An informational meeting about a Utah State Office of Education-approved Educational Technology Endorsement Program will be 4:30 p.m. Monday, Dec. 5 in the auditorium of the Canyons Administration Building.  

The year-long program is designed to help Canyons District teachers, administrators and achievement coaches take their instruction-technology skills to an even higher level. Class topics include “ Designing and Developing Digital-Age Learning Experiences,” “Digital Citizenship and Responsibility” and “Engaging in Professional Growth and Leadership.”

The classes are taught Tuesday nights from 4 to 8 p.m.  Participants also will attend nine classes in June and four in August.  Those classes are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  In addition, there will be a required online course in the summer.

Participation in the program, which is designed for Macintosh-using teachers in an elementary setting, is open to all Canyons District educators at every level.  

Class size will be limited to 30 participants.

Online applications are due Dec. 12, 2011.  Letters of acceptance into the program will be sent Dec. 16, 2011.  

Click here to access an application.

Questions?  Click here for information and to download a brochure.
The holidays have arrived! It’s time for celebrating with family, friends — and food. It’s easy to gain weight during the holidays, but can be very hard to lose it once it is there. To help you combat the holiday weight gain, Canyons District is providing a little extra motivation.

The program is simple — if you maintain or lose weight over the holidays you will be entered into a drawing for some fantastic prizes. To participate you will need to officially weigh in at one of the designated weigh-in locations on Nov. 21 or Nov. 22 to determine your beginning weight. Then, on Jan. 3 and Jan. 4 weigh in again at a designated location to determine your ending weight. If your weight is the same or less you will be entered into the drawing.  

•    You must be a contracted CSD employee working at least 20 hours per week.
•    You must weigh in at the start and finish at an official weigh-in location.  
•    Submit your weigh-in card.  You won’t be eligible for prizes without it.


Nov. 21  
•    Canyons Administration Building, 9150 S. 500 West, 8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
•    Canyons Support Services Center, 9361 S. 300 East, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
•    Hillcrest High School, 7350 S. 900 East, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Nov. 22
•    Brighton High School, 2220 E. Bengal Blvd., 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
•    Alta High School, 11055 S Hawk Hwy, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Prizes include an iPad 2, Kindle and gift cards to Home Depot, Best Buy, Barnes and Noble, Target and Sports Authority
If you are enrolled in the District’s health insurance you can also register at for additional resources and chances to win additional prizes.

pdfDownload the weigh-in card.pdf
Questions?  Call the Canyons District Insurance Office at 801-826-5448.

Canyons School District is pleased to announce that it will again be partnering with Rosetta Stone to offer students, their families and District employees a chance to buy heavily discounted memberships in Rosetta Stone’s Global Learners-World Language Club for the 2012 school year, which will run from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2012.

This offer makes available all online levels of Rosetta Stone for $95

With an eye toward making registration as easy as possible, patrons will be able to purchase their Rosetta Stone Global Learners-World Language Club memberships through the Canyons District Web site. To subscribe, please click here.
This year we also are offering online credit card payment options.

The deadline for registration is Dec. 8 at 4 p.m.

For information about the partnership with Rosetta Stone, please click here.
Friday, 28 October 2011 14:35

CSD's 'Wicked' Tickets Are Almost Sold Out

Act quick if you want to buy tickets to "Wicked" through the Canyons School District Education Foundation.

The Foundation reports it is nearly sold out of its alloted tickets to the sure-to-sell-out show scheduled to run July 18-Aug. 26 at the Capitol Theater, 50 W. 200 South, as part of the Broadway Across America-Utah 2011-2012 season.

A limited number of seats is still available for the Thursday, July 19 matinee and the Wednesday, Aug. 8 evening performance. The tickets given to CSD to sell to employees and patrons for the Friday, Aug. 24 performance have all been sold.  What the Foundation has left:
  • There are just five seats left for the Thursday, July 19 matinee.
  • More than 100 tickets are left for the Wednesday, Aug. 8 at 7:30 p.m. performance.
A portion of the proceeds of the tickets sold through the Foundation goes back into Foundation coffers. So far, the Foundation has made $17,094 from the ticket sales.  

How to get the tickets? Either come in person to the Foundation Offices at the Canyons Administration Building, 9150 S. 500 West, or call Melodie Winn at 801-826-5171

Cash, checks and credits cards are accepted in person. Credit card payments will be required for phone orders. Please do not leave voice mail messages or send e-mail messages.  If you try to call and no one answers it's because we are helping other employees and patrons. 

Maps of the available seats that have been allocated for sale through the CSD Foundation are on the Web site.

For the unfamiliar, here is what “Wicked,” which premiered on Broadway on Oct. 30, 2003, is about: 

So much happened before Dorothy dropped in. Long before that girl from Kansas arrives in Munchkinland, two girls meet in the land of Oz. One — born with emerald green skin — is smart, fiery and misunderstood. The other is beautiful, ambitious and very popular. How these two grow to become the Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good makes for “the most complete — and completely satisfying — new musical in a long time,” according to USA Today.  
On Broadway and around the world, “Wicked” has worked its magic on critics and audiences alike. The winner of 35 major awards, including a Grammy and three Tony Awards, “Wicked,” wrote the New York Times, is the “the defining musical of the decade.”

Questions?  Call Allison Spencer, Chief Development Officer, at 801-826-5178.

Chevron's Fuel Your School aims to help educators receive funding for eligible projects through, a Web site that helps funnel private dollars directly to public school classrooms.  

Throughout October, Chevron will donate $1 — up to $500,000 — to help fund STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) projects at local schools, including those in Canyons District, when motorists fuel up with eight more gallons at a local participating Chevron.

Check for complete program details, including tips on how to propose a project for funding. 

Page 142 of 143