董事会摘要,2022 年 6 月 7 日

注意:议程项目的记录和文件可以通过以下方式访问 董事会文件 通过点击相应的议程项目

 

2023-2024 年德雷珀公园时间表

Draper Park Middle School 将在 2023-2024 学年改用新的上课时间表。教育委员会一致投票通过了从 2013 年在学校实施的当前六学日制改为七学日制的提议。其他四所 CSD 中学——Union、Midvale、Butler 和 Albion——有六节课。 Eastmont、Mount Jordan 和 Indian Hills 使用 7 天的课程表,这增加了学生选修课的机会,但减少了每节课的教学和干预时间。然而,一些 DPMS 家长和学生继续要求提供一个时间表,让他们有更多的选择来参加核心课程和选修课。在投票中,董事会指示学校管理部门立即开始计划更改时间表,并就最能满足社区需求的七节课提出建议。

预算听证会

教育委员会批准了 2021-2022 年的修订预算,并通过了 2022-2023 学年 $3.47 亿的暂定预算。该预算不要求增加税收,由商业管理员 Leon Wilcox 在州要求的预算听证会上提出。听证会期间没有顾客发表评论。暂定预算包括立法批准的加权学生单位增加 6%,这是犹他州政府的资助机制;增加教师和学生成功法案 (TSSA) 和土地信托资金;为面临学习障碍的学生提供资金。许可员工、教育支持专业人员和管理人员的雇佣合同费用包含在暂定预算中。合同谈判导致生活成本增加,调整特定工作的工资表以吸引和留住员工,以及为符合条件的员工提供其他福利。 Canyons 将在 2024 财年继续获得犹他州联邦政府拨款的中小学紧急救济资金的一部分,该资金将主要用于支付额外的教学职位以支持陷入困境的学生。 ESSER 资金还将用于支持我们的暑期青年学院、购买课程,以及支持拥有一年历史的远程学习学校 Canyons Online。该预算还资助 CSD 教育工作者的 32 小时专业发展和额外的全日制幼儿园课程。由于犹他州儿童贫困率下降,Canyons 最近收到了关于 Title I 资金减少 $220 万的意外消息。地区行政部门正在审查管理资金损失的方案。学校重建和其他基本建设改进是预算中的一些预计支出之一。预算确定了一个债务利率,以产生收入来满足惩教署的建设债务,这些债务是通过选民批准的债券来承担的,用于支付新建和改善学校的费用。新的 Glacier Hills 大楼将容纳 Edgemont 和 Bell View 学校社区,计划于 8 月开放。秘鲁公园的重建因全国供应链短缺而放缓,但仍有望在 9 月完成。新联合中学的建设计划于 2023 年 8 月完成。此外,今年,Canyons 从其前身——约旦学区继承的债务将全额偿还。它将不再出现在财产税报表上。由于峡谷区房产评估价值的提高,大多数峡谷居民的认证税率预计会下降。由犹他州税务委员会计算的认证税率应在 6 月下旬完成。

 

圆桌讨论

政府向教育委员会提供了实现新创建和批准的峡谷区战略计划目标的最新计划,该计划侧重于高质量的学习机会、访问和机会、以人为本的支持和操作系统。 CSD 为解决四个重点领域而采取的初步步骤由主管 Rick Robins 博士、助理主管 Bob Dowdle 博士、州和联邦项目主任 Wendy Dau 和业务管理员 Leon Wilcox 介绍。董事会成员讨论的主题包括与学生成绩、入学率、资金、CSD 的组织结构、资金和人员配备、CSD 学校的磁石计划以及他们从选民那里收到的关于峡谷区教育状况的反馈有关的问题.董事会还讨论了他们对更健全的员工培训计划、加强学校安全和安保以及加强员工和社区沟通渠道的希望。

 

认可

他们的成就获得了以下认可:

  • Corner Canyon High 男孩曲棍球队赢得 6A 州犹他州高中活动协会冠军。 CCHS 捍卫了它的头衔。
  • Corner Canyon High 男子田径队连续第三年获得州冠军。 Alta High 的 Elyse Jessen 也赢得了 5A 组的 800 米赛事。
  • Alta High 的足球队赢得 5A 州奖杯。
  • 布莱顿高中网球运动员在州锦标赛中赢得个人 5A 州冠军。该队以第二名完赛。
  • 四十一名学生运动员在春季运动中获得 UHSAA 学术全州荣誉。
  • CSD 的教学支持部门和 CSD 学校被命名为“常识区”,用于教授数字公民并通过社区促进在线安全的参与。

 

顾客评论

以下是在会议的赞助人评论部分向教育委员会发表的讲话。可以在 BoardDocs 上访问他们的录音。

  • CEA 董事会成员 Mindy Timothy
  • 家长布拉德·汉密尔顿
  • 朱迪·罗纳
  • 家长凯蒂阿特金森

 

同意议程

教育委员会批准了同意议程,包括 2022 年 5 月 17 日和 2022 年 5 月 24 日的董事会会议记录;采购投标;学生过夜旅行请求;以及雇用和终止报告。

主管,业务管理员报告

院长里克·罗宾斯博士 感谢 CSD 的财务团队,包括 Wilcox 先生和会计总监 Gary Warwood,他们准备了学区的预算,并感谢董事会就战略计划进行的对话。

威尔科克斯先生 感谢财务团队制定预算,对战略计划的深入讨论表示赞赏,并注意到旧约旦地区债务的支付结束,该债务在地区成立时通过法律仲裁分配给 CSD .

 

教育委员会报告

琥珀希尔女士 说她喜欢 2022 年级的毕业典礼、布莱顿高中的乐队表演、州 5A 网球锦标赛和长曲棍球决赛,以及其他年终活动。

Holly Neibaur女士 谈到了即将进行的全区公交路线研究以及董事会讨论的战略计划、德雷珀公园的上课时间表以及为学生提供的课程。她还感谢那些对她的孩子和他们的朋友的生活产生积极影响的老师,并指出家长对 CSD 的高度参与。

史蒂夫·里格利先生 评论区与战略计划相关的目标和举措。

阿曼达·奥克斯女士 认识到高中校长为规划和执行毕业典礼所做的努力,她感谢地区行政人员在圆桌讨论和董事会会议上的介绍。

克莱伦·阿诺德夫人 说她对在学校毕业典礼上发言的 Diamond Ridge 高中毕业生印象深刻。她注意到发言者用两种语言发表讲话。她计划参加 Entrada 成人高中的毕业典礼。

蒙·米勒伯格先生 报道了参加 Midvalley 小学的实地日活动,并认可南希·廷吉总统参加了如此多的地区活动,包括约旦河谷的竣工仪式。他报告了参加 Hillcrest High 的毕业典礼和 Midvale Middle 的 IB Middle Years Program 年终仪式。

南希廷吉总统 反思最近在德克萨斯州乌瓦尔德的罗伯小学发生的暴力事件,以及特别是当该国在悲剧后陷入困境时,今年的毕业生如何振奋了她的精神和对未来的希望。

 

 

分享这个帖子

露西·张伯伦

Alta View基本

如果制作一部关于超级教师的电影,露西·张伯伦将是主角的主要候选人。对于她在 Alta View 小学的幼儿园学生来说幸运的是,她已经在为他们提供支持的角色中茁壮成长。父母感谢她是“超级老师”。她也被描述为“了不起的同事”。无论学生是在课堂上还是在生病时在家中需要帮助,露西都在帮助他们学习、克服恐惧、感到重要和被关心。据家长们说,露西是许多孩子从讨厌学校变成喜欢学校的原因。她散发出耐心、甜蜜、正能量和对有特殊需要的学生的爱的方式受到赞赏和钦佩。一位家长指出:“我的两个孩子都希望她能永远成为他们的老师。”另一位补充说:“她对待每个学生都像对待他们的学习一样,他们的感受是她的首要任务。”超级老师,真的!

专科学校

高中

小学

初中

美国残疾人法案 (ADA) 声明

Canyons 学区致力于使本网站符合 ADA。目前,我们认识到并非本网站的所有区域都符合 ADA 标准。我们目前正在重新设计和创建新的网站内容,以符合 W3C 二级指南。如果您在使用本网站时遇到问题,请在此处与我们联系 communications@canyonsdistrict.org

Board Summary, June 7, 2022

Note: Recordings and documents for agenda items can be accessed via BoardDocs by clicking on the corresponding agenda items

 

Draper Park Schedule for 2023-2024

Draper Park Middle School will move to a new school-day schedule in the 2023-2024 school year. The Board of Education voted unanimously on the proposal to move from the current six-period day, which was put into place at the school in 2013, to a seven-period school-day schedule.  Four other CSD middle schools — Union, Midvale, Butler, and Albion— have a six-period day. Eastmont, Mount Jordan and Indian Hills use a seven-day period schedule, which expands a student’s opportunities for electives but reduces the amount of instructional and intervention time in each class.  However, some DPMS parents and students have continued to ask for a schedule that would give them more options to take core and elective classes. In the vote, the Board directed the school’s administration to immediately begin planning for the schedule change and make a recommendation for the kind of seven-period day best addresses the needs of the community.

Budget Hearing

The Board of Education approved a revised budget for 2021-2022 and adopted a tentative $347 million budget for the 2022-2023 school year.  The budget, which does not call for a tax increase, was presented by Business Administrator Leon Wilcox during a state-required budget hearing. No patrons provided comment during the hearing. The tentative budget includes a legislatively approved 6 percent increase in the weighted pupil unit, the funding mechanism of Utah’s state government;  increases in Teacher and Student Success Act (TSSA) and Land Trust funding; and funding for students who face obstacles to learning. The costs of the employment contracts for licensed employees, Education Support Professionals, and administrators are included in the tentative budget. Contract negotiations resulted in cost-of-living increases, adjustments to the salary schedules for specific jobs in hopes of attracting and retaining employees, plus other benefits for eligible employees. Canyons will continue through Fiscal Year 2024 to receive a share of Utah’s allotment of federally appropriated Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief funding, which will primarily be used to pay for additional teaching positions to support struggling students. ESSER funds will also be used to support our summer youth academy, the purchase of curriculum, and to support Canyons Online, the year-old remote-learning school. The budget also funds 32 hours of professional development for CSD educators and additional full-day kindergarten classes. Canyons recently received unexpected news of a $2.2 million decrease in Title I funding as the result of a decrease in Utah’s child poverty rate. The District Administration is reviewing options for managing that loss of funding. School rebuilds and other capital improvements are among some of the projected expenditures in the budget. The budget establishes a debt rate to generate revenue to satisfy CSD’s construction debt, which was assumed through voter-approved bonds to pay for new and improved schools. The new Glacier Hills building, which will house a combined Edgemont and Bell View school communities, is scheduled to open in August. The rebuild of Peruvian Park has been slowed by the nationwide supply chain shortage, but is still expected to be completed in September. The construction of the new Union Middle is scheduled to be completed in August 2023.  In addition, this year, the debt that Canyons inherited from its predecessor — Jordan School District — will be paid in full.  It will no longer appear on property tax statements. As a result of increased assessed valuation of property in Canyons District, the certified tax rate is expected to go down for the majority of Canyons residents. The certified tax rate, calculated by the Utah State Tax Commission, should be completed later in June.

 

Roundtable Discussion

The Administration provided updates to the Board of Education on plans to meet the objectives of the newly created and approved Canyons District Strategic Plan, which focuses on high-quality learning opportunities, access and opportunity, human-centered supports, and operating systems. Initial steps CSD is making toward addressing the four focus areas were presented by Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins, Assistant Superintendent Dr. Bob Dowdle, State and Federal Programs Director Wendy Dau, and Business Administrator Leon Wilcox. Among the topics discussed by the Board members included issues related to student achievement, enrollment, funding, CSD’s organizational structure, funding and staffing, magnet programs in CSD schools, and the feedback they are receiving from their constituents about the state of education in Canyons District. The Board also discussed their hopes for a more robust employee-training program, enhanced school safety and security, and strengthened communication channels for employees and the community.

 

Recognitions

The following were recognized for their achievements:

  • Corner Canyon High boys lacrosse team for winning the 6A state Utah High School Activities Association championship. CCHS defended its title.
  • Corner Canyon High’s boys track-and-field team for winning the state title for the third year in a row. Alta High’s Elyse Jessen also won the 800 meter event in the 5A division.
  • Alta High’s soccer team for winning the 5A state trophy.
  • Brighton High tennis players for winning individual 5A state championships at state tournament.  The team finished in second place.
  • Forty-one student-athletes for earning UHSAA Academic All-State honors in spring sports.
  • CSD’s Instructional Supports Department and CSD schools for being named a “Common Sense District” for teaching digital citizenship and promoting engagement for online safety through the community.

 

Patron Comment

The following addressed the Board of Education during the Patron Comment portion of the meeting.  Recordings of their recordings can be accessed at BoardDocs.

  • CEA Board member Mindy Timothy
  • Parent Brad Hamilton
  • Judy Rohner
  • Parent Katie Atkinson

 

Consent Agenda

The Board of Education approved the Consent Agenda, including the minutes from the Board’s meetings on May 17, 2022 and May 24, 2022; purchasing bids; student overnight travel requests; and hire and termination reports.

Superintendent, Business Administrator Reports

Superintendent Dr. Rick Robins thanked CSD’s finance team, including Mr. Wilcox and Accounting Director Gary Warwood, for preparing the District’s budget and the Board for the conversation about the Strategic Plan.

Mr. Wilcox thanked the finance team for developing the budget, expressed appreciation for the in-depth discussion about the Strategic Plan, and noted the end of the payments on the old Jordan District debt, which was assigned to CSD by legal arbitration at the founding of the District.

 

Board of Education Reports

Ms. Amber Shill said she enjoyed the Class of 2022 commencement exercises, Brighton High’s band performance, the state 5A tennis championships, and the lacrosse finals, among other year-end events.

Ms. Holly Neibaur talked about the upcoming districtwide bus-route study and the Board’s discussion the Strategic Plan, the Draper Park school-day schedule, and course offerings for students. She also thanked teachers who have positively impacted the lives of her children and their friends and noted the high level of parent engagement in CSD.

Mr. Steve Wrigley remarked on the District’s goals and initiatives related to the Strategic Plan.

Ms. Amanda Oaks recognized the efforts of high school principals for planning and executing commencement rites, She thanked District Administrators for their presentations during the roundtable discussion and Board meeting.

Mrs. Clareen Arnold said she was impressed by Diamond Ridge High graduates who spoke at the school’s commencement rites. She noted the speakers who gave their addresses in two languages. She plans to attend Entrada Adult High School’s graduation ceremony.

Mr. Mont Millerberg reported on attending field day at Midvalley Elementary and recognized President Nancy Tingey for attending so many District events, including Jordan Valley’s completion ceremony. He reported on attending Hillcrest High’s graduation rites and Midvale Middle’s IB Middle Years Programme end-of-year ceremony.

President Nancy Tingey reflected on the recent violence at Robb Elementary in Uvalde, Texas, and how, especially as the country reels in the aftermath of the tragedy, this year’s graduates lifted her spirits and hope for the future.

 

 

Share This Post

Lucie Chamberlain

Alta View Elementary

If a movie about super teachers were ever made, Lucie Chamberlain would be a prime candidate for a leading role. Fortunately for her kindergarten students at Alta View Elementary, she already thrives in a supporting role for them. Parents thank her for being a “super teacher.” She is also described as an “amazing colleague.” Whether students need help in the classroom or from home while sick, Lucie goes above and beyond to help them learn, overcome fears, and feel important and cared for. Lucie is the reason a number of kids went from hating school to loving it, according to parents. The way she exudes patience, sweetness, positive energy, and love for her students with special needs melts is appreciated and admired. One parent noted: “Both my kids wish she could be their teacher forever.” Another added:  “She treats every student like their learning and their feelings are her priority.” Super teacher, indeed!

Specialty Schools

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Middle Schools

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Statement

Canyons School District is committed to making this website compliant with the ADA. At this time, we recognize that not all areas of this website may be ADA compliant. We are currently in the process of redesigning and creating new website content to be compliant with the W3C Level Two guidelines. If you are experiencing issues with this website, please contact us here communications@canyonsdistrict.org