董事会会议摘要,2021 年 11 月 9 日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过点击相应的议程项目

 社会情感学习课程

 教育委员会选择寻求新的社会情感学习课程来取代小学和中学的“第二步”。董事会的大多数成员投票决定永久暂停该程序的使用,该程序已被暂停,因为人们对中学课程中发现的第三方网站链接表示担忧。董事会还投票决定允许中学在本学年剩余时间内继续进行社会情感学习。 10 月 29 日至 11 月进行的一项调查结果。 5 在使用“第二步”课程的小学社区也进行了审查。在对在线调查做出回应的 15.3% 的父母和监护人中,41.26% 的人表示他们“相信社会情感学习计划在我孩子的学校取得了积极的成果。”大约 15.3% 的人表示,他们认为这不会对他们的学生或孩子的学校产生积极的影响。大约 10% 的人表示,他们认为 SEL 计划对他们的孩子或学校没有负面或正面影响。近 35% 的人表示他们没有足够的信息来发表意见。大约 54% 的人表示,如果该计划要继续,他们希望他们的孩子参与,16.43% 的人表示,如果可以的话,他们会“选择退出”。近 30% 的人表示他们还没有决定。在员工中,1,527 名受访者中有 81.58% 表示“第二步”对学校环境做出了积极贡献,3.42% 表示他们认为没有产生积极影响。大约 6.58% 的人表示它既没有正面影响也没有负面影响,8.4% 的人表示他们没有足够的信息来提供意见。约 75.57% 的人表示他们更喜欢在本学年剩余时间使用“第二步”,12.34% 表示不希望在本学年剩余时间恢复该计划。 12% 的人表示他们没有意见。董事会打算通过战略规划过程与行政部门合作,审查峡谷学校社会情感学习的可能选项。

紧急关闭日

教育委员会听取了有关如何弥补因恶劣天气等情况紧急关闭学校而损失的教学时间的选项。根据犹他州法律,任何损失的教学时间必须在学年结束前补上,根据峡谷区批准的日历,董事会有三种选择:在总统日安排补课日,将学年延长一天,或转向远程学习日。学校绩效总监 Alice Peck 表示,去年在 2021 年 2 月 17 日的暴风雪中对飞行员进行了测试,远程学习选项被证明是让学生保持学习进度的有效方式。当天的学生出勤率——通过学生登录 CSD 的在线学习平台、联系他们的老师以及完成所需的课堂作业来衡量——在 35 所 CSD 学校有所改善或保持不变。另一方面,补课日的学生出勤率历来很低,缺勤率高达 30% 到 50%。董事会将在下一次董事会会议上再次讨论此事。

策略计划

教育元素高级设计校长 Drew Schantz 讨论了战略规划目的的后续步骤。已成立的委员会将于 11 月和 12 月举行会议,讨论诸如“获得高质量学习”、“获得高等教育途径”、“高质量教师”、“资源分配”、“治理”等主题。和“内部沟通”等。

峡谷教育基金会更新

发展官员 Denise Haycock 表示,峡谷教育基金会在过去两个学年带来了超过 $130 万的现金捐赠和 $322,065 的实物捐赠,他还补充说,该基金会收到了大约 $23,000 的广告捐款和伙伴关系每年。最大的筹款活动是高尔夫锦标赛,在过去两年中筹集了 $200,000,并帮助资助了基金会创新补助金、年度教师庆祝礼品篮和获奖者现金奖励以及犹他州大学申请周等举措.对于 UCAW,基金会提供高达 $10,000 的资金帮助低收入学生支付大学申请费。海科克说,在身体和心理健康方面有需要的学生也可以通过基金会获得帮助。此外,该基金会还资助了 $47,000 的奖学金,以及“新星”和“璀璨之星”奖学金,以及乔丹高中的费尔伯恩奖学金捐赠基金 $119,279。海科克还提到了为七年级学生开设的 my529 大学储蓄账户。

学费政策审查

州法律要求峡谷学区在 4 月 1 日之前采用即将到来的学年费用表,其中包括要求每个学生支付的最高费用金额。 学区还必须遵守有关对学校活动的豁免和捐赠的规定.业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 表示,在 2020-2021 学年,学区收取了 $5,167,220 的一般课程、课外课程和课外费用。根据法律和政策,部分 $434,739 被免除。 Wilcox 表示,拟议的 2022-2023 年费用表将于 2 月提交给董事会。

学校亮点

Bell View 小学校长 Tamra Baker 在与 Edgemont 合并成为 Glacier Hills 小学社区之前将担任该学校的最终校长,她感谢家长和监护人在一年中 180 天将孩子托付给学校。为了让董事会了解 Bell View 学生的观点,贝克问了学生几个问题:“今年发生在你身上的最好的事情是什么?” “今年你做的最难的事情是什么?”和“你什么时候是好朋友?”孩子们说他们结交了朋友,实现了目标,赢得了班级聚会,并度过了美好的生日。他们还在乘法表上辛勤工作,学习了新游戏的规则,并克服了识字挑战。而且,她说,他们说他们帮助摔倒的朋友,包括那些被排除在外的朋友,并和一个年轻的学生一起读书。 Baker 说,Bell View Elementary 的教师和工作人员不知疲倦地努力塑造善良、同情和希望等特征。他们还每天都在寻求改变学生生活的教育,并相信这是指导学生学习和发展的“神圣信任”。

提议的重新划分地图

 拟议的描绘教育委员会成员可能的选区的地图是重新划分过程的一部分,已获得教育委员会的批准。这些地图试图平衡每个区域的顾客数量,现在将被转发到盐湖县以供考虑。

校历

 教育委员会批准了 2022-2023 学年的校历,并初步批准了 2023-2024 和 2024-2025 学年的拟议校历。

顾客评论

赞助人在商务会议的赞助人评论部分向教育委员会发表了讲话。可以在 BoardDocs 上访问评论的录音。

同意议程

教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括峡谷教育委员会 2021 年 10 月 19 日会议的会议记录;雇用和终止报告;采购标书;学生过夜旅行请求;十月财务报告;在 2022-2023 学年将 Diamond Ridge 和 Entrada 高中搬迁到 Bell View 小学大楼;桑迪小学的土地信托和 TSSP 修正案;确认 2021-2022 学年剩余的五个远程学习日;与 ESP 协会就远程学习周五的个人假期签订的谅解备忘录;批准 LEA 特定的许可证;和 CSD 与高山地区之间关于 Suncrest 巴士的谅解备忘录。

主管,业务管理员报告

督学 Rick Robins 博士感谢董事会对峡谷社会情感学习课程的彻底审议。在解决我们学校面临的问题时,他要求社区团结、善良和文明。他感谢教育支持专业人员的辛勤工作,尤其是在当今劳动力短缺的情况下。全国 ESP 鉴赏日是 11 月 17 日。

业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 注意到健康保险的开放注册期已经结束,Alta 的体育馆和 Brighton 的停车场已经完工。 Hillcrest 的礼堂也计划在未来几周内完工。 Wilcox 还感谢 ESP 的工作和奉献。

董事会成员报告

阿曼达·奥克斯夫人 报道了参加音乐表演并感谢即将到来的秋季音乐剧的老师和顾问。她还促请政府推进对惩教署学校艺术需求和需求的调查。

霍莉·尼鲍尔夫人 说她有她在 Corner Canyon High 的“Newsies”门票,注意到她很高兴听到布莱顿和阿尔塔的停车场和体育馆完工,并感谢董事会成员就社会情感学习进行的热烈讨论。她还要求关于学区如何通过 LETRS 培训支持教师的未来议程项目。

克莱伦·阿诺德夫人 敦促社区考虑担任教育支持专业人员。

在这个感恩节的月份, 南希廷吉总统 她对 CSD 的行政部门、学校领导、教师和 ESP 以及家长和学生在学区中所扮演的角色表示感谢。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到linkedin
分享到twitter
分享到email

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Board Meeting Summary, Nov. 9, 2021

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items

 Social-Emotional Learning Curriculum

 The Board of Education opted to seek a new social-emotional learning curriculum to replace “Second Step” at both the elementary and secondary levels. The majority of the Board voted to permanently suspend use of the program, which had been placed on pause since concerns were expressed about a link to a third-party website found in the middle-school curriculum. The Board also voted to allow middle schools to proceed as they currently are for social-emotional learning for the rest of the school year. Results of a survey conducted Oct. 29-Nov. 5 in elementary school communities where the “Second Step” curriculum had been used were reviewed, as well. Of the 15.3 percent of the parents and guardians who responded to the online survey, 41.26 percent said they “believed the social-emotional learning program has positive outcomes in my child’s school.” Some 15.3 percent said they do not believe it has contributed to positive outcomes in their students or at their child’s school. Roughly 10 percent said they don’t think the SEL program had either a negative or positive affect on their child or the school. Nearly 35 percent said they did not have enough information to make an opinion. About 54 percent said they wanted their children to participate if the program were to continue, and 16.43 percent said they would “opt out” of participation if it were available. Nearly 30 percent said they had not decided. Of employees, 81.58 percent of the 1,527 respondents said the “Second Step” had contributed positively to the school environment, and 3.42 percent said they did not think it had a positive impact. Some 6.58 percent say it has neither positively nor negatively impacted, and 8.4 percent say they do not have enough information to provide an opinion. Some 75.57 percent say they prefer that “Second Step” be used for the remainder of the year, and 12.34 percent prefer that the program not be reinstated for the remainder of the school year. Twelve percent said they did not have an opinion. The Board intends to work with the Administration through the strategic planning process to review options for possible options for social-emotional learning in Canyons schools.

Emergency Closure Days

The Board of Education heard options for how to make up lost instructional time in the event of an emergency school closure due to such circumstances as severe weather. Under Utah law, any lost instructional time must be made up before the close of the school year, and under Canyons District’s approved calendar, the Board has three options: schedule a make-up day on President’s Day, extend the school year by a day, or pivot to a remote-learning day. Pilot tested last year during a heavy snowstorm on Feb. 17, 2021, the remote-learning option proved to be an effective way to keep students on track with their learning, says School Performance Director Alice Peck. Student attendance that day — as measured by students logging on to CSD’s online learning platform, contacting their teachers, and completing required classwork — improved or remained the same at 35 CSD schools. Make-up days, on the other hand, have had historically poor student attendance with absence rates as high as 30 to 50 percent. The Board will take up the matter again at the next Board meeting.

Strategic Planning

Education Elements Senior Design Principal Drew Schantz discussed the next steps in the strategic-planning purpose. Committees that have been formed will meet in November and December to discuss such topics as “Access to High Quality Learning,” “Access to Post-Secondary Pathways,” “High Quality Teaching Staff,” “Distribution of Resources,” “Governance,” and “Internal Communications,” among several others.

Canyons Education Foundation Update

The Canyons Education Foundation brought in more than $1.3 million in cash donations and $322,065 in in-kind donations in the past two school years, said Development Officer Denise Haycock, who also added that the Foundation receives approximately $23,000 in advertising and partnerships every year. The top fundraising event is the golf tournament, which has garnered $200,000 in the past two years, and helps fund such initiatives as Foundation Innovation Grants, Teacher of the Year celebration gifts baskets and cash awards for winners, and the Utah College Application Week. For UCAW, the Foundation provides up to $10,000 to help low-income students pay college-application fees. Students in need, both physically and with mental health supports, also are given help through the Foundation, Haycock said.  In addition, the Foundation facilitates $47,000 in scholarships, plus the “Rising Star” and “Bright Star” scholarships, and the Fairbourn Scholarship Endowment at Jordan High for $119,279.  Haycock also noted the my529 College Savings Account for seventh-grade students.

School Fees Policy Review

State law requires Canyons District to adopt a coming-school-year fee schedule, which includes the maximum fee amount that each student would be asked to pay, by April 1. The District also must abide by rules regarding waivers and donations to schools for activities.  In the 2020-2021 school year, said Business Administrator Leon Wilcox, the District collected $5,167,220 in general, curricular, co-curricular and extracurricular fees. Some $434,739 was waived, according to law and policy. Wilcox said the proposed 2022-2023 fee schedule will be presented to the Board in February.

School Highlights

Bell View Elementary Principal Tamra Baker, who will serve as the final principal of the school before it merges with Edgemont to become the Glacier Hills Elementary school community, thanked parents and guardians for entrusting the school with their children for 180 days of the year. To give the Board a glimpse of the viewpoint of Bell View students, Baker asked students a few questions:  “What is the best thing that has happened to you this year?” “What is the hardest thing that you have done this year?” and “When was a time when you were a good friend?”  Children said they made friends, met goals, won a class party, and had great birthdays. They also toiled on multiplication tables, learned rules of new games, and overcame literacy challenges. And, she said, they said they helped friends who fell, included those who were left out, and read books with a younger student. Baker said Bell View Elementary’s teachers and staff work tirelessly to model such characteristics as kindness, empathy, and hope. They also seek every day to make an educational difference in the lives of the students and believe it’s a “sacred trust” to guide the learning and development of the students.

Proposed Redistricting Maps

 Proposed maps delineating possible precincts of the members of the Board of Education, which were done as part of the redistricting process, were approved by the Board of Education. The maps, which attempt to equalize the number of patrons in each precinct, will now be forwarded to Salt Lake County for consideration.

Academic Calendar

 The Board of Education approved a school calendar for 2022-2023 academic year and gave tentative approval to the proposed calendars for 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 school years.

Patron Comments

Patrons addressed the Board of Education during the Patron Comment portion of the Business meeting. Recordings of the remarks can be accessed on BoardDocs.

Consent Agenda

The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including minutes of the Oct. 19, 2021 meeting of the Canyons Board of Education; hire and termination reports; purchasing bids; student overnight travel requests; October financial reports; the relocation of Diamond Ridge and Entrada high schools to the Bell View Elementary building for the 2022-2023 school year; LAND Trust and TSSP Amendments for Sandy Elementary; affirmation of the five remaining Remote-Learning Days for the 2021-2022 school year;  a Memorandum of Understanding with the ESP Association regarding personal leave days on Remote-Learning Fridays; approval of LEA-specific licenses; and Memorandum of Understanding between CSD and Alpine District regarding Suncrest busing.

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins thanked the Board for its thorough deliberation of the social-emotional learning curriculum in Canyons. He asked the community for unity, kindness, and civility when addressing issues facing our schools. He thanked the Education Support Professionals for their hard work, especially in today’s labor shortage.  National ESP Appreciation Day is Nov. 17.

Business Administrator Leon Wilcox noted the end of the Open Enrollment period for health insurance, the completion of Alta’s gymnasium and Brighton’s parking lot.  Hillcrest’s auditorium also is scheduled to be completed in the coming weeks.  Wilcox also thanked ESP for their work and dedication.

Board Member Reports

Mrs. Amanda Oaks reported on attending musical performances and thanked teachers and advisers of the upcoming fall musicals.  She also urged the Administration to move forward with a survey on the arts needs and wants in CSD schools.

Mrs. Holly Neibaur stated she has her tickets for “Newsies” at Corner Canyon High, noted how glad she is to hear the parking lot and gymnasium are completed at Brighton and Alta, and thanked Board members for their robust conversation about social-emotional learning.  She also asked for a future agenda item on how the District an support teachers with the LETRS training.

Mrs. Clareen Arnold urged the community to consider working as Education Support Professionals.

In this month of Thanksgiving, President Nancy Tingey expressed her gratitude for CSD’s administration, school leaders, teachers and ESP, as well as parents and students, for their roles in the District.

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org