Personal Leave Guidelines

Personal Leave Taken Before or After a Holiday

2019-2020

When to Request
An employee who wishes to take a personal leave day before or after a holiday and does not wish to either pay the cost of the long-term substitute (Licensed) or lose 40 percent of a day’s pay (ESP), must make the request through the Human Resource Department during the Holiday Request window. Prior notification must be given to the principal or supervisor at least one day in advance of the request for leave.

How to Request
During the window, email your request to the secretary listed below. Please include your name, school, position, and date(s) you are requesting the leave.

Licensed employees email Gina Bench at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

ESP employees email Alyce Llewelyn at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

The employee will receive an email confirmation that the request has been received. If the employee does not receive an email confirmation then Human Resources has NOT received the request. Please submit again.


Windows for holiday requests are listed below:

 School Holiday Date of Holiday 10 Day Window Dates to Request
Labor Day  Sept. 2, 2019 July 16-25, 2019 Fri. Aug. 30 or Tues. Sept. 3, 2019
Fall Recess Oct. 17-18, 2019 Aug. 28-Sept. 6, 2019  Wed. Oct. 16 or Mon. Oct. 21, 2019
Thanksgiving Recess Nov. 27-29, 2019 Oct. 4-14, 2019 Tue. Nov. 26 or Mon. Dec. 3, 2019
Winter Recess Dec. 23-Jan. 3, 2020 Oct. 30-Nov. 8, 2019 Fri. Dec. 20, 2019 or Mon. Jan 6, 2020
MLK Jr. Day Jan. 20, 2020 Dec. 2-Dec. 11, 2019 Tue. Jan 21, 2020
President's Day Feb. 17, 2020 Jan. 6-15, 2020 Fri. Feb. 14 or Tue. Feb. 18, 2020
Spring Recess April 6-10, 2020 Feb. 14-24, 2020 Fri. April 3 or Mon. April 13, 2020
Memorial Day May 25, 2020 Apr. 13-22, 2020 Fri. May 22 or Tue. May 26, 2020


Download table above as a PDF


Related District Policies:

410.04—EMPLOYEE LEAVE (LICENSED)

420.04—EMPLOYEE LEAVE (ESP)