人员和替代品短缺以及学生缺勤而精疲力竭、压力大和精疲力竭的教师和学校支持人员提供救济。董事会确信不会浪费教学时间,并且教师将被要求上班。与去年非常相似,学生将访问学区通用在线学习管理系统 Canvas 上的作业。这段时间不打算用于运动或表演艺术实践。 

社会情感学习课程

教育委员会指示政府在本学年之前一直使用“第二步”社交情感学习课程的学校社区进行调查。调查的目的是衡量对 SEL 计划延续到学年结束的支持水平。董事会要求在将调查问题发送给顾客之前对其进行审查。在查看中学课程的家长发现包含相关内容的第三方网站链接后,峡谷学校使用的课程,称为“第二步”,在峡谷所有年级暂停使用。在为短期 SEL 选项提供选项的演示中,学校绩效总监 McKay Robinson 博士表示,无论使用何种 SEL 计划,如果父母不想让孩子参与,他们都可以选择退出。此外,他说,由总监和几位部门主任组成的行政内阁将在使用 SEL 课程之前对其进行审查。政府将继续研究 SEL 计划,以向董事会提出长期解决方案。 

员工支持

峡谷地区管理局正在努力为报告在大流行期间压力大和倦怠的员工提供救济。 CSD 学校的教育工作者报告说,出勤要求的降低,加上因 COVID-19 患病而缺席的学生人数,使确保每个学生都能在没有补救的情况下按年级学习成为一项挑战。此外,教师报告说必须在面对面授课的同时为不在课堂上的学生更新 Canvas 页面。由于缺乏替代品,教师和支持人员都被要求为生病的同事提供补给,而且由于 200 多个职位空缺,所有职位的员工也不得不承担双重职责。作为回应,政府推出了督导聆听之旅,以听取员工的意见和想法;取消所有非国家规定或与赠款相关的专业发展课程;暂停推出任何直接影响教师工作量的新举措;并安排与主要小组的会议,讨论改善教师和学校支持的方法。此外,CSD 将向员工发送有关可用心理健康资源的更多信息,要求学区办公室员工为正在接受 LETRS(阅读和拼写教师的语言基础)计划培训的教师提供替补,并继续开展活动以吸引更多替代老师。

 战略规划过程

Education Elements 管理合伙人 Shelby McIntosh 博士向教育委员会介绍了正在进行的战略计划流程,包括对完成增长和发展蓝图的时间表的小幅延长。 McIntosh 博士还审查了拟议的重点领域,并围绕规划团队的人员招聘展开了讨论。这些团队将在“学习体验”、“访问和机会”、“以人为本的支持”和“操作系统”领域吸引他们的注意力。计划团队成员的邀请计划于 10 月的最后一周发出。已签约指导创建 CSD 战略计划的教育元素也建议指导委员会计划在 12 月中旬审查规划团队的工作。

长期规划

Canyons 最新的小学 Glacier Hills 的建设进展顺利,最终将容纳目前的 Bell View 和 Edgemont 学校社区。课程搬入新学校后,学区将把 Bell View 大楼改造成 Diamond Ridge High 和 Entrada、Canyons 替代高中和成人高中以及 Canyons Youth Academy 的设施。业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 表示,工作人员可以在夏季的几个月内改造入口和前台,并完成一个咨询中心。 2023 年,如果该计划在即将举行的会议上获得董事会批准,工人们将建造科学实验室、艺术教室、FACS 教室和学前区。行政当局将于十一月将该计划提交委员会审议。 Wilcox 还告诉董事会,自 2019-2020 年以来,Canyons 的入学人数减少了约 1,000 名。所有峡谷中学的入学率都在下降。两所高中——希尔克雷斯特和布莱顿——略有增长。 Wilcox 还展示了 Midvale 地区学校新边界的早期草案。可能会在 2022 年春季向董事会提交提案。 未来可能的项目包括 CTEC 升级、CSD 建筑物状况审查、犹他州监狱现在占用区域的增长计划以及使用旧的新月视图 中楼。

政策更新

教育委员会批准了对管理学生教育旅行的政策的更新,以及学校制定教师和学生成功计划必须遵循的流程。

校历

教育委员会正在考虑 2022-2023、2023-2024 和 2024-2025 学年的拟议日历。

学校更新

Lone Peak 小学校长 Tracy Stacy 称赞她的教职员工的创新精神。今年,由于教职员工解决问题,助手和“大脑助推器”教师正在以创造性的方式为教师提供支持。例如,她说,五年级的戏剧教学助理正在与学生一起为现代观众重写《奥德赛》,艺术指导员也在帮助学生看到数学与艺术之间的联系。 Stacy 校长感谢董事会有机会谈论 Lone Peak 的成功。 

顾客评论

35 位赞助人在商务会议的赞助人评论部分向教育委员会发表了讲话。可以在 BoardDocs 上访问评论记录。 

同意议程

 教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括 2021 年 10 月 5 日教育委员会会议记录;雇用和终止报告;采购标书;学生过夜旅行请求;和 9 月财务报告。政策委员会将被要求审查性教育指导委员会的组成。 

主管,业务管理员报告

业务管理员Leon Wilcox 注意到设施主管 Rick Conger 即将退休。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到linkedin
分享到twitter
分享到email

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Board Meeting Summary, Oct. 19, 2021

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items

Remote-Learning Days

 Six Fridays will be set aside as remote-learning days. The Board of Education approved a proposal to shift learning to an online format one Friday a month, starting Nov. 5. The Administration will return at a future date with other proposed Fridays for the rest of the school year. On the remote-learning days, students will engage in independent study from remote locations. Teachers will plan, collaborate, and work one-on-one with students. The aim of remote-learning days is to provide relief for teachers and school support staff who say they are exhausted, stressed and burned out because of pandemic-related issues, the ongoing staff and substitute shortage, and student absenteeism. The Board was assured that instructional time will not be lost, and teachers will be required to report to work. Much like last year, students will access assignments on Canvas, the District’s common online-learning management system. This time would not be intended to be used for athletic or performing arts practices. 

Social Emotional Learning Curriculum

The Board of Education directed the Administration to conduct surveys in school communities that have been using the “Second Step” social-emotional learning curriculum previous to this school year. The aim of the surveys would be to gauge the level of support for the continuation of the SEL program until the end of the school year. The Board asked to review the survey questions before they are sent to patrons. The curriculum that had been used in Canyons schools, called “Second Step,” was suspended for use in Canyons at all grade levels after parents who were reviewing the middle school curriculum found links to third-party websites that contained concerning content. In a presentation that provided options for short-term SEL options, School Performance Director Dr. McKay Robinson said that, regardless of the SEL program being used, parents would be able to opt-out if they do not want their children to participate. Additionally, he said, the administrative Cabinet, made up of the Superintendent and several department directors, would vet SEL curriculum before it is used. The Administration will continue to study SEL programs to propose to the Board for a long-term solution. 

Employee Supports

The Canyons District Administration is working to provide relief to employees who are reporting high levels of stress and burnout in the midst of the pandemic. Educators in CSD schools report that the weakened attendance requirements, coupled with the number of absent students who are ill with COVID-19, have made it a challenge to ensure every student is learning at grade level without remediation. Further, teachers report having to teach in-person classes while concurrently updating Canvas pages for students who are not in class. Teachers and support staff alike are being asked to cover for sick colleagues because of the dearth of substitutes, and  employees in all positions also have had to pull double-duty because of the more than 200 jobs that remain unfilled. In response, the Administration has launched a Superintendent Listening Tour to get input and ideas from employees; cancelled all professional development sessions that are not state-mandated or tied to grants; suspended the rollout of any new initiatives that directly impact teacher workload; and scheduled meetings with principal groups to discuss ways to improve teacher and school supports.  Additionally, CSD will send more information to employees about available mental-health resources, ask District Office employees to sub for teachers who are training for the LETRS (Language Essentials for Teachers of Reading and Spelling) program, and continue a campaign to attract additional substitute teachers.

 Strategic Planning Process

Education Elements managing partner Dr. Shelby McIntosh updated the Board of Education on the ongoing strategic plan process, including a minor extension of the timeline to complete the blueprint for growth and development. Dr. McIntosh also reviewed proposed focus areas and engaged in a discussion surrounding the recruitment of people for Planning Teams.  The teams would winnow their attention in the areas of “Learning Experiences,” “Access and Opportunity,” “Human Centered Support,” and “Operating Systems.” Invitations to Planning Team members are scheduled to go out the last week of October. Education Elements, which has been contracted to guide the creation of CSD’s strategic plan, also suggests that the Steering Committee plan to review the work of Planning Teams mid-December.

Long Term Planning

Construction is well underway for Canyons’ newest elementary, Glacier Hills, which will eventually house the current Bell View and Edgemont school communities. Once classes have been moved into the new school, the District will renovate the Bell View building into a facility for Diamond Ridge High and Entrada, Canyons’ alternative and adult high schools, and the Canyons Youth Academy. Business Administrator Leon Wilcox said crews could spend the summer months remodeling the entrance and front office and complete a counseling center. In 2023, if the plan meets Board approval at an upcoming meeting, workers will build science labs, an art classroom, a FACS classroom, and a preschool area. The Administration will bring the plan to the Board for consideration in November. Wilcox also told the Board that Canyons’ enrollment has decreased about 1,000 students since 2019-2020.  All Canyons middle schools are experiencing dips in enrollment. Two high schools — Hillcrest and Brighton — saw minor increases. Wilcox also showed early drafts of new boundaries for Midvale-area schools. A proposal may be presented to the Board in spring 2022. Possible future projects include a CTEC upgrade, a review of the condition of CSD buildings, a growth plan for the area now occupied by the Utah State Prison, and proposals for the use of the old Crescent View Middle building.

Policy Update

The Board of Education approved updates to policies governing student educational travel and the process schools must follow to create their Teacher and Student Success Plans.

Academic Calendars

The Board of Education is considering proposed calendars for the 2022-2023,  2023-2024, and 2024-2025 school years.

School Update

Lone Peak Elementary Principal Tracy Stacy lauded the innovation of her faculty and staff. This year, thanks to the problem-solving of the faculty and staff, aides and “Brain Booster” teachers are providing support to teachers in creative ways. For example, she said, the fifth-grade drama instructional aide is working with students to rewrite “The Odyssey” for a modern audience, and an arts instructor also is helping students see the connection between math and artistry. Principal Stacy thanked the Board for the opportunity to talk about Lone Peak’s successes. 

Patron Comment

Thirty-five patrons addressed the Board of Education during the Patron Comment portion of the Business meeting. Recordings of the remarks can be accessed on BoardDocs. 

Consent Agenda

 The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including the minutes for the Board of Education meeting on Oct. 5, 2021; hire and termination reports; purchasing bids; student overnight travel requests; and September Financial Reports.  The Policy Committee will be asked to review the makeup of the Sex Education Instruction Committee. 

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Business Administrator Leon Wilcox noted the upcoming retirement of Facilities Director Rick Conger.

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org