董事会会议摘要,2020年11月10日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过单击相应的议程项目。

债券发行

教育委员会正在考虑批准发行 $79 万一般义务债券,以支付 Alta、Brighton 和 Hillcrest 高中的持续建设以及新联合中学的开工建设。业务管理员莱昂威尔科克斯表示,这笔资金将是 2017 年选民批准的 $2.83 亿债券措施的最终发行。另外正在考虑从选民批准的学校改善债券中退还 2011 年 4 月发行的约 $4000 万债券的提案2010年,如果该计划实现,以区AAA级债券评级和低利率,纳税人可节省$7.3百万至$7.6百万。教育委员会将在 12 月 1 日考虑对两项交易的债券决议。 2017 年债券措施中已发行的债券将于 2021 年 1 月中旬出售。退款债券的出售将于 2021 年 3 月发生。

董事会指标

教育委员会审查了该小组关于学生成绩、社区参与、客户服务、创新和财政问责制的管理原则的绩效衡量标准。峡谷研究和评估主任哈尔桑德森博士告诉董事会,由于去年春天因 COVID-19 大流行而导致犹他州学校“软关闭”,因此无法报告 2019-2020 学年学生成绩的几个常规指标教育。然而,尽管新型冠状病毒带来了挑战,但 91% 的峡谷区大三学生参加了 ACT,这是最常用的大学准备考试。 Sanderson 博士报告说,平均综合得分为 20.8,比上一年略有增加。 Canyons 的学生在英语、阅读、数学和科学方面的成绩也超过了全州平均分。桑德森博士说,峡谷高年级学生的毕业率稳定在 90%。社区参与的一个指标是峡谷学校的志愿服务。即使在缩短的一年里,11,441 名注册和批准的志愿者在 CSD 学校和特殊项目中提供了 93,564 小时的服务。 100% 的校长和 73% 的学校社区委员会主席参加了年度培训研讨会。 66% 的 SCC 成员完成了培训。为了提供更好的客户服务,Canyons 网站经过重新设计并迁移到新平台。惩教署网站的访客人数跃升至 795 万人次,高于去年的 620 万人次。在年度家长满意度调查中,91% 的受访者表示他们对孩子在学校的学习情况感到满意。 91% 的人还表示,他们对 CSD 学校提供的社会情感支持感到满意。在一项针对教师的调查中,85% 的人表示他们对自己在峡谷区的工作感到满意。 CSD 还通过在“高质量虚拟教学”中提供专业发展、批准额外的双语浸入式课程以及开始形成 Canyons Online 和 Connect Canyons 的第一步进行创新,这两项努力支持虚拟学习。 AAA 债券评级、年度审计中的完全合规以及政府财务官员协会和国际学校企业官员协会的奖励表明了财政问责制。桑德森博士还介绍了有关所谓的“COVID-19 幻灯片”的信息,该幻灯片指的是由于去年春天取消了面对面的课程以及今年秋天在充满挑战的情况下重返学校而导致学生成绩下滑。虽然学生的成绩不如往年那么强劲,并且正在努力帮助弥补学术基础,但这些措施并不像对受 COVID-19 影响的学年的一些预测那么可怕。可以在 BoardDocs 上找到有关学生收益和成长目标的更多信息。 

人类性行为、性教育政策要求报告

在州要求的更新中,教学支持主任 Amber Roderick-Landward 博士审查了学区性教育指导委员会遵循的学区流程。该小组由来自整个学区的代表组成,每年至少会面两次,以审查与性教育相关的资源、演讲者和课程。在春季会议上,委员会研究县卫生数据。委员会还审查年度成熟计划。 Roderick-Landward 博士说,去年,由于 COVID-19 大流行,面对面的成熟演示被取消。然而,今年秋天向六年级学生的家长发送了一个专业制作的录制演示的链接。 CSD 收到了关于录制的演示文稿的积极反馈。委员会还收到了有关青少年生育、全县儿童性虐待受害者人数、盐湖县性传播疾病发病率以及学校纪律推荐色情内容的数据。

学费政策

教育委员会对其学费政策进行了国家要求的审查。

董事会圆桌会议

教育委员会成员决定于 2 月 9 日举行圆桌讨论。

埃奇蒙特秘鲁公园的临时位置

政府提议在 4 月 5 日至 9 日春季休会期间将 Edgemont 和秘鲁公园小学搬到旧的 Crescent View Middle 大楼,以加快这些社区新学校的建设进度。秘鲁公园和埃奇蒙特课程将在前中学举行,直到他们目前的校园建设完成。来自选民批准债券的资金将有助于支付这些设施的费用。该提案现在将由两所学校的 SCC 讨论,校长将向家长和员工发送信息以征求意见。董事会可能会在 12 月 1 日对该提案进行投票。

认可

以下学生,教师和教职员工的成就得到认可:

  • 布莱顿高中化学教师 Austin Gillespie 荣获犹他大学化学系颁发的 Ronald 和 Eileen Ragsdale 杰出高中化学教师奖。  
  • 阿尔塔高中学生艺术家 Jake Jensen 和 Ella Memmott 为 2020 年峡谷区假日卡创作了艺术品。 
  • 2020 年 Apex 奖的获奖者,他们是:
    • 年度最佳学校行政人员— Kelly Tauteoli,工会中层校长 
    • 年度地区管理员- Bob Dowdle 博士,助理警司,Susan Edwards,公众参与协调员 
    • 年度老师 — Emma Moss,Eastmont Middle  
    • 年度商业/社区合作伙伴 — 犹他州食品银行
    • 年度义工 — Araceli Rivera,East Midvale 和 Stacey Kratz,Midvale 地区学校志愿者 
    • 当选年度最佳官员 - 众议员史蒂夫埃利亚森,R-桑迪
    • 年度学生支持服务专业人员 — CSD 护士长 Sally Goodger 和 ISD 教育技术团队、Camille Cole、Michelle Shimmin、Justin Andersen、Jenna Townsend、Katie Blunt、Jonathan Stewart、Scott Lambert、Scott Christensen
    • 年度教育支持专业人员 — 保管协调员凯文·凯尔森 (Kevin Kelson) 
    • 传统奖 — Jim Briscoe 博士,前 CSD 主管

学校日历,“下雪天”选项

教育委员会批准了 2021-2022 学年的日历,并初步批准了 2022-2023 和 2023-2024 学年的日历。董事会还更新了政策中的语言,以表明董事会可以确定替代选项,例如数字学习日、总统日或独立学习日,以弥补因学校紧急关闭而损失的教学时间。此前,学区政策规定学校紧急关闭日将首先在总统日补上,并且董事会保留开会决定第二个日期的权利。学校绩效总监 Alice Peck 还介绍了当恶劣天气迫使建筑物关闭时,学区将如何进行虚拟或独立学习日而不是“下雪日”的信息。

Midvale 学校边界输入

将就 Midvale 地区学校的两个边界变更方案征求 Midvale 社区的意见。这些选项可以在 BoardDocs 上找到,由 CSD 的长期规划委员会创建,以平衡 Midvale 地区小学的入学人数,因为 Midvale 最近的住宅和商业增长。根据 Canyons 业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 的介绍,政府计划参与一个彻底的公共流程,以从顾客、员工和学生那里获得反馈。 CSD 将举办开放日活动,在学校和学区网站上发布信息,与 PTA 和 SCC 讨论问题,并与市政领导和其他利益相关者进行对话。学区还将这些信息翻译成西班牙语和其他语言,并遵循适用的州法律来管理潜在边界变化的公开通知。

同意议程

教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括峡谷教育委员会 2020 年 10 月 20 日会议的记录;雇用和终止报告;采购标书;十月财务报告;和 LEA 特定的许可证。

顾客评论

Merrin Maughn、Jaxson Baker、Alex Brown、McKenna Matthews、Matthew Schilling、Samantha Webb 和 Erika Bradshaw 在教育委员会上发表了讲话。他们的评论记录可以在 BoardDocs 上访问。 

主管,业务管理员报告

院长里克·罗宾斯博士 祝贺 2020 年 Apex 奖的获奖者,并概述了学区为确定与社区相关的 COVID-19 病例增加的学校是否需要更改时间表的过程。在做出决定之前,Robins 博士会与盐湖县卫生部以及当地医生和流行病学家交谈,并征求受影响学校校长的意见。检查了与学校相关的 COVID-19 病例的趋势线以及社区传播率。罗宾斯博士还指出,犹他州州长加里赫伯特的行政命令于 11 月 9 日星期一下午 1 点生效,要求参加橄榄球季后赛的参与者在参加比赛前 72 小时接受 COVID-19 检测。赛前检测呈阳性的学生将不被允许参加比赛。这可以用作冬季运动如何运作的试点。 

业务管理员Leon Wilcox 感谢保险部监督健康保险的开放注册期。他还注意到保险委员会为扩大员工心理健康支持所做的工作。 Wilcox 对员工在这个不确定和充满挑战的时期的辛勤工作表示赞赏。他还指出,即使在大流行期间,所有 29 所小学自学年开始以来每天都继续开学。 

教育委员会报告

阿曼达·奥克斯夫人 报道了参加通过 Zoom 举行的学生咨询委员会和 SCC 会议,以及讨论一旦犹他州监狱从其当前位置搬迁将如何使用土地的 The Point 工作组。她还祝贺当地候选人赢得最近的选举,包括阿尔比亚校长莫莉哈特博士,他在犹他州教育委员会和新的峡谷委员会成员冬青哈里队赢得了席位。她还说,她很感激学生们每天都能在学校接受面对面的指导。

琥珀希尔夫人 参加了刚刚结束第一年的布莱顿高级军乐队的朋友和家庭之夜。她祝贺布莱顿高中足球队取得了一个成功的赛季,感谢峡谷景观校长 Kierstin Draper 在筹款成功后睡在屋顶上,并欢迎 Neibaur 女士加入董事会。她还指出,她非常感谢在校学习。

史蒂夫·里格利先生 提到他参加了 CSD 艺术联盟,他在 KUTV 采访中谈到了董事会成员的薪酬,访问了 Entrada,以及布莱顿高进军乐队的朋友和家庭之夜。他还参加了州公共教育总监 Sydnee Dickson 博士最近访问 Eastmont Middle 的活动,祝贺 Emma Moss 在犹他州年度教师评选过程中获得亚军。 

克莱伦·阿诺德女士 祝贺哈特博士在她选举到犹他州教育委员会。阿诺德是一名教师,他谈到学生们在学校里的兴奋程度。她对 CSD 对社会情感学习的重视表示赞赏,尤其是在 COVID-19 时代。她感谢员工、家长和学生遵守安全预防措施,以便学校能够保持开放。

蒙·米勒伯格先生 感谢顾客在有关 Midvale 地区学校潜在边界变化的对话中加入他们的声音。他说,他感谢董事会成员和 CSD 管理人员努力征求社区意见并就重要问题进行富有成效的对话。

廷吉总统 报告参加学生咨询委员会会议。她说,虽然世界上存在动荡和不确定性,但也有很多值得感激的地方。她对现任董事会成员和其他竞选民选职位的人表示感谢。 

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到linkedin
分享到twitter
分享到email

Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Board Meeting Summary, Nov 10, 2020

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items.

Bond Issuances

The Board of Education is considering approving the issuance of $79 million in general-obligation bonds to pay for the continued construction at Alta, Brighton and Hillcrest high schools and the start of construction on the new Union Middle. Business Administrator Leon Wilcox said the funds will be the final issuance from the $283 million bond measure approved by voters in 2017. Also under consideration is a proposal to refund some $40 million in bonds issued in April 2011 from the school-improvement bonds approved by voters in 2010. If the plan is realized, with the District’s AAA bond rating and low interest rates, taxpayers could save between $7.3 million and $7.6 million. The Board of Education will consider a bond resolution for both transactions on Dec. 1. The issued bonds from the 2017 bond measure would be sold in mid-January 2021. The sale of refunded bonds would transpire in March 2021.

Board Indicators

The Board of Education reviewed performance measures for the panel’s governing tenets of student achievement, community engagement, customer service, innovation and fiscal accountability. Several regular indicators of student achievement for the 2019-2020 school year cannot be reported because of last spring’s “soft closure” of Utah schools as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, Canyons Research and Assessment Director Dr.  Hal Sanderson told the Board of Education. However, despite the challenges presented by the novel coronavirus, 91 percent of Canyons District juniors participated in the ACT, the most-commonly used college-readiness exam. The average composite score, Dr. Sanderson reported, was 20.8, which is a slight increase from the previous year. Canyons students also bested the statewide average scores in English, reading, mathematics, and science. The graduation rate for Canyons seniors remained steady at 90 percent, Dr. Sanderson said. An indicator of community engagement is the voluntarism in Canyons schools. Even in a shortened year, 11,441 registered and approved volunteers provided 93,564 hours of service in CSD schools and special programs. A full 100 percent of principals and 73 percent of School Community Council chairs participated in the annual training workshops. Sixty-six percent of SCC members completed the trainings. In an effort to provide better customer service, the Canyons website was redesigned and moved to a new platform. The number of visitors to the CSD website jumped to 7.95 million, up from 6.2 million the previous year. In the yearly Parent Satisfaction Survey, 91 percent of respondents indicated they were pleased with how much their children were learning at school.  Ninety-one percent also said they were pleased with the social-emotional supports provided at CSD schools. In a survey of teachers, 85 percent said they were satisfied with their job in Canyons District. CSD also innovated by providing professional development in “High Quality Virtual Teaching,” approving additional Dual Language Immersion programs, and starting the first steps to form Canyons Online and Connect Canyons, two efforts to support virtual learning.  Fiscal accountability was shown by the AAA bond rating, full compliance in the annual audit, and awards from the Government Finance Officers Association and the Association of School Business Officials International. Dr. Sanderson also presented information about the so-called “COVID-19 slide,” which refers to the slip in student achievement because of the cancelled in-person classes last spring and the return to school in challenging circumstances this fall. While student achievement is not as robust as previous years, and efforts are being made to help make up academic ground, the measures are not as dire as some predictions for the COVID-19-impacted school year. More information about student gains and growth goals can be found on BoardDocs. 

Human Sexuality, Sex Education Policy Required Reports

In a state-required update, Instructional Supports Director Dr. Amber Roderick-Landward reviewed the District’s process that is followed by the District’s Sex Education Instruction Committee. The group, comprised of representatives from across the District, meets at least twice a year to review resources, speakers, and curriculum related to sex education. At the spring meeting, the committee studies county health data. The committee also reviews the annual maturation program. Last year, Dr. Roderick-Landward said, the in-person maturation presentations were cancelled because of the COVID-19 pandemic. A link to a professionally produced recorded presentation was sent to parents of sixth-grade students this fall, however. CSD has received positive feedback about the recorded presentation. The Board also was presented with data regarding adolescent births, countywide counts of child sex abuse victims, sexually transmitted disease rates in Salt Lake County, and school-discipline referrals for pornography.

School Fee Policy

The Board of Education conducted a state-required review of its policy on school fees.

Board Roundtable

Members of the Board of Education decided to hold a roundtable discussion on Feb. 9.

Temporary Location for Peruvian Park, Edgemont

The Administration proposes moving the Edgemont and Peruvian Park elementary schools to the old Crescent View Middle building during the April 5-9 Spring Recess to facilitate the construction schedules for those communities’ new schools. Peruvian Park and Edgemont classes would be held at the former middle school until construction on their current campuses is complete. Funds from a voter-approved bond will help pay for the facilities. The proposal will now be discussed by SCCs at both schools, and principals will send information to parents and employees for input. The Board may vote on the proposal on Dec. 1.

Recognitions

The following students, faculty and staff were recognized for their achievements:

  • Brighton High chemistry teacher Austin Gillespie for winning the Ronald and Eileen Ragsdale Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher Award from the chemistry department at the University of Utah.  
  • Alta High student artists Jake Jensen and Ella Memmott for creating the artwork for the 2020 Canyons District Holiday Card. 
  • Winners of the 2020 Apex Awards, who are:
    • School Administrator of the Year — Kelly Tauteoli, Union Middle Principal 
    • District Administrator of the Year — Dr. Bob Dowdle, Assistant Superintendent, and Susan Edwards, Public Engagement Coordinator 
    • Teacher of the Year — Emma Moss, Eastmont Middle  
    • Business/Community Partner of the Year — Utah Food Bank
    • Volunteer of the Year — Araceli Rivera, East Midvale, and Stacey Kratz, Midvale-area school volunteer 
    • Elected Official of the Year — Rep. Steve Eliason, R-Sandy
    • Student Support Services Professional of the Year — CSD Head Nurse Sally Goodger and ISD Education Technology Team, Camille Cole, Michelle Shimmin, Justin Andersen, Jenna Townsend, Katie Blunt, Jonathan Stewart, Scott Lambert, Scott Christensen
    • Education Support Professional of the Year — Custodial Coordinator Kevin Kelson 
    • Legacy Award — Dr. Jim Briscoe, former CSD Superintendent

School Calendars, Options for ‘Snow Day’

The Board of Education approved the calendar for the 2021-2022 school year and gave tentative approval for calendars for the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 school years. The Board also updated language in policy to indicate that the Board may determine an alternative option, such as a Digital Learning Day, Presidents’ Day, or an Independent Learning Day, for instructional time lost due to an emergency school closure. Previously, District policy stated that school emergency-closure days will be made up first on Presidents’ Day, and the Board reserves the right to meet to determine a secondary date. School Performance Director Alice Peck also presented information about how the District would conduct a virtual- or independent-learning day instead of a “Snow Day” when inclement weather forces closures of buildings.

Midvale School Boundary Input

Input will be solicited from Midvale communities regarding two boundary-change options for Midvale-area schools. The options, which can be found on BoardDocs, were created by CSD’s Long-Range Planning Committee to balance the enrollments at Midvale-area elementary schools given the recent residential and business growth in Midvale. According to a presentation by Canyons Business Administrator Leon Wilcox, the Administration plans to engage in a thorough public process to get feedback from patrons, employees, and students. CSD will hold open houses, post information on school and District websites, discuss the issues with PTAs and SCCs, and engage in conversations with municipal leaders and other stakeholders. The District also would translate the information into Spanish and other languages, and follow applicable state law governing public-notification of potential boundary changes.

Consent Agenda

The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including the minutes of the Oct. 20, 2020 meeting of the Canyons Board of Education; hire and termination reports; purchasing bids; October Financial reports; and LEA-specific licenses.

Patron Comment

Merrin Maughn, Jaxson Baker, Alex Brown, McKenna Matthews, Matthew Schilling, Samantha Webb and Erika Bradshaw addressed the Board of Education. Recordings of their comments can be accessed on BoardDocs. 

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins congratulated the winners of the 2020 Apex Awards and outlined the process the District follows to determine if a schedule change is warranted for a school that is experiencing a rise in COVID-19 cases associated with the community. Before a decision is made, Dr. Robins speaks with the Salt Lake County Department of Health, as well as local physicians and epidemiologists, and asks for input from principals of affected schools. Trend lines of COVID-19 cases associated with the schools, as well as community transmission rates, are examined. Dr. Robins also noted that Utah Gov. Gary Herbert’s executive order, which became effective Monday, Nov. 9 at 1 p.m., requires participants in the football playoffs be tested for COVID-19 72 hours before they participate in the event. Students who test positive before the game will not be allowed to play in the game. This may be used as a pilot for how winter sports operate. 

Business Administrator Leon Wilcox thanked the Insurance Department for overseeing the Open Enrollment period for health insurance. He also noted the Insurance Committee’s work to expand mental-health supports for employees. Wilcox appreciates the hard work of employees in this uncertain and challenging time. He also noted that, even in the midst of a pandemic, all 29 elementary schools have continued to operate every day since the start of school year. 

Board of Education Reports

Mrs. Amanda Oaks reported on attending the Student Advisory Council and SCC meetings held over Zoom, as well as The Point working group that is discussing how land will be used once the Utah State Prison moves from its current location. She also congratulated the local candidates who won recent election, including Albion Principal Dr. Molly Hart who won a seat on the Utah State Board of Education, and new Canyons Board member Holly Neibaur. She also said she was grateful for every day that students are able to be in school to receive in-person instruction.

Mrs. Amber Shill attended the Friends and Family Night of the Brighton High Marching Band, which just ended its first year. She congratulated the Brighton High football team on a successful season, thanked Canyons View Principal Kierstin Draper for sleeping on the roof after a successful fund-raiser and welcomed Ms. Neibaur to the Board. She also noted how thankful she is for on-campus learning.

Mr. Steve Wrigley mentioned his participation on the CSD Arts Consortium, his appearance on a KUTV interview about board-member compensation, a visit to Entrada, and the Friends and Family Night of the Brighton High Marching Band. He also attended the recent visit by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Sydnee Dickson to Eastmont Middle to congratulate Emma Moss for being a runner-up in the Utah Teacher of the Year selection process. 

Ms. Clareen Arnold congratulated Dr. Hart on her election to the Utah State Board of Education. Arnold, a teacher, remarked on how excited students are to be in school. She expressed appreciation for CSD’s emphasis on social-emotional learning, especially in the era of COVID-19.  She thanked employees, parents and students for following the safety precautions so the schools can remain open.

Mr. Mont Millerberg thanked patrons for adding their voices to the conversation about potential boundary changes for Midvale-area schools. He said he is grateful for fellow Board members and CSD Administrators who work hard to solicit input from the community and engage in productive dialogue about important issues.

President Tingey reported on attending the Student Advisory Council meeting. While there’s unrest and uncertainty in the world, there’s also much to be grateful for, she said.  She expressed appreciation for current members of the Board and others who ran for elected office. 

Close Menu