目录

政策400.01 –员工行为和职业素养

分享到print

保单号码:
400.01

通过:
8.18.2020

董事会政策

  1. 教育委员会希望员工(以及独立承包商,现场供应商,授权志愿者)和学生之间的所有互动都是专业且适当的。
  2. 董事会授权学监和区行政管理部门制定符合本政策的行政法规,但须经教育委员会审查和批准。

行政法规:
400.01-1

批准:
8.18.2020

Employee-Student Conduct; Maintaining Employee-Student Boundaries; Duty to Report - 400.01-1

  1. 以下法规旨在为Canyons区的所有员工,学生,志愿者和社区成员提供信息,以增强他们在保护儿童免受不当行为方面的作用的认识。
  2. 在员工与学生的关系中,要求学校员工保持与学校人员对学生的法律和道德义务相一致的界限。
  3. 违反边界:指越过学校雇员必须保持的口头,身体,情感和社会界限,以确保教育环境中的结构,安全性和可预测性。违反边界有可能滥用员工与学生的关系。
  4. 不当行为:员工对学生的任何行为,会合理地表现出不正当行为,无论该学生是否抱怨过这种行为,无论该行为是否过分性行为,和/或无论该行为是否会构成犯罪。
    1. For examples of employee-to-student behavior that may, depending on the circumstances, constitute a boundary violation or inappropriate conduct under this regulation, and lead to employee discipline, up to and including termination for cause, please refer to Exhibit—1: Boundary Violation Conduct Scenarios.
  5. 如果员工意识到可能会违反本法规的情况,则必须立即通知其主管/校长(或其他管理人员)。
  6. 员工有责任举报以下行为:欺凌,欺凌,网络欺凌,辱骂或报复活动。
    1. 发起,提倡和/或从事欺凌,欺凌,网络欺凌,辱骂或报复活动的员工应受到不利的雇佣行为,包括根据学区有序解雇政策进行的缓刑或解雇。
    2. 意识到欺凌,欺凌,网络欺凌,辱骂或报复行为的员工,应立即(在下一个工作日)向学校管理员或其指定人员报告该事件,以便及时调查该事件并采取适当的措施。
    3. 未能按照本政策要求通知其直接上级的雇员采取了不专业的做法,应受到不利的雇佣行动,包括根据学区的有序解雇政策进行缓刑和因故解雇,并可能导致违反教育工作者许可的纪律。
      1. Employees who make a false allegation of hazing, bullying, cyberbullying, abusive conduct, or retaliation activity may be subject to discipline.  See, Utah Code §53G-9-601, et seq.
  7. Employees are required to report child abuse and neglect in accordance with Canyons District Policy—Reporting Child Abuse/Child Protection.  See, Utah Code §53E-6-701; §62A-4a-403
  8. If an employee has reasonable cause to believe that a student has been in possession of or consumed:  alcohol; controlled substances; or been in possession of drug paraphernalia at a school-sponsored activity or on school property, the employee shall report to an administrator.  An employee who in good faith makes a report is immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise result from that action.  See, Utah Code §53G-8-501, et seq.

行政法规:
400.01-2

批准:
8.18.2020

Employee Dress Code and Appearance - 400.01-2

  1. 峡谷峡谷学区的员工应遵守修饰和着装标准,以向学生和顾客反映积极的形象,并与专业教育体系保持一致。
  2. 员工应保持个人清洁标准,这有利于身体健康,并为宜人的工作环境做出贡献。
  3. 员工应穿着整齐的衣服,穿着适合当天工作或活动的衣服。
  4. 员工的着装方式应适合成年人,成为学生的榜样。

行政法规:
400.01-3

批准:
8.18.2020

Employee Instruction, Counseling, and Administrative Tasks - 400.01-3

  1. 指导,咨询,管理任务和所有其他计划的与学生的学校联系都应在学校正常上课时间内完成。
    1. 如果特殊情况使学区员工有必要在正常上课日以外或学校以外的地方与一个或多个学生会面,则需要事先获得校长的书面批准。
    2. 当学生因紧急情况或意外事件在正常上课日以外需要员工帮助时,员工应在发生后尽快将事件通知校长或指定人员。

行政法规:
400.01-4

批准:
8.18.2020

Employee Transportation of Student(s) in Private Vehicles - 400.01-4

  1. 学区员工应避免与非员工直系亲属的学生独自乘坐私家车旅行。
  2. 如果学生因紧急情况必须由员工运送,则应尽快通知校长。

行政法规:
400.01-5

批准:
8.18.2020

Extracurricular Activities - 400.01-5

  1. 所有在正常上课时间或校外财产之外的课外活动必须事先得到校长的书面授权。
    1. 尽可能在学校举行涉及学生的课余活动。如果需要其他地点,则需要事先获得学校校长的书面批准。
    2. 未经校长事先书面许可,员工无权允许学生在家中进行与学校有关的社交活动。

行政法规:
400.01-6

批准:
8.18.2020

Employee Involvement in Private, But Public Education-Related Activities - 400.01-6

  1. This regulation provides direction and parameters for employees who provide or participate in private but public education-related activities outside of their public education employment. Specifically, this regulation defines when an employee is acting within the scope of employee duties with respect to school district activities, identifies when an employee does not represent the school district, and provides notice to employees regarding disclosure duties.  See, Utah Admin. Code R277-107.  
  2. 定义
    1. “活动赞助者”是指学区的雇员从中获得任何形式的补偿并且公立学校的学生参与的私人或公共个人或实体。
    2. “课外活动”是指由学校或学区认可或认可(但不一定赞助)的学生的活动,可以补充或补充必修课程或常规课程。
    3. “私人但与公共教育有关的活动”是指员工参加并从学区的现有或潜在学生那里获得报酬的活动。这些与教育有关的活动包括但不限于:
      1. 补习
      2. 经验教训
      3. 诊所*
      4. 营地*
      5. 旅游机会
      6. *经峡谷峡谷学区同意,免于由盐湖县公园与娱乐和桑迪城市娱乐赞助的活动。
  3. 在正常上课时间之内或之外,员工不得为学校提供给学生的任何补习服务收费。
  4. 员工参加私人但与公共教育有关的活动
    1. 如果员工的活动与学区的工作是分开的且与众不同,并且不以任何方式干扰在学区履行工作职责,则员工可以参加私人但与公共教育有关的活动。  Exhibit-2-Disclosure Statement
    2. 在开展私人活动中,员工不得:
      1. 除本条2.3另有规定外,请与公立学校的任何学生联系。
      2. 使用在学区就业获得的教育记录或信息,除非这些记录或信息已向公众公开,并且已满足《联邦教育权利隐私法》(FERPA)的要求。
      3. 利用学校时间和/或材料来促进,讨论或为私人活动做准备。
      4. 向任何个人或实体陈述或暗示任何学校计划都必须参加私人活动。
      5. 根据参与私人活动给予或保留学分,包括但不限于诊所,营地,私人活动或并非对所有学生免费开放的旅游活动。
    3. 在促进私人活动中,员工可以:
      1. 如果在上学期间没有广告或促销活动,并且符合政策规定,则向学生提供与公共教育相关的服务,计划或活动。
      2. 仅在教室和正常的上课时间与学生或家长讨论私人活动。
      3. 使用可用于公众的目录来识别潜在客户,例如已分发或可供公众使用的学校电话目录。
      4. 使用允许商业广告宣传的学生或学校出版物来宣传和促进私人活动。
  5. 关于私人活动广告的指令
    以下指令适用于广告私人活动,其中员工以任何方式与促进或赞助私人活动的团体,实体,协会或公司有关系或有关联:
    1. 员工可以购买广告空间,以在接受广告的出版物中广告一项活动或服务,无论该广告是由学区的学校还是由学区赞助的。此类出版物包括学校报纸,电子传单和年鉴,但不包括学校通讯。
    2. 广告可以通过名称识别活动参与者和领导者或服务提供商,提供非学校电话号码,并提供员工的工作经验和资格的详细信息。
    3. 海报和小册子只能在允许公众人士这样做的学校和学区建筑物内的时间和时间张贴或分发。
    4. 除非活动是由学区赞助的,否则广告应以醒目的字体清楚且清楚地声明该活动不是由学区赞助的。
    5. 广告中不得标明学校或学区,除非与员工的工作经历有关,或者根据学区公共文娱中心使用政策使用学校设施。
  6. 家长通知和许可
    1. 在进行本条2.3所列的任何旅行或其他活动之前,应通知所有学生的父母或法定监护人,并且父母应签署免责书。该表格应保存在学校的行政办公室。
  7. 提供给学区的合同副本
    1. 员工必须向受雇学校的校长提供他与私人活动发起人之间所有合同的签名副本。从事任何与公共教育无关的私人活动的雇员,应向当地学区校长提供经签名的披露声明。

行政法规:
400.01-7

批准:
8.18.2020

Weapons/Firearms - 400.01-7

  1. 除非得到法律的特别授权,否则任何雇员在学校建筑物内,学校财产内或学校财产上或与任何学校活动结合使用或使用武器,均违反法律和Canyons学区政策,将受到纪律处分,其中可能包括解雇。
  2. The law provides that a qualified person may receive a permit “to carry a concealed firearm for lawful self defense….” Utah Code §53-5-704(1). A concealed dangerous weapon means “…a dangerous weapon that is covered, hidden or secreted in a manner that the public would not be aware of its presence and is readily accessible for immediate use.” Utah Code §76-10-501 (2)(a).
  3. 峡谷学区的员工以个人身份获得隐藏武器许可证。此类武器的任何使用均不在雇佣范围之内,有悖于学区雇用的目的,并且仅以雇员的个人身份而非以学区雇员的身份进行。

形式

没有

文件记录

 
已修改 – 8.18.2020.  修订了政策400.01-员工行为和职业素养以包括 有关员工举报欺凌,霸凌,辱骂和报复活动的职责,以及举报拥有酒精或毒品用具的职责的语言,该职责先前已包含在学区的纪律政策中。该语言先前已经获得董事会的批准,现在将被纳入《员工行为和职业素养政策》。
已修改 – 2016年11月15日。对Policy-400.01-员工行为和专业精神进行了修订,以更新有关犹他州行政法规的关于违反边界和教育者行为的政策定义。 R277-515。犹他州教育工作者专业标准。 
已通过 – 3.27.12.  

此在线演示文稿是Canyons学区当前采用的政策手册的电子表示形式。它不反映正在进行的更新活动。官方权威手册可在位于桑迪东300 600号桑迪(South East East)的9361 South 300的总监办公室中查阅。

Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

POLICY NUMBER:
400.1

ADOPTED:
8.18.2020

Board Policy

  1. It is the desire of the Board of Education that all interactions between employees (as well as independent contractors, on-site vendors, authorized volunteers) and students are professional and appropriate.
  2. The Board authorizes the Superintendent and the District Administration to develop administrative regulations consistent with this policy, subject to review and approval by the Board of Education.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
400.1-1

APPROVED:
8.18.2020

Employee-Student Conduct; Maintaining Employee-Student Boundaries; Duty to Report - 400.1-1

  1. The following regulation is to provide all Canyons District employees, students, volunteers, and community members with information to increase awareness of their role in protecting children from inappropriate conduct.
  2. In an employee-student relationship, school employees are required to maintain boundaries that are consistent with the legal and ethical duty of care that school personnel have for students.
  3. Boundary violation: means crossing verbal, physical, emotional, and social lines that a school employee must maintain in order to ensure structure, security, and predictability in an education environment.  A boundary violation has the potential to abuse the employee-student relationship.
  4. Inappropriate Conduct: Any behavior by an employee toward a student that would reasonably give the appearance of impropriety, regardless of whether such behavior is complained of by the student, regardless of whether the behavior is overtly sexual, and/or regardless of whether such behavior would constitute a crime.
    1. For examples of employee-to-student behavior that may, depending on the circumstances, constitute a boundary violation or inappropriate conduct under this regulation, and lead to employee discipline, up to and including termination for cause, please refer to Exhibit—1: Boundary Violation Conduct Scenarios.
  5. Employees are required to promptly notify their supervisor/principal (or other administrator) if they become aware of a situation that may constitute a violation of this regulation.
  6. Employees have duty to report re: hazing, bullying, cyberbullying, abusive conduct, or retaliation activities.
    1. Employees who initiate, promote, and/or engage in hazing, bullying, cyberbullying, abusive conduct or retaliation activities shall be subject to adverse employment action, including probation or termination for cause under the District’s orderly termination policies.
    2. Employees who become aware of hazing, bullying, cyberbullying, abusive conduct, or retaliation activity shall promptly report (the next working day) the incident to the school administrator or their designee so that the incident can be promptly investigated and appropriate action taken.
    3. Employees who fail to give notice to their immediate supervisor required under this policy have committed an unprofessional practice and shall be subject to adverse employment action, including probation and termination for cause under the District’s orderly termination policies and may result in discipline against an educator’s license.
      1. Employees who make a false allegation of hazing, bullying, cyberbullying, abusive conduct, or retaliation activity may be subject to discipline. (See, U.C.A. 53G-9-601, et seq).
  7. Employees are required to report child abuse and neglect in accordance with Canyons District Policy—Reporting Child Abuse/Child Protection. (See, U.C.A., §53E-6-701; 62A-4a-403).
  8. If an employee has reasonable cause to believe that a student has been in possession of or consumed:  alcohol; controlled substances; or been in possession of drug paraphernalia at a school-sponsored activity or on school property, the employee shall report to an administrator.  An employee who in good faith makes a report is immune from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise result from that action (See, U.C.A. §53G-8-501, et seq).

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
400.1-2

APPROVED:
8.18.2020

Employee Dress Code and Appearance - 400.1-2

  1. Employees of Canyons School District are expected to adhere to standards in grooming and dress which reflect a positive image to students and patrons and which are in keeping with a professional education system.
  2. Employees shall maintain standards of personal cleanliness which are conducive to good health and contribute to a pleasant working environment.
  3. Employees shall be neatly groomed and dressed in clothing which is suited to the day’s work or activity.
  4. Employees shall dress in a manner befitting adults who serve as role models for students.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
400.1-3

APPROVED:
8.18.2020

Employee Instruction, Counseling, and Administrative Tasks - 400.1-3

  1. Instruction, counseling, administrative tasks and all other planned school contact with students shall be accomplished at the school during regular school hours.
    1. If special circumstances make it necessary for a District employee to meet with one or more students outside the regular school day or at a location other than the school, prior written approval from the principal is required.
    2. When a student requires staff assistance outside the regular school day because of an emergency or unanticipated occurrence, the employee shall notify the principal or designee of the occurrence as soon thereafter as possible.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
400.1-4

APPROVED:
8.18.2020

Employee Transportation of Student(s) in Private Vehicles - 400.1-4

  1. District employees shall avoid traveling alone in private vehicles with students who are not members of the employee’s immediate family.
  2. If a student must be transported by an employee due to an emergency situation the principal shall be notified as soon as possible.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
400.1-5

APPROVED:
8.18.2020

Extracurricular Activities - 400.1-5

  1. All extracurricular activities outside regular school hours or off school property must be authorized in advance and in writing by the school principal.
    1. After-hour activities involving students are to be held at the school whenever possible. If another location is necessary, prior written approval from the school principal is required.
    2. Employees are not authorized to allow students in their homes for school-related social activities without prior written permission from the school principal.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
400.1-6

APPROVED:
8.18.2020

Employee Involvement in Private, But Public Education-Related Activities - 400.1-6

  1. This regulation provides direction and parameters for employees who provide or participate in private but public education-related activities outside of their public education employment. Specifically, this regulation defines when an employee is acting within the scope of employee duties with respect to school district activities, identifies when an employee does not represent the school district, and provides notice to employees regarding disclosure duties (Utah State Board Rule R277-107).
  2. Definitions
    1. “Activity Sponsor” means a private or public individual or entity from which the employees of the school district receive compensation of any sort and in which public school students participate.
    2. “Extra-Curricular Activities” means activities for students which are recognized or sanctioned (but not necessarily sponsored) by the school or school district that may supplement or complement required programs or regular curriculum.
    3. “Private but Public Education-Related Activities” means an activity in which an employee participates and receives compensation from current or prospective students of the school district. Such education-related activities include but are not limited to:
      1. Tutoring
      2. Lessons
      3. Clinics*
      4. Camps*
      5. Travel Opportunities
      6. *Exempts those sponsored by Salt Lake County Parks & Recreation and Sandy City Recreation in agreement with Canyons School District.
  3. Employees shall not charge a fee for any tutoring services provided to students at the school either within or outside regular school hours.
  4. Employee Participation in Private but Public Education Related Activities
    1. An employee may participate in a private but public education-related activity if the activity is separate and distinguishable from employment in the school district and does not interfere with performing the duty of employment with the school district in any way.
    2. In promoting a private activity, an employee may not:
      1. Contact any students at public schools except as stated in 2.3 of this regulation.
      2. Use education records or information obtained through employment with the school district unless the records or information have been made available to the general public and the requirement of the Federal Education Rights Privacy Act (FERPA) has been met.
      3. Use school time and/or materials to promote, discuss, or prepare for the private activity.
      4. State or imply to any person or entity that participation in a private activity is required for any school program.
      5. Give or withhold credit based on participation in the private activity, including but not limited to clinics, camps, private programs or travel activities that are not equally and freely available to all students.
    3. In promoting a private activity, an employee may:
      1. Offer public education-related services, programs or activities to students provided they are not advertised or promoted during school time and consistent with the policy.
      2. Discuss the private activity with students or parents only outside of the classroom and the regular school day.
      3. Use directories that are available to the general public to identify prospective clients such as school phone directories distributed or made available to the public.
      4. Use student or school publications in which commercial advertising is allowed to advertise and promote the private activity.
  5. Directives Regarding Advertising of Private Activities
    The following directives apply to advertising private activities where employees are involved or affiliated in any way with the group, entity, association or company promoting or sponsoring the private activity:
    1. An employee may purchase advertising space to advertise an activity or service in a publication that accepts advertising, whether or not sponsored by schools in the school district or by the school district. Such publications include school newspapers, e-flyers, and yearbooks but not school newsletters.
    2. The advertisement may identify the activity participants and leaders or service providers by name, provide non-school telephone numbers, and provide details of the employee’s employment experience and qualifications.
    3. Posters and brochures may be posted or distributed only at times and in areas of schools and school district buildings where members of the general public are allowed to do so.
    4. Unless the activity is sponsored by the school district, the advertisement shall state clearly and distinctly in bold lettering that the activity is NOT sponsored by the school or school district.
    5. Neither the school nor the school district shall be named in the advertisement except in connection with the employee’s employment history or, if school facilities will be used under the school district public civic-center use policy.
  6. Parent Notice and Permission
    1. Prior to any travel or other activity listed in 2.3 of this regulation, parents or legal guardians of all students shall be notified and the parents shall have signed a release of liability form. This form shall be kept in the administrative office(s) of the school.
  7. Copies of Contracts Provided to School District
    1. The employee must provide to the principal at the school where he/she is employed a signed copy of all contracts between him/her and the private activity sponsor. The employee who engages in any private but public education-related activity shall provide a signed disclosure statement to the school district available from local principals.

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION:
400.1-7

APPROVED:
8.18.2020

Weapons/Firearms - 400.1-7

  1. Possession or use of a weapon by any employee in a school building, in or on school property, or in conjunction with any school activity, unless specifically authorized by law, is in violation of the law and Canyons School District Policy, and will be subject to disciplinary sanctions which may include termination.
  2. The law provides that a qualified person may receive a permit “to carry a concealed firearm for lawful self defense….” UCA §53-5-704(1). A concealed dangerous weapon means “…a dangerous weapon that is covered, hidden or secreted in a manner that the public would not be aware of its presence and is readily accessible for immediate use.” UCA §76-10-501 (2)(a).
  3. Employees of Canyons School District who obtain concealed weapons permits do so in their own individual capacities. Any use of such weapons is outside the scope of employment, is contrary to the purposes of employment by the District and is done solely in the employee’s personal capacity, not as an employee of the District.

Exhibits

  • Boundary Violation Conduct Scenarios

References

  • Utah Code Annotated §53E-6-701.
  • Utah Code Annotated §53G-8-501, et seq. 
  • Utah Code Annotated §53G-9-601, et seq.   
  • Utah Code Annotated §62A-4a-403.
  • Utah Code Annotated §76-10-501
  • Utah Administrative Code R277-107.  Educational Services Outside of Educator’s Regular Employment.  
  • Utah Administrative Code R277-515.  Utah Educator Professional Standards

Forms

None

Document History

 
Revised – 8.18.2020.  Policy-400.01-Employee Conduct and Professionalism was revised to include language regarding an employee’s duty to report hazing, bullying, abusive conduct, and retaliation activities, and also a duty to report possession of alcohol or drug paraphernalia that was previously included in the District’s Discipline Policy. This language was previously approved by the Board and will now be included in the Employee Conduct and Professionalism Policy.
Revised – 11.15.2016.  Policy-400.01-Employee Conduct and Professionalism was revised to update policy definitions regarding boundary violations and educator conduct consistent with Utah Admin Code. R277-515. Utah Educator Professional Standards. 
Adopted – 3.27.12.  

This online presentation is an electronic representation of the Canyons School District’s currently adopted policy manual. It does not reflect updating activities in progress. The official, authoritative manual is available for inspection in the office of the Superintendent located at 9361 South 300 East Sandy, UT 84070.

Close Menu