Fourteen CSD Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists

It’s the equivalent of the power rankings in prep sports – except it’s for academics. Fourteen students representing all of Canyons District’s five traditional high schools have been named semi-finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship program. 

They join about 16,000 other top scholars who this week advanced in the prestigious competition to vie for 7,500 scholarships worth $32 million. These coveted college recruits were chosen from 1.6 million students at more than 22,000 high schools.

The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents fewer than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors. The number is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. The students and their schools are:  

Nathan L. Brown

Joshua R. Brodbeck

August W. Burton
Aaron B. Jackson

Richard Abbott
Bryson V. Armstrong
Mohammed F. Khan
Chu Un Kim
Kara Komarnitsky
Madeline K. Martin
Joshua S. Raty
Alexander K. Sun
Vivek Vankayalapati

Daniel J. Ross

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email